Nonficionado Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 11, 2015

    Heidi Pitlor: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Heidi Pitlor



    Describe your latest book. My novel, The Daylight Marriage, is about a wife and mother who goes missing one day. The narrative alternates between... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise

by

The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise Cover

ISBN13: 9780385533287
ISBN10: 0385533284
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.95!

 

 

Reading Group Guide

1.  While filled with humour, The Tower, the Zoo and the Tortoise has an undercurrent of heartache. Why do you think the author included the tragic element—could the story have survived without it?

 

2. The novel is strewn with historical anecdotes. Which do you think are true, and which do you think the author made up, if any?

 

3. Much is made of British humour. Do you think that there is any difference between British and American humour? If so, how is it demonstrated in the book?

 

4. Explain the correlation between Balthazar’s inability to cry about Milo’s death and his obsession with collecting rain drops.

 

5. Hebe Jones sarcastically states that “It’s every woman’s dream to live in a castle.” (p. 22) How is this statement not true for Hebe. What do you think is Hebe’s dream?

 

6. What is the main attraction between Arthur Catnip and Valerie Jennings? How are they a well-suited match?

 

7. How is the lost safe significant to Hebe and Valerie?  Is their any significance to the timing of when the lock is opened?

 

8. Reverend Septimus Drew seems to be a walking contradiction. Outside of his hidden hobby, what else is surprising/contradictory about his character?

 

9. All of the characters seem to be in search of something—whether lost love, items, loved ones, or animals. Who do you think is the most fulfilled character in the book, if there is any? Why?

 

10. Sir Walter Raleigh and many other spirits claim to haunt the Tower. What element do these ghosts add to the book? Is it more spiritual or superstitious?  

 

11. What is the significance of the urn that Hebe finds in London Underground’s Lost Property Office? Why is she so resolved to find its owner?

 

12. Explain how infidelity affects various characters in the book.

 

13. How does working in the menagerie make Balthazar feel closer to Milo?

 

14. What role does Mrs. Cook play in the novel? She is in part responsible for Balthazar’s job at the menagerie—how else has she played an integral role in Hebe and Balthazar’s lives?

 

15. What role does storytelling and letter writing play in the book? Balthazar won both Hebe and Milo’s hearts with his grand storytelling. Who else from the Tower is a raconteur?  (For a complete list of a available reading group guides, and to sign up for the Reading Group Center enewsletter, visit www.readinggroupcenter.com.)

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

Sarah B, January 27, 2012 (view all comments by Sarah B)
I adored the writing and whimsy of this book. The story was beautifully told, and had one of the best endings I have read in a long time. Highly recommended!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
JillS, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by JillS)
An easy, fun and quirky read. If you've ever visited The Tower of London, this book will take you right back there!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Katy B, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Katy B)
A very poignant, delightful, funny, sad, heartwarming and well written tale!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 6 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385533287
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Stuart, Julia
Publisher:
Doubleday
Subject:
Animals
Subject:
Marital conflict
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
London (england)
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literary
Publication Date:
20100810
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.58x5.88x1.22 in. 1.04 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Such a Pretty Face
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Hurricanes in Paradise New Trade Paper $13.99

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Doubleday Books - English 9780385533287 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Charming, witty, and heartfelt, Stuart's second novel is even more delightful than her debut, The Matchmaker of Périgord. A perfect suggestion for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; highly recommended."
"Review" by , "History buffs, animal lovers, and simply the tenderhearted will swoon over this captivating story."
"Review" by , "[The] delightfully zany and touching novel, The Tower, The Zoo, and the Tortoise, by British writer Julia Stuart, has jumped the queue to take readers on a fictional romp through the Tower's realm...With her deft and charming style, Stuart brings this comic story to a satisfying and heartwarming end."
"Synopsis" by , Brimming with charm and whimsy, this exquisite novel set in the Tower of London has the transportive qualities and delightful magic of the contemporary classics Chocolat and Amélie.

Balthazar Jones has lived in the Tower of London with his loving wife, Hebe, and his 120-year-old pet tortoise for the past eight years. That’s right, he is a Beefeater (they really do live there). It’s no easy job living and working in the tourist attraction in present-day London.

Among the eccentric characters who call the Tower’s maze of ancient buildings and spiral staircases home are the Tower’s Rack & Ruin barmaid, Ruby Dore, who just found out she’s pregnant; portly Valerie Jennings, who is falling for ticket inspector Arthur Catnip; the lifelong bachelor Reverend Septimus Drew, who secretly pens a series of principled erot­ica; and the philandering Ravenmaster, aiming to avenge the death of one of his insufferable ravens.

When Balthazar is tasked with setting up an elaborate menagerie within the Tower walls to house the many exotic animals gifted to the Queen, life at the Tower gets all the more interest­ing. Penguins escape, giraffes are stolen, and the Komodo dragon sends innocent people running for their lives. Balthazar is in charge and things are not exactly running smoothly. Then Hebe decides to leave him and his beloved tortoise “runs” away.

Filled with the humor and heart that calls to mind the delight­ful novels of Alexander McCall Smith, and the charm and beauty of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise is a magical, wholly origi­nal novel whose irresistible characters will stay with you long after you turn the stunning last page.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.