Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 19, 2015

    Ned Beauman: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Ned Beauman



    I did have a playlist that I listened to over and over again while I was writing Glow, but three years on I'm a bit bored of those songs, which got... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Beaverton ROM- DISPLAY B

Maine

by

Maine Cover

ISBN13: 9780307595126
ISBN10: 0307595129
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $3.95!

 

 

Reading Group Guide

The questions, discussion topics, and reading list that follow are intended to enhance your reading group's discussion of Maine, J. Courtney Sullivan’s engrossing and entertaining new novel. If you’re not a member of a book club, consider starting one up with your mother or your daughter—Maine is a perfect family read.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

kilikina, November 9, 2011 (view all comments by kilikina)
I'm not entirely sure that I liked this book, however I did keep reading it and renewed from the library when it was due. It was interesting to get the different perspectives of the four characters-- I empathized with each one and then agreed with the next on her perspective of the situation or event. It was a good reminder for my own life and how to think of others' perspectives. Anyway, pleasant reading, even if I had hoped for more resolution at the end.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307595126
Author:
Sullivan, J. Courtney
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Author:
Lutz, Lisa
Author:
Lynn, Allison
Author:
Mirvis, Tova
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Family saga
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
fiction;maine;family;women;mothers and daughters;family relationships;family secrets;relationships;novel;massachusetts
Subject:
fiction;maine;family;women;mothers and daughters;family relationships;family secrets;relationships;massachusetts;novel;secrets
Subject:
General Fiction
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140318
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Man in the Wooden Hat
    Used Trade Paper $11.95
  2. Fly Away Home Used Hardcover $2.25
  3. The Children's Hospital
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious... Used Trade Paper $9.95
  5. 2030: The Real Story of What Happens...
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of...
    Used Hardcover $9.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Featured Titles
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Featured Titles

Maine Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Knopf Publishing Group - English 9780307595126 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Sullivan follows debut Commencement with a summer spritzer that's equal parts family drama, white wine, and Hail Marys. The story follows the struggles of three generations of Kelleher women: drunken Alice, the mass-going matriarch; her rebel daughter, Kathleen, a Sonoma County farmer; Kathleen's sister-in-law, the dollhouse aficionado Ann Marie; and Kathleen's daughter, Maggie, an aspiring writer. Rather than allowing the characters to grow or the plot to thicken, the novel's conflict derives almost entirely from the airing (or not) of various grievances (Alice believes herself responsible for her sister's death; Maggie is pregnant, single, and terrified; Kathleen is still the bitter person she was before she sobered up; Ann Marie has a martyr complex). The Kelleher summer home on the Maine coast is the putative center around which the drama revolves, yet it is the women's common love for Daniel, the patriarch rendered faultless in death, who does the most to bring the women together. The book's tension is watered down at best, like a sun-warmed cocktail: mildly effective, but disappointing. When conflict finally does break the surface, the exhilaration is visceral but short-lived. Late in the story, Kathleen tells Maggie, 'It's going to be okay,' to which she responds, 'It has to be.' Unfortunately, the reader never gets much chance to worry otherwise. (June)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change
"Synopsis" by , From a best-selling writer, a story of unexpected friendship—three women thrown together in college who grow to adulthood united and divided by secrets, lies, and a single night that shaped all of them.
"Synopsis" by , A couple escaping the over-the-top lifestyle of Manhattan's Upper East Side move to the quaint town of Newport, only to be confronted by truths they tried to leave behind.
"Synopsis" by , A couple escaping the opulent lifestyle of Manhattans Upper East Side move to Newport, Rhode Island, only to be confronted by the trappings of the life they tried to leave behind.

Nate, a midlevel Wall Streeter, and his longtime girlfriend Emily are effectively evicted from New York City when they find they can no longer afford their apartment. An out presents itself in the form of a job offer for Nate in Newport—complete with a bucolic, small, and comparatively affordable new house. Eager to start fresh, they flee city life with their worldly goods packed tightly in their Jeep Cherokee. Yet within minutes of arriving in Rhode Island, their car and belongings are stolen, and they're left with nothing but the keys to an empty house and their bawling 10-month-old son.

Over the three-day weekend that follows, as Emily and Nate watch their meager pile of cash dwindle and tensions increase, the secrets they kept from each other in the city emerge, threatening to destroy their hope for a shared future.

A story about losing it all, the complexities of family histories, tainted gene pools, art theft, architecture, and the mad grab for the American Dream, The Exiles bravely explores the weight of our pasts—and whether or not it's truly possible to start over.

"Synopsis" by ,
From a bestselling writer, a story of unexpected friendship—three women thrown together in college who grow to adulthood united and divided by secrets, lies, and a single night that shaped all of them

When UC Santa Cruz roommates Anna and Kate find passed-out Georgiana Leoni on a lawn one night, they wheel her to their dorm in a shopping cart. Twenty years later, they gather around a campfire on the lawn of a New England mansion. What happens in between—the web of wild adventures, unspoken jealousies, and sudden tragedies that alter the course of their lives—is charted with sharp wit and aching sadness in this meticulously constructed novel.

Anna, the de facto leader, is fearless and restless—moving fast to stay one step ahead of her demons. Quirky, contemplative Kate is a natural sidekick but a terrible wingman (“If you go home with him, might I suggest breathing through your mouth”). And then there’s George: the most desired woman in any room, and the one most likely to leave with the worst man.

Shot through with the crackling dialogue, irresistible characters, and propulsive narrative drive that make Lutz’s books so beloved, How to Start a Fire pulls us deep into Anna, Kate, and George’s complicated bond and pays homage to the abiding, irrational love we share with the family we choose.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.