Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Nautical- Nautical Lore

Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories

by

Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories Cover

ISBN13: 9780061702587
ISBN10: 0061702587
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.95!

 

Staff Pick

This biography of the Atlantic Ocean encompasses myth and geology, trade and war and discovery — proving once again that Winchester knows how to dig deep and sift out the story. An engrossing tale from a master storyteller.
Recommended by Kelly L., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, the New York Times bestselling author of Krakatoa tells the breathtaking saga of the magnificent Atlantic Ocean, setting it against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution.

Until a thousand years ago, no humans ventured into the Atlantic or imagined traversing its vast infinity. But once the first daring mariners successfully navigated to far shores — whether it was the Vikings, the Irish, the Chinese, Christopher Columbus in the north, or the Portuguese and the Spanish in the south — the Atlantic evolved in the world's growing consciousness of itself as an enclosed body of water bounded by the Americas to the West, and by Europe and Africa to the East. Atlantic is a biography of this immense space, of a sea which has defined and determined so much about the lives of the millions who live beside or near its tens of thousands of miles of coast.

The Atlantic has been central to the ambitions of explorers, scientists and warriors, and it continues to affect our character, attitudes, and dreams. Poets to potentates, seers to sailors, fishermen to foresters — all have a relationship with this great body of blue-green sea and regard her as friend or foe, adversary or ally, depending on circumstance or fortune. Simon Winchester chronicles that relationship, making the Atlantic come vividly alive. Spanning from the earth's geological origins to the age of exploration, World War II battles to modern pollution, his narrative is epic and awe-inspiring.

Review:

"Winchester, bestselling author of The Professor and the Madman, returns to the natural world with his epic new book, a 'biography' of the Atlantic Ocean, from its origins 370 million years ago through the population of its shores by humanity and their interactions with it. He sees the Atlantic as the vital ingredient in the blooming of Western civilization. He scrutinizes the early explorations from the Vikings and Norsemen through Columbus, detailing the perils of the open sea. With his excellent research and engrossing anecdotes about the ocean as 'a living thing,' Winchester spotlights its inspiration on poets, painters, and writers in its majestic beauty. Although he does not neglect the chief tragedies of the Atlantic, like the slave trade and the maritime battles, Winchester occasionally flits beelike from scene to scene, and the facts become lost in a blur. Maybe this is the price for such a monumental undertaking. Nevertheless, Winchester's sea saga is necessary reading for those who want to understand the planet better, even as, he notes, our waters are rapidly changing from pollution, overfishing, and climate change. 44 b&w illus.; 4 maps. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Crack in the Edge of the World and Krakatoa comes this epic look at the Atlantic Ocean — its history, geography, importance, and wealth of stories.

Synopsis:

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

About the Author

Simon Winchester is the acclaimed author of many books, including The Professor and the Madman, The Man Who Loved China, A Crack in the Edge of the World, and Krakatoa. Those books were New York Times bestsellers and appeared on numerous best and notable lists. In 2006, Mr. Winchester was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) by her Majesty the Queen. He lives in Manhattan and in western Massachusetts.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Sterling Sunley, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Sterling Sunley)
Simon Winchester has, once again, shown us why he's considered the best writer of ... well... Winchester books. I say that as a compliment as Winchester is in a league by himself when writing about interesting people, places, and events. Winchester's own enthusiastic curiousity strikes a chord with readers who look for a book to entertain, inform, and leave them with something to talk about with their friends and family.

"Atlantic" brings the story of an ocean to life and, in doing so, shows how compelling a relationship can develop between a human being - often Winchester himself - and the great planet that we inhabit for the brief spell of our lives.

"Atlantic" is the perfect tonic to the over-abundance of preachy, new-age non-fiction titles crowding booksellers' shelves and will be appreciated by just about any serious reader.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Alaskagirl55, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Alaskagirl55)
A most fascinating read about not only the great sailing expeditions but the art, commerce and people who were inspired by such a great ocean.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
minokemeg, December 2, 2010 (view all comments by minokemeg)
After hearing several radio interviews, I took "Atlantic" out of the library and was terribly disappointed. Winchester is incredibly verbose. He takes pages and pages to set up what he is going to say, and then takes forever to say it. He managed to make a fascinating subject a slog. A more talented writer could have compressed the telling into half the pages or less, without comprimising it. Or it might have been a great magazine article. I consider the great reviews a triumph of marketing and reputation. This man needs a course in minimalist prose.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061702587
Subtitle:
Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms,and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
Author:
Winchester, Simon
Publisher:
Harper
Subject:
General
Subject:
Maritime History
Subject:
General History
Subject:
Nautical-Ships and Ship History
Subject:
World History-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20101102
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
512
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.53 in 28.58 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Moonlight Mile
    Used Hardcover $2.75
  2. Autobiography of Mark Twain: The...
    Used Hardcover $12.95
  3. Book of Flight: The Smithsonian... New Trade Paper $16.95
  4. The 3 Little Dassies Used Hardcover $10.50
  5. The Hunger Games Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Western Civilization » General
History and Social Science » World History » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Ocean and Marine Biology
Science and Mathematics » Oceanography » General
Transportation » Nautical » General
Transportation » Nautical » Nautical Lore

Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 512 pages Harper - English 9780061702587 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This biography of the Atlantic Ocean encompasses myth and geology, trade and war and discovery — proving once again that Winchester knows how to dig deep and sift out the story. An engrossing tale from a master storyteller.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Winchester, bestselling author of The Professor and the Madman, returns to the natural world with his epic new book, a 'biography' of the Atlantic Ocean, from its origins 370 million years ago through the population of its shores by humanity and their interactions with it. He sees the Atlantic as the vital ingredient in the blooming of Western civilization. He scrutinizes the early explorations from the Vikings and Norsemen through Columbus, detailing the perils of the open sea. With his excellent research and engrossing anecdotes about the ocean as 'a living thing,' Winchester spotlights its inspiration on poets, painters, and writers in its majestic beauty. Although he does not neglect the chief tragedies of the Atlantic, like the slave trade and the maritime battles, Winchester occasionally flits beelike from scene to scene, and the facts become lost in a blur. Maybe this is the price for such a monumental undertaking. Nevertheless, Winchester's sea saga is necessary reading for those who want to understand the planet better, even as, he notes, our waters are rapidly changing from pollution, overfishing, and climate change. 44 b&w illus.; 4 maps. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Crack in the Edge of the World and Krakatoa comes this epic look at the Atlantic Ocean — its history, geography, importance, and wealth of stories.
"Synopsis" by , "Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.