Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
List price: $34.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Sustainable Living- Food

More copies of this ISBN

Earth to Table: Seasonal Recipes from an Organic Farm

by and

Earth to Table: Seasonal Recipes from an Organic Farm Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

There is nothing more delightful than a tomato still warm from the sun, or a strawberry so perfectly ripe that it stains your fingers.

Why not eat this way all the time? The healthiest and most delicious food comes from farmers and artisans just down the road — though it is often easy to forget when we are surrounded by food shipped to our supermarkets from around the world and by highly processed products from distant factories.

Jeff Crump learned of the pleasures of using local cuisine by working in world-famous restaurants like Alice Waters's Chez Panisse, and he set about to develop a network of farmers to keep his own restaurant's kitchen humming all year round. It was not long before he was out in the fields himself, alongside pastry chef and collaborator Bettina Schormann, planting and harvesting crops that would form the backbone of their menus, breads, and desserts.

Eating locally means eating seasonally, and Jeff and Bettina offer up the most delicious of what each season provides. It could be something as unexpected as Gnudi with Ramps and Morels picked from the woods across the road; as simple and as refreshing as Dandelion Salad; or when it is cold outside, as hearty as Bread and Butter Pudding.

Earth to Table lets nature write the menu. Tender, green things in spring. Ripe, juicy dishes in summer. The bounty of the harvest in autumn. Rich braises and tart preserves in winter. The result is a year of discovery of new ingredients and dishes, and a rediscovery of classics that suddenly taste the way they were meant to.

Bringing together stories of the passage of seasons on the farm; profiles of some of the world's most innovative chefs — like Heston Blumenthal and Thomas Keller — and the farmers they count on; how-to sections that help readers make the most of the season and what their gardens and farmers' markets have to offer; stunning photographs; and, of course, creative and delicious recipes that make anyone wonder why they ever considered eating a tomato in February, Earth to Table explores what's best about food.

Review:

"This engrossing collection of essays and recipes by chefs Crump and Schormann works on two levels: not only does it educate readers regarding the concept of Slow Food and the importance of supporting local farmers, it gives them a wealth of recipes to make the most of their bounty. A Canadian pioneer of Slow Food with sterling credentials (having worked at Heston Blumenthal's Fat Duck and Alice Water's Chez Panisse), Crump and slow food pastry chef Schormann are refreshingly off-the-cuff when it comes to the principles of Slow Food, acknowledging that the seemingly simple concept of eating locally is a complex undertaking, best illustrated in profiles and interviews with chefs like Thomas Keller, Dan Barber, and Blumenthal. Recipes are grouped by season, highlighting ingredients at their peak in concoctions like the bracing summertime Watermelon Agua Fresca, autumn's Pumpkin Seed Brittle, comforting cold-weather Apple Cider Muffins and Rabbit Stew with Herbed Dumplings, and a simple, spring lunch of Dandelion Salad with Poached Eggs. Peppered with tips on planning an herb garden, composting and getting the most out of a visit to the local farmers market, this is a true stand-out among a growing crowd of books for novice locavores." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[A] four-season testament to the importance — not to mention delight — of food that has been grown with care and cooked with conviction." Michael Pollan, author of In Defense of Food and The Omnivore’s Dilemma

Review:

"Here are chefs who seem to understand the farm as well as the kitchen. You can tell by the recipes that Earth to Table reflects the best possible world of garden and kitchen." Deborah Madison, author of Local Flavors

Synopsis:

From a founder of the Slow Food movement comes an extraordinary collection of reflections, beautiful photographs, and recipes that bring to life a year's relationship between a restaurant and a local organic farm.

Synopsis:

“A beautiful book in every way.”

—Michael Pollan

 

Earth to Table by Jeff Crump and Bettina Schormann is an extraordinary, gorgeously illustrated collection of reflections and recipes in the tradition of Michael Pollans The Omnivores Dilemma and Food Matters. Subtitled “Seasonal Recipes from an Organic Farm,” Earth to Table sumptuously illuminates how good food is grown and how it comes to us—following over the course of one year, the journey from farm to restaurant of delicious organic produce. Featuring thoughts and recipes from some of the worlds most renowned and innovative “slow food” chefs—including Dan Barber (Blue Hill), Thomas Keller (The French Laundry), Matthew Dillon (Sitka and Spruce), and Heston Blumenthal (The Fat Duck)—here is a glorious celebration of the best things on earth, from Earth to Table.

About the Author

Jeff Crump has developed his talents at a number of the world's top restaurants: at Lumière, in Vancouver, B.C.; with Alice Waters at Chez Panisse, in Berkeley, California; and at The Fat Duck, in Bray, England. He is a Canadian Slow Food pioneer and the executive chef at the Ancaster Old Mill.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061825941
Author:
Jeff Crump and Bettina Schormann
Publisher:
Ecco Press
Photographer:
Pond, Edward
Author:
Schormann, Bettina
Author:
F .
Author:
Crump, Jeff
Author:
Crump, Jef
Subject:
General
Subject:
Seasonal
Subject:
Specific Ingredients - Natural Foods
Subject:
General Cooking
Subject:
Cooking and Food-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20091031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9 x 7 in 38.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Rustic Fruit Desserts: Crumbles,...
    Used Hardcover $15.95
  2. Betty Crocker's Kids Cook! Used Ring Binder $11.95
  3. The 2nd International Cookbook for Kids Used Spiral/comb $5.95
  4. The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion Used Hardcover $21.00
  5. Joy of Cooking: 75th Anniversary Edition
    Used Hardcover $18.00
  6. Make It Fast, Cook It Slow: The Big...
    Used Trade Paper $13.95

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » Natural Healing
Cooking and Food » General
Cooking and Food » Reference and Etiquette » Historical Food and Cooking
Cooking and Food » Sustainable Cooking
Home and Garden » Sustainable Living » Food

Earth to Table: Seasonal Recipes from an Organic Farm Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ecco - English 9780061825941 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This engrossing collection of essays and recipes by chefs Crump and Schormann works on two levels: not only does it educate readers regarding the concept of Slow Food and the importance of supporting local farmers, it gives them a wealth of recipes to make the most of their bounty. A Canadian pioneer of Slow Food with sterling credentials (having worked at Heston Blumenthal's Fat Duck and Alice Water's Chez Panisse), Crump and slow food pastry chef Schormann are refreshingly off-the-cuff when it comes to the principles of Slow Food, acknowledging that the seemingly simple concept of eating locally is a complex undertaking, best illustrated in profiles and interviews with chefs like Thomas Keller, Dan Barber, and Blumenthal. Recipes are grouped by season, highlighting ingredients at their peak in concoctions like the bracing summertime Watermelon Agua Fresca, autumn's Pumpkin Seed Brittle, comforting cold-weather Apple Cider Muffins and Rabbit Stew with Herbed Dumplings, and a simple, spring lunch of Dandelion Salad with Poached Eggs. Peppered with tips on planning an herb garden, composting and getting the most out of a visit to the local farmers market, this is a true stand-out among a growing crowd of books for novice locavores." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[A] four-season testament to the importance — not to mention delight — of food that has been grown with care and cooked with conviction."
"Review" by , "Here are chefs who seem to understand the farm as well as the kitchen. You can tell by the recipes that Earth to Table reflects the best possible world of garden and kitchen."
"Synopsis" by , From a founder of the Slow Food movement comes an extraordinary collection of reflections, beautiful photographs, and recipes that bring to life a year's relationship between a restaurant and a local organic farm.
"Synopsis" by ,

“A beautiful book in every way.”

—Michael Pollan

 

Earth to Table by Jeff Crump and Bettina Schormann is an extraordinary, gorgeously illustrated collection of reflections and recipes in the tradition of Michael Pollans The Omnivores Dilemma and Food Matters. Subtitled “Seasonal Recipes from an Organic Farm,” Earth to Table sumptuously illuminates how good food is grown and how it comes to us—following over the course of one year, the journey from farm to restaurant of delicious organic produce. Featuring thoughts and recipes from some of the worlds most renowned and innovative “slow food” chefs—including Dan Barber (Blue Hill), Thomas Keller (The French Laundry), Matthew Dillon (Sitka and Spruce), and Heston Blumenthal (The Fat Duck)—here is a glorious celebration of the best things on earth, from Earth to Table.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.