Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | Today, 10:19am

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.89
List price: $16.99
Sale Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Airport Children's- Featured Titles
4 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- New Arrivals
2 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General
10 Beaverton CH- CENTER DISPLAY
2 Beaverton CH- MR- ENDCAP
6 Burnside ROSE- 634/TABLE1634
7 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
6 Hawthorne Children's- Featured Titles
1 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General
75 Local Warehouse Featured Titles- Staff Favorites
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

Under the Egg

by

Under the Egg Cover

 

Special Powells.com Offer!

The characters in these books demonstrate that anyone can be a hero with a little determination.

Staff Pick

This charming middle-grade novel is a mystery surrounding art and family with some history thrown in, too. I love quirky Theodora and her assortment of friends that help her figure out what is under the egg.
Recommended by Jen M., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler meets Chasing Vermeer in this clever middle grade debut.

When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather's painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That's great news for Theo, who's struggling to hang onto her family's two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather's legacy of $463. There's just one problem: Theo's grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen.

With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city — and her grandfather — that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.

Review:

"As he lay dying, Theodora Tenpenny's grandfather Jack muttered something about a treasure 'under the egg.' Theodora, 13, thinks this means that Jack — a thrifty, unknown artist — left a means of providing for Theo and her unreliable mother. She searches the mantelpiece, beneath Jack's painting of an egg, and the bowl where they display an egg gathered from the chicken coop behind their Greenwich Village townhouse. Nothing. Then an accident uncovers another image under Jack's painting, sending Theo and her new friend Bodhi, the daughter of two film stars, on a mission to discover the provenance of what appears to be a Renaissance masterpiece. Theo is smart and resourceful, and debut author Fitzgerald creates a plausible backstory for the teen's uncanny ability to spot 'the difference between a Manet and a Monet.' While the resolution falls into place too easily, the search for answers forces Theo out of her shell and into the wonderfully quirky community around her. Fans of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find this another delightful lesson in art history. Ages 8 – 12. Agent: Sara Crowe, Harvey Klinger." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

"A fast-paced mystery....If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Fans of Blue Balliett's Chasing Vermeer and Elise Broach's Masterpiece will enjoy this art caper." School Library Journal

About the Author

In writing Under the Egg, Laura Marx Fitzgerald drew on her study of art history at Harvard and Cambridge Universities. She lives in Brooklyn, and this is her middle grade debut.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803740013
Author:
Fitzgerald, Laura Marx
Publisher:
Dial Books
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140318
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 8 up to 12

Other books you might like

  1. Jo's Boys: From the Original Publisher Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Little Men Used Mass Market $2.95
  3. Peter and the Shadow Thieves Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. How to Grow More Vegetables: Than... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. March: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. The Adults Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Children's » All Kinds of Heroes Sale
Children's » Art » General
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » New Arrivals
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Under the Egg Sale Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.89 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Dial Books - English 9780803740013 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This charming middle-grade novel is a mystery surrounding art and family with some history thrown in, too. I love quirky Theodora and her assortment of friends that help her figure out what is under the egg.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "As he lay dying, Theodora Tenpenny's grandfather Jack muttered something about a treasure 'under the egg.' Theodora, 13, thinks this means that Jack — a thrifty, unknown artist — left a means of providing for Theo and her unreliable mother. She searches the mantelpiece, beneath Jack's painting of an egg, and the bowl where they display an egg gathered from the chicken coop behind their Greenwich Village townhouse. Nothing. Then an accident uncovers another image under Jack's painting, sending Theo and her new friend Bodhi, the daughter of two film stars, on a mission to discover the provenance of what appears to be a Renaissance masterpiece. Theo is smart and resourceful, and debut author Fitzgerald creates a plausible backstory for the teen's uncanny ability to spot 'the difference between a Manet and a Monet.' While the resolution falls into place too easily, the search for answers forces Theo out of her shell and into the wonderfully quirky community around her. Fans of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find this another delightful lesson in art history. Ages 8 – 12. Agent: Sara Crowe, Harvey Klinger." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , "A fast-paced mystery....If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one."
"Review" by , "Fans of Blue Balliett's Chasing Vermeer and Elise Broach's Masterpiece will enjoy this art caper."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.