Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer

On Order

$9.95
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Children's- Science

Other titles in the Strange Science Books series:

Magic (Strange Science Books)

by

Magic (Strange Science Books) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Scientific explanations of the magic used throughout history — topics include magicians, seeing the future, magical healing, stage and screen magic, and more.

Synopsis:

True magic more amazing than fiction.

Fictional wizards such as Gandalf and Harry Potter are no match for readers of Magic, Sylvia Funston's latest addition to the Strange Science series. Magic has long been a topic of perennial interest to children and adults alike — and today more so than ever, with the phenomenal successes of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings.

All around the world and throughout history, magic has been used to explain the inexplicable. Now, Magic goes beyond the wand, behind the broomstick and inside the crystal ball to reveal all the scientific secrets that explain magical occurrences.

From the Aurora Borealis to the secrets of the runes, through healing magic, superstitions, alchemy, and movie magic, young readers will discover that magic has many forms.

Topics covered include: Who were the first magicians? Seeing the future Healing magic Tools of the trade Stage and screen magic Magic tomorrow — will science explain all of life's mysteries?

Product Details

ISBN:
9781894379342
Author:
Weissman, Joe
Publisher:
Maple Tree Press
Illustrator:
Weissman, Joe
Location:
Toronto
Subject:
History
Subject:
Science & Technology - General
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Science
Subject:
Curiosities & Wonders
Subject:
Magic
Subject:
Science and magic.
Subject:
Science & Nature - General
Subject:
Childrens Science
Edition Description:
Owl Paperback
Series:
Strange Science Books
Series Volume:
1737-17
Publication Date:
20030931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
11.00x8.54x.17 in. .36 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Related Subjects


Children's » Nonfiction » How Things Work
Children's » Nonfiction » Science and Nature » General
Children's » Science and Nature » General

Magic (Strange Science Books) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 Backorder
Product details 40 pages Maple Tree Press - English 9781894379342 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , True magic more amazing than fiction.

Fictional wizards such as Gandalf and Harry Potter are no match for readers of Magic, Sylvia Funston's latest addition to the Strange Science series. Magic has long been a topic of perennial interest to children and adults alike — and today more so than ever, with the phenomenal successes of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings.

All around the world and throughout history, magic has been used to explain the inexplicable. Now, Magic goes beyond the wand, behind the broomstick and inside the crystal ball to reveal all the scientific secrets that explain magical occurrences.

From the Aurora Borealis to the secrets of the runes, through healing magic, superstitions, alchemy, and movie magic, young readers will discover that magic has many forms.

Topics covered include: Who were the first magicians? Seeing the future Healing magic Tools of the trade Stage and screen magic Magic tomorrow — will science explain all of life's mysteries?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.