Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
List price: $12.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
8 Local Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

Series of Unfortunate Events #06: The Ersatz Elevator

by

Series of Unfortunate Events #06: The Ersatz Elevator Cover

 

 

Reading Group Guide

A Series of Unfortunate Events is the term HarperCollins uses to describe a sequence of books written by Lemony Snicket concerning the miserable plight of the three Baudelaire children at the hands of the sinister Count Olaf. It is a New York Times Best-selling series and has sold hundreds of thousands of copies in North America and will soon be appearing all over the world. This guide is a desperate attempt to stop this travesty before it is too late. The discussion topics,suggested reading list and author biography in this reading group guide are intended to guide the public toward books that are less dreadful and so to promote comfort and vitality rather than despair and anxiety in our large and unnerving world.

Questions for Discussion:

  1. In The Bad Beginning, Mr.Snicket warns his readers, "If you are interested in stories with happy endings, you would be better off reading some other book." Yet many people have insisted on continuing to read this book anyway. What is wrong with such people?

  2. The theme of The Reptile Room might be best stated, "Look out for Count Olaf — he will try to murder you!" Why do you think there are so few books that deal with this theme?

  3. In The Wide Window, the character of Aunt Josephine is fright- ened of many things,and then a very frightening thing happens to her. Is it useful to feel fear, because it prepares you for nasty events, or is it useless, because nasty events will occur whether you are frightened or not?

  4. The Miserable Mill brings up many important issues of the day, including child labor in the lumber industry, hypnotism within the medical profession, gum-chewing, cigar-smoking, cross-dressing, and the futility of coupons, bankers and optimism. How does the treatment of these issues in Snicket 's work differ from their treatment in the newspaper, on television and in musical theater?

  5. Does anything in your life compare with the anguish the Baudelaire children encounter in The Austere Academy? If so,how terrible for you. If not, how nice. Discuss.

  6. In The Ersatz Elevator, Violet, Klaus and Sunny encounter many things which are not what they seem. Yet The Ersatz Elevator is what it seems — a book containing nothing but despair, discomfort and woe. Discuss.

  7. Violet, the eldest Baudelaire child, often risks her life when using one of her inventions in a desperate attempt to escape Count Olaf 's treachery. Is this a proper role model for young women?

  8. Klaus, the middle Baudelaire child, often finds out disturbing information when researching Count Olaf 's evil ways. Is this a proper role model for young men?

  9. Sunny, the youngest Baudelaire child, occasionally uses her four sharp teeth in an aggressive manner, in order to defeat Count Olaf 's dreadful behavior. Is this a proper role model for young babies?

  10. Each of the books in A Series of Unfortunate Events is dedicated to Beatrice. When HarperCollins asked Mr.Snicket about this mysterious woman, he burst into tears and was unable to answer. Is this an appropriate author for young readers?

  11. In each of Mr.Snicket 's books, there is no evidence that Count Olaf has ever been captured by the appropriate authorities. Is this more terrifying than horrifying, or more horrifying than terrifying? Discuss.

  12. If Count Olaf is still at large isn't it risky to attract his attention by purchasing and reading any of Mr. Snicket 's books? Discuss.

  13. Who is standing behind you right now? Discuss.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

ELMOownzXx, October 25, 2006 (view all comments by ELMOownzXx)
this is one of the good books out of the first 7 i have read so far
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(9 of 17 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780064408646
Illustrated by:
Helquist, Brett
Author:
Helquist, Brett
Author:
by Lemony Snicket and Brett Helquist
Author:
Kupperman, Michael
Author:
Snicket, Lemony
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Subject:
General
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Family - Orphans & Foster Homes
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Series of Unfortunate Events (Hardcover)
Series Volume:
06
Publication Date:
20010220
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
7.36x5.26x.97 in. .76 lbs.
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. Captain Underpants #02: Captain... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Demon in My View
    Used Mass Market $2.50
  3. The All New Captain Underpants... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  4. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Katie Kazoo Switcheroo #07: Katie... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. Captain Underpants #03: Captain...
    Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Series » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Series of Unfortunate Events #06: The Ersatz Elevator Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages HarperCollins Publishers - English 9780064408646 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Despite Snicket's artful turning of cliches on their well-worn heads, Elevator sometimes belabors the fallacy of fads at the expense of plot. Nonetheless, the satiric treatment of adults' insistence upon decorum at the expense of truth is simultaneously satisfying and unsettling....Arch literary allusions enhance the stories for readers on different levels. Despite Snicket's perpetual caveats to 'put this book down and pick up another one,' the Baudelaires are dynamic characters who inspire loyalty to the inevitable end of the series."
"Synopsis" by , In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I′m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket′s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warning.

Ages 10+

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.