Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $24.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton GN- GRAPHIC NOVELS

American Widow

by

American Widow Cover

ISBN13: 9780345500694
ISBN10: 0345500695
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On September 10, 2001, Eddie Torres started his dream job at Cantor Fitzgerald in the North Tower of the World Trade Center. The next morning, he said goodbye to his 7 1/2-months-pregnant wife, Alissa, and headed out the door.

In an instant, Alissa's world was thrown into chaos. Forced to deal with unimaginable challenges, Alissa suddenly found herself cast into the role of 9/11 widow, tossed into a storm of bureaucracy, politics, patriotism, mourning, consolation, and, soon enough, motherhood.

Beautifully and thoughtfully illustrated, American Widow is the affecting account of one woman's journey through shock, pain, birth, and rebirth in the aftermath of a great tragedy. It is also the story of a young couple's love affair: how a Colombian immigrant and a strong-minded New Yorker met, fell in love, and struggled to fulfill their dreams. Above all, American Widow is a tribute to the resilience of the human heart and the very personal story of how one woman endured a very public tragedy.

Review:

"Torres's husband, Eddie, started work at Cantor Fitzgerald in the World Trade Center on September 10, 2001. The next day, Alissa became one of the 'terrorist widows' of 9/11. American Widow chronicles Alissa's first year without Eddie — including the birth of their child, two months after his death. It also traces their courtship, marriage and the last few days of Eddie's life. This deeply personal book is at times raw, angry, bleak and lyrical. The best prose comes out of Torres's moments of pure, lonely grief, which punctuate her confusing and at times horrifying experiences with various aid agencies, family members, friends and strangers. Choi's art is reminiscent of the work of Andi Watson and Craig Thompson, and complements Torres's writing by emphasizing the ordinary in Alissa's extraordinary circumstances. Torres and Choi do best with the confusion and shock that come with a sudden death, laying out scene after scene without quite connecting them — just as events seem to go on and on without meaning when one has lost someone important. What this book lacks in technique and narrative drive, it makes up in its heartfelt look at the universality in one woman's loss. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Stiff, blue-tinted art by New York Times illustrator Choi adds little immediacy to the narrative. Muted outrage produces muted results." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

A graphic novel of remarkable power and beauty in the tradition of Persepolis and Fun Home, American Widow is the very personal story of how one woman dealt with and overcame a very public tragedy. Illustrations throughout.

Synopsis:

"At the heart of "American Widow" is the notion of Sept. 11 as a personal, rather than a national or political, tragedy, which, this achingly tender work reminds us, is exactly what it was." -- LA Times

Want to honor those who passed during 9-11? Turn off the stupid documentary glorifying all of those images we've seen over and over, and read this sincere account of how that fateful day effected one person that represents all of us.” Aint It Cool News

“[A] raw, occasionally maddening, bracing graphic memoir… Unbearably moving.” The New York Times Book Review

“Reading it, you feel that Torres could be your friend or neighbor; she makes an epic tragedy intimate.” Newsday

On September 10, 2001, Eddie Torres started his dream job at Cantor Fitzgerald in the North Tower of the World Trade Center. The next morning, he said goodbye to his 7½-months-pregnant wife, Alissa, and headed out the door.

In an instant, Alissas world was thrown into chaos. Forced to deal with unimaginable challenges, Alissa suddenly found herself cast into the role of “9/11 widow,” tossed into a storm of bureaucracy, politics, patriotism, mourning, consolation, and, soon enough, motherhood.

Beautifully and thoughtfully illustrated, American Widow is the affecting account of one womans journey through shock, pain, birth, and rebirth in the aftermath of a great tragedy. It is also the story of a young couples love affair: how a Colombian immigrant and a strong-minded New Yorker met, fell in love, and struggled to fulfill their dreams. Above all, American Widow is a tribute to the resilience of the human heart and the very personal story of how one woman endured a very public tragedy.

About the Author

Alissa Torres lives in New York with her family.

Choi is a graduate of the School of Visual Arts in New York City and has produced short comics as well as illustrations for the New York Times.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

barkymchammer, May 17, 2011 (view all comments by barkymchammer)
Excellent, I enjoyed everything about this graphic novel love story. Security changed in this Country after 9-11, it was a huge wake up call, and Torres shows us a raw and first hand account of how it personally was for her to experience the death of a beloved and dedicated husband.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345500694
Author:
Torres, Alissa
Publisher:
Villard Books
Illustrator:
Choi, Sungyoon
Illustrator:
Choi
Author:
Torres, Alissa R.
Author:
Choi, Sungyoon
Author:
Alissa Torres
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Widows
Subject:
New york (state)
Subject:
September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001
Subject:
Torres, Alissa
Subject:
Biography - General
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20080931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
9.48x7.38x.81 in. 1.28 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. Persepolis 2: The Story of a Return Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. But I Like It Used Hardcover $15.95
  5. Shooting War Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. In the Shadow of No Towers
    Used Board Book $12.50

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Business » Personal Finance
Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Alternative
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Nonfiction

American Widow Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Villard Books - English 9780345500694 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Torres's husband, Eddie, started work at Cantor Fitzgerald in the World Trade Center on September 10, 2001. The next day, Alissa became one of the 'terrorist widows' of 9/11. American Widow chronicles Alissa's first year without Eddie — including the birth of their child, two months after his death. It also traces their courtship, marriage and the last few days of Eddie's life. This deeply personal book is at times raw, angry, bleak and lyrical. The best prose comes out of Torres's moments of pure, lonely grief, which punctuate her confusing and at times horrifying experiences with various aid agencies, family members, friends and strangers. Choi's art is reminiscent of the work of Andi Watson and Craig Thompson, and complements Torres's writing by emphasizing the ordinary in Alissa's extraordinary circumstances. Torres and Choi do best with the confusion and shock that come with a sudden death, laying out scene after scene without quite connecting them — just as events seem to go on and on without meaning when one has lost someone important. What this book lacks in technique and narrative drive, it makes up in its heartfelt look at the universality in one woman's loss. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Stiff, blue-tinted art by New York Times illustrator Choi adds little immediacy to the narrative. Muted outrage produces muted results."
"Synopsis" by , A graphic novel of remarkable power and beauty in the tradition of Persepolis and Fun Home, American Widow is the very personal story of how one woman dealt with and overcame a very public tragedy. Illustrations throughout.
"Synopsis" by , "At the heart of "American Widow" is the notion of Sept. 11 as a personal, rather than a national or political, tragedy, which, this achingly tender work reminds us, is exactly what it was." -- LA Times

Want to honor those who passed during 9-11? Turn off the stupid documentary glorifying all of those images we've seen over and over, and read this sincere account of how that fateful day effected one person that represents all of us.” Aint It Cool News

“[A] raw, occasionally maddening, bracing graphic memoir… Unbearably moving.” The New York Times Book Review

“Reading it, you feel that Torres could be your friend or neighbor; she makes an epic tragedy intimate.” Newsday

On September 10, 2001, Eddie Torres started his dream job at Cantor Fitzgerald in the North Tower of the World Trade Center. The next morning, he said goodbye to his 7½-months-pregnant wife, Alissa, and headed out the door.

In an instant, Alissas world was thrown into chaos. Forced to deal with unimaginable challenges, Alissa suddenly found herself cast into the role of “9/11 widow,” tossed into a storm of bureaucracy, politics, patriotism, mourning, consolation, and, soon enough, motherhood.

Beautifully and thoughtfully illustrated, American Widow is the affecting account of one womans journey through shock, pain, birth, and rebirth in the aftermath of a great tragedy. It is also the story of a young couples love affair: how a Colombian immigrant and a strong-minded New Yorker met, fell in love, and struggled to fulfill their dreams. Above all, American Widow is a tribute to the resilience of the human heart and the very personal story of how one woman endured a very public tragedy.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.