The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 17, 2014

Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »
  1. $16.77 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Love Me Back

    Merritt Tierce 9780385538077

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Stargirl

by

Stargirl Cover

ISBN13: 9780679886372
ISBN10: 0679886370
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.50!

 

 

Reading Group Guide

1. As the saying goes, "love is blind." How is this truly the case with Leo and Stargirl? Looking back, how can you tell that Leo was falling for her? And does he stay in love with her, even after she moves away?

2. Professor Archie Brubaker is the voice of reason throughout the novel. Archie has many thoughtful insights into the personality of Stargirl, and at one point says about her: "You'll know her more by your questions than by her answers. Keep looking at her long enough. One day you might see someone you know." Now that you've finished the novel, what do you think Archie means by this statement?

3. While Stargirl is a guest on "Hot Seat," Kevin asks her why she changed her name. Do you accept her reason why she did this? How is "Stargirl" an ideal name for her? Think about the possibility of changing your name several times. Do you think your name is an integral part of who you are, or can you imagine yourself with another one?

4. In the beginning, Hillari Kimble seems to be the only person who openly dislikes Stargirl. But then others begin to feel the same way as Hillari. Do you think that groups of people need a leader, like Hillari Kimble, to turn opinions against another person?

5. Do you, as a reader, like Stargirl? If you were a student at Mica High, would you reach out to her like Dori Dilson, or reject her like Hillari Kimble? Do you think the students of Mica High are ultimately too harsh on Stargirl?

6. Popularity, fitting in, and "sameness" are all key themes in Stargirl. Find places in the novel that reinforce these themes and discuss. Do you think Stargirl ever wanted to be popular? How might she define popularity?

7. After Stargirl changes back to "Susan," Leo says "she looked magnificently, wonderfully, gloriously ordinary. She looked just like a hundred other girls at Mica High--I had never been so happy and proud in my whole life." How did you feel when you read this part of the novel?

8. Author Jerry Spinelli plays two major events in the novel off of each other: the basketball championships and the oratorical contest. After Stargirl wins the oratorical contest, Leo says that "the cheering is as wild as that of the crowd at a championship basketball game." Stargirl is the focus at both events but in very different ways. How is she rejected at one and accepted at the other? And how does this acceptance ultimately lead to rejection?

9. The Ocotillo Ball at the end of the novel represents a turning point. Do you think Stargirl made a deliberate attempt to say good-bye at the ball? What do you make of the students' behavior at the ball, and what does this tell you about the student body of Mica High as a whole?

10. Archie says about Stargirl, "Star people are rare. You'll be lucky to meet another." Do you think Leo was grown-up enough for his relationship with Stargirl? How about the students of Mica High? Will Leo ever figure Stargirl out?

11. What is the irony at the end of Stargirl? Is Stargirl popular after all? What happens to the "popular" kids in the story-do they stay popular?

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

caulfield_saves, March 30, 2009 (view all comments by caulfield_saves)
it has been some time since ive read this book, but i have to say, stargirl changed me. she is so sweet, and now, after reading this book, i think about my everyday actions, i actually find myself leaving coins on the ground for toddlers. this is a must read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679886372
Author:
Spinelli, Jerry
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf
Author:
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Location:
New York
Subject:
Children's fiction
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - General
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Girls
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
High schools
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Individuality
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Family - Parents
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
6
Publication Date:
20000831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Tangerine
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. The Chicken Dance New Trade Paper $12.95
  3. Do the Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  4. Monster
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Speak
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  6. Love, Stargirl
    Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Peer Pressure
Young Adult » General

Stargirl Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 192 pages Alfred A. Knopf - English 9780679886372 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Spinelli poses searching questions about loyalty to one's friends and oneself and leaves readers to form their own answers." Publishers Weekly
"Review A Day" by , "Stargirl...solidifies Spinelli's ability to view the world through the lens of a child and weave his observations into a profoundly enriching and thought-provoking novel." (read the entire Powells.com review)
"Review" by , "Once again Spinelli takes his readers on a journey where choices between the self and the group must be made, and he is wise enough to show how hard they are, even when sweet."
"Review" by , "[A] poetic allegorical tale about the magnificence and rarity of true nonconformity."
"Review" by , "With the book's high school setting and situations, this entertaining and thought-provoking story will appeal to and be enjoyed by junior high and high school readers."
"Synopsis" by , Stargirl is a true celebration of nonconformity.

This oftentimes tense and emotional story explores the fleeting, cruel nature of popularity — and the thrill and inspiration of first love. The questions, discussion topics, and author information that follow are intended to guide readers and spark discussion as they begin to analyze the larger emotional, sociological, and literary elements of this exceptional and thought-provoking novel.

"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

 

Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Whered You Go, Bernadette

 

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.