Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Popular Fiction- Suspense
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
25 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Suspense

More copies of this ISBN

The Weight of Blood

by

The Weight of Blood Cover

ISBN13: 9780812995206
ISBN10: 0812995201
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart.

 

The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy’s family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family’s influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother’s daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri’s death.

 

What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

 

The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.

 

Praise for The Weight of Blood

 

“A fantastic novel, rich in character and atmosphere . . . This is one you won’t want to miss.”—Karin Slaughter, author of Unseen

 

“Laura McHugh’s vivid and enthralling The Weight of Blood centers on a mother and daughter in a seemingly benign yet deeply horrifying small town. It kept me on the edge of my seat from the first page to the last.”—Vanessa Diffenbaugh, author of The Language of Flowers

 

The Weight of Blood pulled me in and wouldn’t let go. What starts as Lucy’s coming-of-age story becomes a chilling tale about the price of secrets. As the menace deepens, so does the tension. Laura McHugh has written a terrific novel.”—Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award–winning author of The Shadow Tracer

 

“McHugh’s debut is as lush and evocative as its Ozark setting, with luminous prose and characters you can’t help rooting for, even as the mystery surrounding them intensifies and the odds against them grow more and more harrowing. I couldn’t put it down.”—Carla Buckley, author of The Deepest Secret

 

“In this clever, multilayered debut, McHugh deftly explores the past of an Ozark Mountain family . . . with plenty to hide and the ruthlessness to keep their secrets hidden. . . . This is an outstanding first novel, replete with suspense, crisp dialogue, and vivid Ozarks color and atmosphere.”—Publishers Weekly

 

“Debut novelist McHugh comes out swinging with this gripping tale set in the Ozarks of Missouri. . . . Her prose will not only keep readers turning the pages but also paints a real and believable portrait of the connections, alliances, and sacrifices that underpin rural, small-town life in Henbane.”Library Journal (starred review)

Review:

"In this clever, multilayered debut, McHugh deftly explores the past of an Ozark Mountain family (think doublewides, pickups, and possum stew) with plenty to hide and the ruthlessness to keep their secrets hidden. Seventeen-year-old Lucy Dane, from Henbane, Mo., is grieving for her murdered friend, Cheri, and her mother, Lila, who vanished soon after Lucy was born. Determined to solve both mysteries, Lucy never realizes just how close the answers might lie. Her father, Carl, and her uncle, Crete, are not forthcoming about what they know, which only makes her more curious. McHugh alternates narrators, presenting each chapter from one character's perspective, but the most compelling is Lila's (given in flashbacks to her arrival in the area 18 years earlier, as a contract farm employee of Uncle Crete). Young Lila's hopes for a fresh start after a childhood spent bouncing from one foster home to another are dashed when she painfully learns that Crete plans to put her to work as a prostitute. In the present, Lucy uncovers evidence that puts her in jeopardy, leading to sudden, surprising violence, followed by a tornado that helps wipe the slate clean. This is an outstanding first novel, replete with suspense, crisp dialogue, and vivid Ozarks color and atmosphere. Agent: Sally Wofford-Girand, Union Literary." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

US

Synopsis:

Laura McHugh lives in Columbia, Missouri, with her husband and children. The Weight of Blood is her first novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

jscholni, March 19, 2014 (view all comments by jscholni)
An amazing debut novel. This was a real page turner that kept me so involved I almost missed my stop on the subway. I can't wait to see what Laura McHugh writes next.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
jscholni, March 19, 2014 (view all comments by jscholni)
An amazing debut novel. This was a real page turner that kept me so involved I almost missed my stop on the subway. I can't wait to see what Laura McHugh writes next.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Karen Rush, March 16, 2014 (view all comments by Karen Rush)
This debut novel takes place in the backwoods of the Ozarks. It was one of those rare books that kept me awake reading late into the night. When Lucy was just a baby, her mother Lila leaves her, under mysterious circumstances. Fast forward 17 years. Triggered by the discovery of a friend’s body, a girl who also had mysteriously disappeared, Lucy makes it her mission to find out more about her mother and also the truth about what happened to her. She is convinced that Lila would not just walk away. In her quest for the truth, Lucy uncovers dark, terrible secrets of those close to her. The story builds suspense along the way, culminating in a very satisfying conclusion.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780812995206
Author:
Mchugh, Laura
Publisher:
Spiegel & Grau
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Subject:
ozarks;literary fiction;psychological suspense;murder mystery;suspense thriller;suspense;thriller
Publication Date:
20140331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.53 x 6.35 x 1.12 in 1.16 lb

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Weight of Blood Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.00 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Spiegel & Grau - English 9780812995206 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this clever, multilayered debut, McHugh deftly explores the past of an Ozark Mountain family (think doublewides, pickups, and possum stew) with plenty to hide and the ruthlessness to keep their secrets hidden. Seventeen-year-old Lucy Dane, from Henbane, Mo., is grieving for her murdered friend, Cheri, and her mother, Lila, who vanished soon after Lucy was born. Determined to solve both mysteries, Lucy never realizes just how close the answers might lie. Her father, Carl, and her uncle, Crete, are not forthcoming about what they know, which only makes her more curious. McHugh alternates narrators, presenting each chapter from one character's perspective, but the most compelling is Lila's (given in flashbacks to her arrival in the area 18 years earlier, as a contract farm employee of Uncle Crete). Young Lila's hopes for a fresh start after a childhood spent bouncing from one foster home to another are dashed when she painfully learns that Crete plans to put her to work as a prostitute. In the present, Lucy uncovers evidence that puts her in jeopardy, leading to sudden, surprising violence, followed by a tornado that helps wipe the slate clean. This is an outstanding first novel, replete with suspense, crisp dialogue, and vivid Ozarks color and atmosphere. Agent: Sally Wofford-Girand, Union Literary." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , US
"Synopsis" by , Laura McHugh lives in Columbia, Missouri, with her husband and children. The Weight of Blood is her first novel.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.