Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Dead of Summer

by

The Dead of Summer Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Praise for The Dead of Summer
 
"The Dead of Summer is like an addiction – so impossible to put down, its consumed far too soon. Camilla Way weaves an inexorable web of innocent love and evil, tightening the strands until there is no room to move, no hope of escape."

-- Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of The Deep End of the Ocean

"Like Patrick McCabe's The Butcher Boy, Camilla Way's The Dead of Summer is a tricky, twisted peek into the secret world of children. As relentless as it is intimate, this is a truly compelling debut."—Stewart ONan, author of The Speed Queen

"The Dead of Summer is a riveting and remarkable debut novel. With a voice that is both charming and chilling, Camilla Way skillfully illuminates the tortured lives and twisted psyches of three teenage misfits in 1980s London--and delivers a literary page-turner of the highest order."--Amanda Filipacchi, author of Love Creeps

"The Dead of Summer is economical, compelling and, in the end, pays off beautifully with a twist that will both surprise and haunt you for weeks after you put the book down."--Cammie McGovern, author of Eye Contact and Art of Seeing.

"Sharply written with a haunting voice, The Dead of Summer is a powerful and gripping debut.--Colleen Curran, author of Whores on the Hill

Review:

"From the U.K. comes this promising debut novel narrated by the sole witness and survivor of a set of murders that left three children dead in an abandoned Greenwich, England, mine in 1986. Seven years later, Anita Naidu, now nearly 20, lives in quiet isolation in Bristol. She tells her tale largely in retrospect, with her opening bluster soon giving way to the vulnerability of her 13-year-old self. Having recently lost her mother and moved with her family to a council house in South London back then, Anita's only friends are the overweight and learning-disabled Denis and her volatile neighbor Kyle. The young Anita identifies with Kyle's social invisibility and, more disturbingly, his violence. The friends spend their adolescent summer wandering around Greenwich, running from bullies and seeking hidden caves. As the novel progresses toward its horrific surprise conclusion, Anita gradually reveals more and more disturbing information both about Kyle — and his mysteriously disappeared little sister — and about herself. Anita's story is intriguing and her portrait of the desperate Kyle touching, but the way Anita's damaged psychology plays out seems more a result of narrative necessity than of a realized character. Still, readers will react to the bold material and stark storytelling." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Since the success of Lionel Shriver's 'We Need to Talk About Kevin,' the demand for novels about the dark side of adolescence seems to have increased tenfold. It's unclear whether this says more about the psychological state of our young people or about the apparently insatiable appetite of the reading public for tales of abused and abusive teens.

'Tell me, does your pulse quicken... Washington Post Book Review (read the entire Washington Post review)

Synopsis:

At thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead.Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface. An irresistibly disturbing thriller for fans of A.M.Homes and Mary Gaitskill.

Synopsis:

**DEBUT FICTION**
 
"Admit how your pulse quickens when you see those headlines: murder spree of schoolgirl loner; boy, 13, rapes classmate; child, 10, stabs pensioner." So says narrator Anita Naidu, and she should know. At thirteen, Anita was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story reveals the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth of what actually happened reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this novel examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface.An audacious debut, The Dead of Summer is written in spare, evocative prose with remarkable psychological acuity and the daring to examine the dark, intensely fragile point between childhood and adolescence, and the morbid impulses of those mutable years.

About the Author

CAMILLA WAY lives in London and works as a journalist.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780151013708
Author:
Way, Camilla
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Teenagers
Subject:
Summer
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Psychological
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
London (england)
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20080107
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 0.44 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Thank You, Mr. Falker Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. The Outsiders
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. Epossumondas
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  4. Warriors: The New Prophecy #4:...
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Tracking Trash: Flotsam, Jetsam, and... Used Hardcover $10.00

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

The Dead of Summer Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Harcourt - English 9780151013708 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "From the U.K. comes this promising debut novel narrated by the sole witness and survivor of a set of murders that left three children dead in an abandoned Greenwich, England, mine in 1986. Seven years later, Anita Naidu, now nearly 20, lives in quiet isolation in Bristol. She tells her tale largely in retrospect, with her opening bluster soon giving way to the vulnerability of her 13-year-old self. Having recently lost her mother and moved with her family to a council house in South London back then, Anita's only friends are the overweight and learning-disabled Denis and her volatile neighbor Kyle. The young Anita identifies with Kyle's social invisibility and, more disturbingly, his violence. The friends spend their adolescent summer wandering around Greenwich, running from bullies and seeking hidden caves. As the novel progresses toward its horrific surprise conclusion, Anita gradually reveals more and more disturbing information both about Kyle — and his mysteriously disappeared little sister — and about herself. Anita's story is intriguing and her portrait of the desperate Kyle touching, but the way Anita's damaged psychology plays out seems more a result of narrative necessity than of a realized character. Still, readers will react to the bold material and stark storytelling." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
At thirteen, Anita Naidu was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead.Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story exposes the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this audacious debut examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface. An irresistibly disturbing thriller for fans of A.M.Homes and Mary Gaitskill.
"Synopsis" by ,
**DEBUT FICTION**
 
"Admit how your pulse quickens when you see those headlines: murder spree of schoolgirl loner; boy, 13, rapes classmate; child, 10, stabs pensioner." So says narrator Anita Naidu, and she should know. At thirteen, Anita was the sole witness to Londons notorious cave murders of 1986, which left three children dead. Told seven years later to the police psychologist who interviewed her at the time of the killings, Anitas story reveals the savagery of the schoolyard one chilling detail at a time until the truth of what actually happened reveals itself with startling ferocity. Set against the bustling, tourist-packed streets of historic Greenwich, this novel examines sinister events that happen, quite literally, right below the surface.An audacious debut, The Dead of Summer is written in spare, evocative prose with remarkable psychological acuity and the daring to examine the dark, intensely fragile point between childhood and adolescence, and the morbid impulses of those mutable years.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.