Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 29, 2014

    Neil Patrick Harris: IMG Neil Patrick Harris: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Periodic Tales: A Cultural History of the Elements, from Arsenic to Zinc

by

Periodic Tales: A Cultural History of the Elements, from Arsenic to Zinc Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Like the alphabet, the calendar, or the zodiac, the periodic table of the chemical elements has a permanent place in our imagination. But aside from the handful of common ones (iron, carbon, copper, gold), the elements themselves remain wrapped in mystery. We do not know what most of them look like, how they exist in nature, how they got their names, or of what use they are to us. Welcome to a dazzling tour through history and literature, science and art. In Periodic Tales, you'll meet iron that rains from the heavens and neon as it lights its way to vice. You'll learn how lead can tell your future and why zinc may one day line your coffin. You'll discover what connects the bones in your body with the White House in Washington, the glow of a streetlight with the salt on your dinner table.

From ancient civilizations to contemporary couture, from the oxygen of publicity to the phosphorous in your pee, the elements are near and far and all around us. Unlocking their astonishing secrets and colorful pasts, Periodic Tales is a passionate journey through mines and artists' studios, to factories and cathedrals, into the woods and to the sea to discover the true stories of these fascinating but mysterious building blocks of the universe.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Genome" and "The Age of Wonder" comes a prize-winning science writer's captivating look at how the elements are woven into our culture, history, and language.

Table of Contents

Pt. 1. Power — pt. 2. Fire — pt. 3. Craft — pt. 4. Beauty — pt. 5. Earth.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062078810
Subtitle:
A Cultural History of the Elements, from Arsenic to Zinc
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Author:
Aldersey-Williams, Hugh
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20110329
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
448

Related Subjects

Reference » Science Reference » General
Science and Mathematics » Chemistry » General
Science and Mathematics » Chemistry » Inorganic
Science and Mathematics » Chemistry » Physical Chemistry
Science and Mathematics » History of Science » General

Periodic Tales: A Cultural History of the Elements, from Arsenic to Zinc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 448 pages HarperCollins - English 9780062078810 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Genome" and "The Age of Wonder" comes a prize-winning science writer's captivating look at how the elements are woven into our culture, history, and language.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.