The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | Yesterday, 10:00am

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Children's- Environmental Fiction
22 Remote Warehouse Children's- Environmental Fiction

More copies of this ISBN

The Carbon Diaries 2015

by

The Carbon Diaries 2015 Cover

ISBN13: 9780823421909
ISBN10: 0823421902
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Review:

"Global warming is rapidly changing the world in Lloyd's accomplished first novel, in which the United Kingdom, still reeling from the Great Storm, becomes the first nation on Earth to institute mandatory carbon rationing, a 60% decrease in all energy use. Sixteen-year-old Laura just wants to pass her classes, play with her band and maybe catch the eye of cute neighbor Ravi. With the weather tipping wildly out of control, she and her highly dysfunctional family ('We are officially the bad family on the street now, the family that other families call the cops on') must contend with blackouts, water shortages and riots, followed by torrential rains and the flooding of London. This gritty eco-thriller, made up of Laura's diary entries throughout the year 2015, features a nicely developed sense of place, complex and believable characters and an all-too-plausible near-future scenario, as Britons make do, pull together and triumph over adversity. Fans of Cory Doctorow's Little Brother and Meg Rosoff's How I Live Now should find this book a gripping read. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the year 2015, global warming has begun to ravage the environment. In response, the UK becomes the first country to mandate carbon rationing--a well-intentioned plan that goes tragically awry. One girl attempts to stay grounded in a world where disaster has become the norm, and tells her story through diary entries.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Cathy from Olympia, Washington, July 10, 2009 (view all comments by Cathy from Olympia, Washington)
It's 2015 and the planet is in crisis. The oceans are rising, and extreme weather conditions and storms are striking globally. The UK, particularly hard hit by the Great Storm, begins a government-mandated carbon rationing program designed to cut energy use by a whopping 60%. 16-yr.-old punk-rock Londoner Laura Brown chronicles the trials and tribulations of the program (forget personal hygiene and luxuries such as heating and eating a mango!), continued global craziness, and her own personal teenage angst-- love and dating, families in crisis, peer pressure, school troubles... life. Alarmist, scarily realistic at times, doom-and-gloom look at what global warming/climate change might look like. Not a pretty picture. Includes a glossary of ecoterms and links to learn more about green living at the end of the book. While not a perfect book, it's solid, thought-provoking and well-worth reading.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780823421909
Author:
Lloyd, Saci
Publisher:
Holiday House
Subject:
Family life
Subject:
Climatic changes
Subject:
General
Subject:
Family
Subject:
England
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s-Environmental Fiction
Publication Date:
20090431
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
330
Dimensions:
8.42x5.84x1.09 in. 1.09 lbs.
Age Level:
13-17

Other books you might like

  1. Black Ships Before Troy: The Story... New Mass Market $6.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Awards » Oregon Reader's Choice Award
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Children's » Science and Nature » Environmental Fiction
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » General

The Carbon Diaries 2015 Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 330 pages Holiday House - English 9780823421909 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Global warming is rapidly changing the world in Lloyd's accomplished first novel, in which the United Kingdom, still reeling from the Great Storm, becomes the first nation on Earth to institute mandatory carbon rationing, a 60% decrease in all energy use. Sixteen-year-old Laura just wants to pass her classes, play with her band and maybe catch the eye of cute neighbor Ravi. With the weather tipping wildly out of control, she and her highly dysfunctional family ('We are officially the bad family on the street now, the family that other families call the cops on') must contend with blackouts, water shortages and riots, followed by torrential rains and the flooding of London. This gritty eco-thriller, made up of Laura's diary entries throughout the year 2015, features a nicely developed sense of place, complex and believable characters and an all-too-plausible near-future scenario, as Britons make do, pull together and triumph over adversity. Fans of Cory Doctorow's Little Brother and Meg Rosoff's How I Live Now should find this book a gripping read. Ages 12 — up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the year 2015, global warming has begun to ravage the environment. In response, the UK becomes the first country to mandate carbon rationing--a well-intentioned plan that goes tragically awry. One girl attempts to stay grounded in a world where disaster has become the norm, and tells her story through diary entries.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.