Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 4, 2014

    Fred Armisen: IMG Fred Armisen: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Humor
7 Remote Warehouse Children's Animals- Animal Stories- Horses

More copies of this ISBN

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse

by

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Alice is the most rootinandrsquo;, tootinandrsquo; cowgirl in all of Dallas . . . Pennsylvania. Each day she puts on her favorite boots and hat and sets off on her stick pony for school with a andldquo;Yippee ki-yay!andrdquo; Alice is used to being the only cowgirl around, until Lexis from Texas arrives at school one day. Lexis seems to be a real cowgirl, with her fancy hat, jingling spurs, and lasso tricks. Alice decides thereandrsquo;s only one way to know who the best cowgirl is: a school-yard showdown at high noon! But will Alice learn thereandrsquo;s room for more than one cowgirl in town?

Bestselling author and illustrator Marilyn Sadler and Ard Hoyt team up to create a rollicking tale of friendship that will have readers dancing the Texas Two-Step and shouting andldquo;Yee-haw,andrdquo; no matter where theyandrsquo;re from.

Praise for Alice from Dallas

andquot;The comic watercolor-and-ink illustrations donandrsquo;t miss a beat in capturing the amusing rivalry that turns into friendship...The clever ending is a yee-haw moment that will rope in readers as quick as tumbling tumbleweeds.andquot;

--Kirkus Reviews

andquot;Hoytandrsquo;s bright ink-and-watercolor illustrations gleefully capture the girlsandrsquo; enthusiasm for all things western, from their fringed cowgirl blouses to the bandannas tied jauntily around their necks. A lively story for cowgirls everywhere, with a breezy lesson about jealousy.andquot;

--Booklist

Award:

NAPPA Gold Award Winner

Review:

"It's her birthday and Nellie Sue is hoping for a horse. Her parents have gotten enough hints: she wears cowgirl duds from head to toe, uses words like 'moseyed,' drops her g's (as in 'Yee-haw! We've got herdin' to do!'), and has elaborate plans for converting the family home into a barn and paddock. Instead, Nellie Sue gets a bicycle: 'All eyes were on me, and I felt like I swallowed a hay bale.' Debut author Janni and Avril (Amelia Bedelia's First Day of School) clearly appreciate their heroine's fantasies, but don't always succeed in getting inside her head. Avril's pink-hued watercolor cartoons have a birthday-card geniality, giving little sense of either an internal drama or a romantic vision of life on the range. The extent to which Nellie Sue takes the bike-as-horse fantasy makes for some overly precious lines ('I walked over to her with my palm out flat so she could get a good sniff,' she says, approaching the bike), but readers should identify with her longing, as well as her powerful sense of imagination. Ages 3 — 5." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Nellie Sue does everything with a Western flair. All she really needs is a horse. So when Dad announces at her birthday party that he has a horse for her, Nellie Sue is excited. But when her horse turns out to be her first bicycle, it will take an imagination as big as Texas to save the day. Full color.

Synopsis:

Joone likes the color orange, ice-cream sandwiches, and playing outside. She lives in a yurt with her grandfather and her pet turtle, Dr. Chin, who rides around on her hat. Grandpa teaches Joone something new every day. Sometimes Joone teaches him something new, too, like how to make a daisy chain. Together they enjoy life’s small joys—sunsets, tree houses, and most of all, each other.
 
Emily Kate Moon’s debut picture book is a charming tribute to the outdoors and a tender portrait of a grandfather and granddaughter’s loving relationship. Fans of Ladybug Girl, Freckleface Strawberry, and even Dora the Explorer will fall in love with this independent, free-spirited little girl.

Synopsis:

The sheriff and his deputy dog have been charged with a mission: to bring a dozen donuts home safely. All seems to be going well until the young sheriff peeks inside the box to check on the tasty treats. They’re practically calling his name, and in the blink of an eye (and with just a few nibbles), a donut disappears! Wherever could that missing donut be? Luckily, this is one mystery the sheriff and his deputy are sure to bring to a close.

About the Author

Rebecca Janni is a freelance writer. This is her first book for children. She lives in Iowa.

Lynne Avril is an illustrator and bass player. She lives in Phoenix, Arizona.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780525421641
Author:
Janni, Rebecca
Publisher:
Dutton Children's Books
Illustrator:
Avril, Lynne
Author:
Sadler, Marilyn
Author:
Roxas, Isabel
Author:
Moon, Emily Kate
Author:
Avril, Lynne
Author:
Hoyt, Ard
Author:
McGhee, Alison
Subject:
Birthdays
Subject:
Imagination
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Lifestyles - Farm Life & Ranch Life
Subject:
Animals - Horses
Subject:
Children s humor
Subject:
Lifestyles - Farm Life
Subject:
Westerns
Edition Description:
Hardcover, Jacketed, Picture, Sewn
Series:
Every Cowgirl
Publication Date:
20100231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color illustrations
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
11 x 8.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
04-05

Other books you might like

  1. Lego Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. I Broke My Trunk! (an Elephant and...
    New Hardcover $8.99
  3. The Busy Little Squirrel Used Hardcover $12.95
  4. Let's Count Goats! New Hardcover $16.99
  5. Have you Seen My Duckling? Used Book Club Paperback $1.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Horses
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 40 pages Dutton Children's Books - English 9780525421641 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "It's her birthday and Nellie Sue is hoping for a horse. Her parents have gotten enough hints: she wears cowgirl duds from head to toe, uses words like 'moseyed,' drops her g's (as in 'Yee-haw! We've got herdin' to do!'), and has elaborate plans for converting the family home into a barn and paddock. Instead, Nellie Sue gets a bicycle: 'All eyes were on me, and I felt like I swallowed a hay bale.' Debut author Janni and Avril (Amelia Bedelia's First Day of School) clearly appreciate their heroine's fantasies, but don't always succeed in getting inside her head. Avril's pink-hued watercolor cartoons have a birthday-card geniality, giving little sense of either an internal drama or a romantic vision of life on the range. The extent to which Nellie Sue takes the bike-as-horse fantasy makes for some overly precious lines ('I walked over to her with my palm out flat so she could get a good sniff,' she says, approaching the bike), but readers should identify with her longing, as well as her powerful sense of imagination. Ages 3 — 5." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Nellie Sue does everything with a Western flair. All she really needs is a horse. So when Dad announces at her birthday party that he has a horse for her, Nellie Sue is excited. But when her horse turns out to be her first bicycle, it will take an imagination as big as Texas to save the day. Full color.
"Synopsis" by ,
Joone likes the color orange, ice-cream sandwiches, and playing outside. She lives in a yurt with her grandfather and her pet turtle, Dr. Chin, who rides around on her hat. Grandpa teaches Joone something new every day. Sometimes Joone teaches him something new, too, like how to make a daisy chain. Together they enjoy life’s small joys—sunsets, tree houses, and most of all, each other.
 
Emily Kate Moon’s debut picture book is a charming tribute to the outdoors and a tender portrait of a grandfather and granddaughter’s loving relationship. Fans of Ladybug Girl, Freckleface Strawberry, and even Dora the Explorer will fall in love with this independent, free-spirited little girl.
"Synopsis" by ,
The sheriff and his deputy dog have been charged with a mission: to bring a dozen donuts home safely. All seems to be going well until the young sheriff peeks inside the box to check on the tasty treats. They’re practically calling his name, and in the blink of an eye (and with just a few nibbles), a donut disappears! Wherever could that missing donut be? Luckily, this is one mystery the sheriff and his deputy are sure to bring to a close.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.