Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
6 Beaverton Cooking and Food- Historical Food and Cooking
4 Burnside Cooking and Food- Historical Food and Cooking
21 Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
25 Remote Warehouse Sociology- General

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Cover

ISBN13: 9781451666731
ISBN10: 145166673x
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

If a piece of individually wrapped cheese retains its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed our children? Former New York Times business reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that takes her to research labs, food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening — and sometimes disturbing — account of what we’re really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally devastating food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis.

From breakfast cereal to chicken subs to nutrition bars, processed foods account for roughly 70 percent of our nation’s calories. Despite the growing presence of farmers’ markets and organic produce, strange food additives are nearly impossible to avoid. Combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented — and lightly regulated — world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called “healthy” foods.

Review:

“In Pandora’s Lunchbox, Melanie Warner has produced an engaging account of how today’s ‘food processing industrial complex’ replaced real foods with the inventions of food science. Her history of how this happened and who benefits from these inventions should be enough to inspire everyone to get back into the kitchen and start cooking.” Marion Nestle, Professor of Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health at New York University and coauthor of Why Calories Count: From Science to Politics

Review:

"Pandora's Lunchbox is a brilliant and fascinating exploration of how our food gets processed, its powerful effects on our health, and what we can do about it. Highly recommended!" Dean Ornish M.D., author of Eat More, Weigh Less, and The Spectrum: A Scientifically Proven Program to Feel Better, Live Longer, Lose Weight, and Gain Health

Review:

"Melanie Warner is a journalist of keen skill, and in Pandora's Lunchbox she pries the lid off well-packaged secrets about how our so-called food is made. The resulting bounty of insights and revelations is almost overwhelming. This is a book of stunning, at times shocking truths, told in a crisp, compelling narrative. Of profound importance for everyone who eats." David L. Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP, Director of Yale University Prevention Research Center and Director of Integrative Medicine Center at Griffin Hospital

Review:

“Warner pulls back the curtain to reveal the industry secrets of how our most basic staples are being transformed into processed foodstuffs to boost profits. We get an (un)healthy dose of hexane-extraction, gun puffing and roast chicken type flavor, but like the best investigative journalists, she uses the personal stories of food scientists, innovators, and crusaders not to mention her own home experiments, to show why you’ll want to think twice before hitting the drive-thru or reaching for that ‘health bar.’” Robert Kenner, director of Food, Inc.

Review:

“In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma is a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.” Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Melanie Warner is a freelance writer for various publications, including the New York Times, Fast Company, and CBSnews.com. She has spent the past fifteen years writing about business. For two years, she was a staff reporter for the New York Times covering the food industry. Before that, she spent seven years as a writer at Fortune magazine, where among other things, she wrote about the dot com boom in Silicon Valley. She lives in Colorado with her husband and two young boys.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

FreshGreenKim, March 4, 2013 (view all comments by FreshGreenKim)
I would love to review this book for my blog, Our Daily Green... I loved Melanie's interview with Grist. It echoes some of what I've been saying about HFCS for years... "why can't I buy it for home use" if it is so safe? So when she asks "Why can't you make Pop Tarts at home from the ingredients listed on the package" I get it. I also am fascinated what she has to say about vitamins.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
jojowats0518, February 26, 2013 (view all comments by jojowats0518)
I absolutely must read this book. I will buy it for sure. Thank you to the author for her work on this very important subject.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451666731
Subtitle:
How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal
Author:
Warner, Melanie
Publisher:
Scribner Book Company
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. Taken (Alex Verus Novels) Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. Cursed Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants...
    Sale Trade Paper $11.20

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Writing
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » General
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » Nutrition
Cooking and Food » Food Writing » Gastronomic Literature
Cooking and Food » Reference and Etiquette » Historical Food and Cooking
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Spirituality and Wellness
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Nutrition
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Agriculture and Food
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Food and Famine
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.00 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9781451666731 Reviews:
"Review" by , “In Pandora’s Lunchbox, Melanie Warner has produced an engaging account of how today’s ‘food processing industrial complex’ replaced real foods with the inventions of food science. Her history of how this happened and who benefits from these inventions should be enough to inspire everyone to get back into the kitchen and start cooking.” Marion Nestle, Professor of Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health at New York University and coauthor of Why Calories Count: From Science to Politics
"Review" by , "Pandora's Lunchbox is a brilliant and fascinating exploration of how our food gets processed, its powerful effects on our health, and what we can do about it. Highly recommended!" Dean Ornish M.D., author of Eat More, Weigh Less, and The Spectrum: A Scientifically Proven Program to Feel Better, Live Longer, Lose Weight, and Gain Health
"Review" by , "Melanie Warner is a journalist of keen skill, and in Pandora's Lunchbox she pries the lid off well-packaged secrets about how our so-called food is made. The resulting bounty of insights and revelations is almost overwhelming. This is a book of stunning, at times shocking truths, told in a crisp, compelling narrative. Of profound importance for everyone who eats." David L. Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP, Director of Yale University Prevention Research Center and Director of Integrative Medicine Center at Griffin Hospital
"Review" by , “Warner pulls back the curtain to reveal the industry secrets of how our most basic staples are being transformed into processed foodstuffs to boost profits. We get an (un)healthy dose of hexane-extraction, gun puffing and roast chicken type flavor, but like the best investigative journalists, she uses the personal stories of food scientists, innovators, and crusaders not to mention her own home experiments, to show why you’ll want to think twice before hitting the drive-thru or reaching for that ‘health bar.’”
"Review" by , “In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma is a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.