Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 14, 2015

    Marie Mutsuki Mockett: IMG On Trimming Roses



    Gardens do not wait. Weeds grow and flowers wilt. In the days and weeks following my father's death, my parents' garden continued to flourish and... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $18.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes

by

Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes Cover

ISBN13: 9781419700255
ISBN10: 1419700251
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: None
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Awards

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This much-anticipated follow-up to Jonathan Auxier’s exceptional debut, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, is a Victorian ghost story with shades of Washington Irving and Henry James. More than just a spooky tale, it’s also a moral fable about human greed and the power of storytelling.

The Night Gardener follows two abandoned Irish siblings who travel to work as servants at a creepy, crumbling English manor house. But the house and its family are not quite what they seem. Soon the children are confronted by a mysterious spectre and an ancient curse that threatens their very lives. With Auxier’s exquisite command of language, The Night Gardener is a mesmerizing read and a classic in the making.

Praise for The Night Gardener

STARRED REVIEWS

"Lots of creepiness, memorable characters, a worthy message, Auxier’s atmospheric drawings and touches of humor amid the horror make this cautionary tale one readers will not soon forget."

--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Storytelling and the secret desires of the heart wind together in this atmospheric novel that doubles as a ghost tale."

--School Library Journal, starred review

"Auxier achieves an ideal mix of adventure and horror, offering all of it in elegant, atmospheric language that forces the reader to slow down a bit and revel in both the high-quality plot and the storytelling itself."

--Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"All proper scary stories require a spooky, menacing atmosphere, and Auxier (Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes) delivers the goods with his precise descriptions of the gothic setting and teasing hints of mystery and suspense."

--The Horn Book Magazine

Summer 2014 Kids' Indie Next List

 

Review:

"Debut author Auxier spins a lively, magical adventure led by 10-year-old Peter Nimble, a blind orphan and 'the greatest thief who ever lived.' Peter has always had to fend for himself, and after five grueling years of working for a heartless beggarmonger and perfecting his burgling skills, he uncovers a box filled with three sets of stone eyes: gold, onyx, and emerald. The first set transports him to a hidden island where the psychic Professor Cake awaits. The professor provides Peter with a companion (Sir Tode, a half-cat, half-horse knight) and a mission: to solve a riddle and save the Vanished Kingdom from an evil king. Peter and Sir Tode set sail unarmed, aside from their kind natures, faith that the eyes will guide them, and Peter's skill at picking locks ('He considered every lock to be a personal challenge. By definition, locks are designed to tell you what you can't do'). At times the omniscient narrator can feel overly precious, but the fast-paced, episodic story, accompanied by Auxier's occasional pen-and-ink drawings, is inventive, unpredictable, and — like its hero — nimble. Ages 10 — up. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

The Night Gardener follows two abandoned Irish siblings who travel to work as servants at a creepy, crumbling English manor house. But the house and its inhabitants are not quite what they seem. Soon, the children are confronted by a mysterious stranger—and an ancient curse that threatens their very lives.

A mesmerizing read and a testament to the magical power of storytelling, The Night Gardener is a spine-chilling fable in the tradition of Washington Irving and Edgar Allan Poe.

Synopsis:

In book two, the excitement and mystery continue as Timothy, his sister, Sarah, and their friend Jessica journey from America to Edinburgh, Scotland, where they seek the Four Treasures of Ireland, especially the Telling Stone. They must keep the treasures from falling into the hands of Balor, who can use them to deprive the world of good. The children pass through Time out of Time as they undertake their quest and encounter a number of mythic and folkloric characters, including the Tuatha Dandeacute; Danann, Gwydon, Cerridwyn, and others.

In this book, a code hidden in a map is the key to finding the Stone, and readers work alongside Timothy, Sarah, and Jessica to decode the message. Along with the code, the book includes a glossary of the many historical, literary, and folkloric references mentioned in both volumes.

About the Author

Jonathan Auxier, raised in Canada, now lives with his wife in Pittsburgh, where he works as a screenwriter. This is his first novel. Visit him online at www.TheScop.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781419700255
Subtitle:
A Peter Nimble Adventure
Author:
Auxier, Jonathan
Author:
McQuerry, Maureen Doyle
Publisher:
Amulet Books
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Time Out of Time
Publication Date:
20160112
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 5 up to 17
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Includes a code to decipher and a full-c
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8 x 6.5 in
Age Level:
from 10 up to 99

Other books you might like

  1. Marty McGuire (Marty McGuire) Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Frankie Pickle #01: Frankie Pickle... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Super Amoeba (Squish #1) Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. Queen of the World! (Babymouse #1) Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Staff Picks
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Special Needs

Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Amulet Books - English 9781419700255 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Debut author Auxier spins a lively, magical adventure led by 10-year-old Peter Nimble, a blind orphan and 'the greatest thief who ever lived.' Peter has always had to fend for himself, and after five grueling years of working for a heartless beggarmonger and perfecting his burgling skills, he uncovers a box filled with three sets of stone eyes: gold, onyx, and emerald. The first set transports him to a hidden island where the psychic Professor Cake awaits. The professor provides Peter with a companion (Sir Tode, a half-cat, half-horse knight) and a mission: to solve a riddle and save the Vanished Kingdom from an evil king. Peter and Sir Tode set sail unarmed, aside from their kind natures, faith that the eyes will guide them, and Peter's skill at picking locks ('He considered every lock to be a personal challenge. By definition, locks are designed to tell you what you can't do'). At times the omniscient narrator can feel overly precious, but the fast-paced, episodic story, accompanied by Auxier's occasional pen-and-ink drawings, is inventive, unpredictable, and — like its hero — nimble. Ages 10 — up. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
The Night Gardener follows two abandoned Irish siblings who travel to work as servants at a creepy, crumbling English manor house. But the house and its inhabitants are not quite what they seem. Soon, the children are confronted by a mysterious stranger—and an ancient curse that threatens their very lives.

A mesmerizing read and a testament to the magical power of storytelling, The Night Gardener is a spine-chilling fable in the tradition of Washington Irving and Edgar Allan Poe.

"Synopsis" by ,
In book two, the excitement and mystery continue as Timothy, his sister, Sarah, and their friend Jessica journey from America to Edinburgh, Scotland, where they seek the Four Treasures of Ireland, especially the Telling Stone. They must keep the treasures from falling into the hands of Balor, who can use them to deprive the world of good. The children pass through Time out of Time as they undertake their quest and encounter a number of mythic and folkloric characters, including the Tuatha Dandeacute; Danann, Gwydon, Cerridwyn, and others.

In this book, a code hidden in a map is the key to finding the Stone, and readers work alongside Timothy, Sarah, and Jessica to decode the message. Along with the code, the book includes a glossary of the many historical, literary, and folkloric references mentioned in both volumes.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.