Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 11, 2015

    Heidi Pitlor: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Heidi Pitlor



    Describe your latest book. My novel, The Daylight Marriage, is about a wife and mother who goes missing one day. The narrative alternates between... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Daylight Marriage

      Heidi Pitlor 9781616203689

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Blame

by

Blame Cover

 

 

Excerpt

####

Product Details

ISBN:
9780374114305
Author:
Huneven, Michelle
Publisher:
New Harvest
Author:
Mckenzie, Catherine
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Traffic accidents
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140401
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1.06 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Gate At the Stairs Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Financial Lives of the Poets
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition
    Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  4. Henry Huggins
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  5. Phantom Tollbooth Used Hardcover $3.95
  6. Wayside School Gets a Little...
    New Trade Paper $5.99

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Blame Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Farrar Straus Giroux - English 9780374114305 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this gripping tale, Huneven charts the parameters of guilt and how a young, wisecracking intellectual becomes a shadow of her former self. Patsy MacLemoore, a boozy history professor, is helping her boyfriend, Brice, take care of his niece, Joey, whose mother is undergoing cancer treatment. But when Patsy goes on a bender and emerges from a drunken blackout in jail, she learns she's accused of having run down a mother and daughter in her driveway. After her conviction, Patsy transforms from free spirit into a convict, and Huneven deftly underscores the bizarre trajectory Patsy's life has taken. In a prison AA group, Patsy seeks redemption and meaning; she also develops a relationship with the man whose wife and daughter she killed and helps put his son through school, stays the course after her release and maintains a friendship with Brice and Joey. Brilliant observations, excellent characters, spiffy dialogue and a clever plot keep readers hooked, and the final twist turns Patsy's new life on its ear. Huneven's exploration of misdeeds real and imagined is humane, insightful and beautiful. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Huneven's third book is a spellbinding novel of guilt and love, family and shame, sobriety and the lack of it, and the moral ambiguities that ensnare us all.
"Synopsis" by , For fans of Liane Moriarty and Sarah Pekkanen, a light-hearted yet heartfelt novel exploring what happens when two women love the same man—and then he dies.
"Synopsis" by ,
While walking home from work one evening, Jeff Manning is struck by a car and killed. Two women fall to pieces at the news: his wife, Claire, and his co-worker Tish. Reeling from her loss, Claire must comfort her grieving son as well as contend with funeral arrangements, well-meaning family members, and the arrival of Jeffs estranged brother, who was her ex-boyfriend. Tish volunteers to attend the funeral on her companys behalf, but only she knows the true risk of inserting herself into the wreckage of Jeffs life. Told through the three voices of Jeff, Tish, and Claire, Hidden explores the complexity of relationships, the repercussions of our personal choices, and the responsibilities we have to the ones we love.
"Synopsis" by ,

FINALIST FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD

FINALIST FOR THE LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE

CHICAGO TRIBUNE FAVORITE FICTION OF THE YEAR

O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE TEN TERRIFIC READS OF THE YEAR

A WASHINGTON POST BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

A KANSAS CITY STAR 100 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR

Patsy MacLemoore, a twenty-eight-year-old history professor with a brand-new Ph.D. and a wild streak, wakes up in jail—yet again—after another epic alcoholic blackout. This time, though, a mother and daughter are dead, run over in Patsys driveway. Patsy will the next decades of her life atoning for this unpardonable act. She goes to prison, sobers up, marries a much older man she meets in AA, and makes ongoing amends to her victims' family. Then, another piece of news turns up, casting her crime, and her life, in a different and unexpected light. Brilliant, morally complex, and often funny, Blame is a breathtaking story of contrition and what it takes to rebuild a life from the bottom up.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.