Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer

On Order

$24.99
New MP3 CD
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Outdoors- Mountaineering

Dark Summit: The True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season

by

Dark Summit: The True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In early May 2006, a young British climber named David Sharp lay dying near the top of Mount Everest while forty other climbers walked past him on their way to the summit. A week later, Lincoln Hall, a seasoned Australian climber, was left for dead near the same spot. Hall's death was reported around the world, but the next day he was found alive after spending the night on the upper mountain with no food and no shelter.

If David Sharp's death was shocking, it was not singular: despite unusually good weather, ten others died attempting to reach the summit that year. In this meticulous inquiry into what went wrong, Nick Heil tells the full story of the deadliest year on Everest since the infamous season of 1996. He introduces Russell Brice, the outfitter who has done more than anyone to provide access to the summit via the mountain's north side—and who some believe was partially responsible for Sharp's death. As more climbers attempt the summit each year, Heil shows how increasingly risky expeditions and unscrupulous outfitters threaten to turn Everest into a deadly circus.

Written by an experienced climber and outdoor writer, Dark Summit is both a riveting account of a notorious climbing season and a troubling investigation into whether the pursuit of the ultimate mountaineering prize has spiralled out of control.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air, Nick Heil recounts the harrowing story of the deadly and controversial 2006 climbing season on Mount Everest.

About the Author

Nick Heil first wrote about the 2006 climbing season for "Outside," where he worked as a senior editor from 1999 to 2006. Now a freelance journalist, his work has also appeared in "Men's Journal," "Skiing," and other publications. Based in Santa Fe, he has worked as a climbing and skiing instructor, and has travelled extensively in Europe, Asia and North America.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400157709
Subtitle:
The True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season
Author:
Heil, Nick
Read by:
Drummond, David
Read:
Drummond, David
Narrated:
White, Karen
Author:
Drummond, David
Publisher:
Tantor Media
Subject:
Mountaineering
Subject:
Outdoors-Mountaineering
Edition Description:
Unabridged,MP3 - Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20080818
Binding:
MP3 CD
Language:
English
Dimensions:
7.4 x 5.3 x 0.6 in 0.2 lb
Media Run Time:
510

Other books you might like

  1. The Shishapangma Expedition New Trade Paper $18.75
  2. Mountain Madness
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. Annapurna South Face: The Classic... New Trade Paper $19.25
  4. Everest: Alone at the Summit, (a... Used Trade Paper $9.95
  5. Savage Summit: The True Stories of... Used Hardcover $13.95
  6. The Lost Explorer: Finding Mallory... Used Hardcover $3.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » World History » China
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Biology
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » Mountaineering » General

Dark Summit: The True Story of Everest's Most Controversial Season New Mp3 Cd
0 stars - 0 reviews
$24.99 Backorder
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781400157709 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air, Nick Heil recounts the harrowing story of the deadly and controversial 2006 climbing season on Mount Everest.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.