Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Before I Die: A Novel

by

Before I Die: A Novel Cover

ISBN13: 9780385751551
ISBN10: 0385751559
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Tessa has just months to live. Fighting back against hospital visits, endless tests, drugs with excruciating side-effects, Tessa compiles a list. It's her "To Do Before I Die" list. And number one is Sex.

Released from the constraints of 'normal' life, Tessa tastes new experiences to make her feel alive while her failing body struggles to keep up. Tessa's feelings, her relationships with her father and brother, her estranged mother, her best friend, and her new boyfriend, all are painfully crystallised in the precious weeks before Tessa's time finally runs out.

Review:

"Before I Die gutted me as no work of art has done in recent memory....Even as Downham plunges into unabashedly sentimental territory...Tessa's plight never turns gloopy or cloying. In luminous prose that rings completely true, Downham earns every tear she wrings from her readers. (Grade: A-)" Entertainment Weekly

Review:

"[W]renching....Because her experience feels so palpable, readers will believe that the novel's final pages might offer a crystalline vision of death. Lucid language makes a painful journey bearable, beautiful and transcendent." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if shes willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

 

About the Author

Before I Die is Jenny Downham's debut novel. She lives in England.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

joran14rocks, October 16, 2008 (view all comments by joran14rocks)
I loved this book it really did show you how lucky you are just to be a healthy person. she really gets in your head and it is ashame that I could not meat her. i think we would have been grate friends. I am glad that Zoey decided to keep her baby.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385751551
Author:
Downham, Jenny
Publisher:
Dial
Author:
Oakes, Stephanie
Subject:
Social Issues - Death & Dying
Subject:
Terminally ill
Subject:
England
Subject:
Teenage girls
Subject:
Situations / Death & Dying
Subject:
Situations / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
September 2007
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
14-17

Other books you might like

  1. A Swift Pure Cry Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. An Arsonist's Guide to Writers'...
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. Foreskin's Lament: A Memoir
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  5. Thirteen Reasons Why
    Used Hardcover $8.50
  6. Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures: Stories
    Used Hardcover $7.50

Related Subjects

Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Death and Dying
Young Adult » General

Before I Die: A Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages David Fickling Books - English 9780385751551 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Before I Die gutted me as no work of art has done in recent memory....Even as Downham plunges into unabashedly sentimental territory...Tessa's plight never turns gloopy or cloying. In luminous prose that rings completely true, Downham earns every tear she wrings from her readers. (Grade: A-)"
"Review" by , "[W]renching....Because her experience feels so palpable, readers will believe that the novel's final pages might offer a crystalline vision of death. Lucid language makes a painful journey bearable, beautiful and transcendent."
"Synopsis" by ,
With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if shes willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow By is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.