Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

A Garden in Lucca: Finding Paradise in Tuscany

A Garden in Lucca: Finding Paradise in Tuscany Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

In this delightful garden memoir, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Beverly Nichols, or more recently, Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes, Paul Gervais recounts the challenges, elations, setbacks, and revelations that accompanied the process of making an acclaimed garden out of the sprawling, overgrown grounds ora Renaissance Tuscan hunting lodge. This lyrical portrait of an antique Italian villa with its charming caretaker, olive groves, and vineyards is filled with hilarious garden misadventures, witty sketches of eccentric fellow gardeners, and sensuous studies of Tuscan daily life. Entertaining for its garden side trips, its generous information about Mediterranean plants, Italian garden history and lore, A Garden in Lucca is, at its heart, a compelling journey of self-discovery that shares with readers the joys and challenges of creating a personal paradise on earth.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780786865215
Subtitle:
Finding Paradise in Tuscany
Author:
Gervais, Paul
Author:
Gervais, Paul
Publisher:
Hyperion
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Description and travel
Subject:
Italy
Subject:
Naturalists/Gardeners
Subject:
Garden Design
Subject:
Gardens
Subject:
Tuscany (Italy)
Subject:
Ethnic Cultures
Subject:
General Biography
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series Volume:
112765
Publication Date:
20000315
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 19.84 oz
Age Level:
18

Related Subjects

Home and Garden » Gardening » Writing

A Garden in Lucca: Finding Paradise in Tuscany
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Hyperion Books - English 9780786865215 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In this delightful garden memoir, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Beverly Nichols, or more recently, Peter Mayle and Frances Mayes, Paul Gervais recounts the challenges, elations, setbacks, and revelations that accompanied the process of making an acclaimed garden out of the sprawling, overgrown grounds ora Renaissance Tuscan hunting lodge. This lyrical portrait of an antique Italian villa with its charming caretaker, olive groves, and vineyards is filled with hilarious garden misadventures, witty sketches of eccentric fellow gardeners, and sensuous studies of Tuscan daily life. Entertaining for its garden side trips, its generous information about Mediterranean plants, Italian garden history and lore, A Garden in Lucca is, at its heart, a compelling journey of self-discovery that shares with readers the joys and challenges of creating a personal paradise on earth.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.