Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse General- General

This title in other editions

Outside Valentine

by

Outside Valentine Cover

 

 

Excerpt

She was a fine lady with sad soft eyes and fancy things. But she did not so much as take off her shoes when she sat down on the edge of the bed. I had the knife, but I did not know how I would ever use it. The lady laid on her side, curled up her legs and put her hands together under her head.

I found a picture on top of the dresser of the lady with her husband and what looked to be their boy, happy as you please. The boy grinned with sleepy eyes and heavy lashes. "Can you bring me that picture?" the lady asked.

I went over and put the frame in her hands. For a second she closed her eyes and then let out a sigh. "I'm not waking up," she said. "I'm not dreaming, am I?"

"I'm Jeanette," the lady told me "That's my

husband Arthur, and that's Lowell. He's your age. I thought I could never love a person more than Arthur," the lady went on. "Then I had our son, and I held him for the first time and I knew." Her voice was coming out fast from nowhere, and her words fell over each other one on top of the other, like she'd been thinking about saying this her whole life long. "There isn't any love like that. No matter what he does, or who he becomes, I will always love him." She took a breath and put her face in her hands. "Save me," she said.

Outside a pine tree squeaked in the wind with a little old voice, crying tears against the window.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780805075984
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Ward, Liza
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Co.
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Girls
Subject:
Teenagers
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Violence
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Serial murders
Subject:
Nebraska
Subject:
Serial murderers
Subject:
Antique dealers
Subject:
Biographical fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literary
Copyright:
Publication Date:
September 1, 2004
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.52x6.40x1.10 in. 1.31 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Interpreter of Maladies
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Perfume the Story of a Murderer Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. Gilead
    Used Book Club Hardcover $2.95
  4. Waxwings Sale Hardcover $1.00
  5. Prep: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $0.95
  6. Perma Red
    Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

Outside Valentine Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Henry Holt & Company - English 9780805075984 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this riveting literary suspense novel, first-timer Ward presents in lean, luminous prose a precarious world where true love can ravage as well as redeem, exploring a series of murders in Lincoln, Nebr., in the 1950s from the perspective of three narrators. After an argument with her volatile stepfather, 14-year-old Caril Ann Fugate flees into the woods behind her house, where she spies (the real-life killer) red-haired Charles Starkweather, carrying a .22 rifle. From their first uneasy meeting, the girl senses that she and Starkweather are meant to be together. Ward eerily evokes a romantic union destined for disaster; the emotionally unsettled Starkweather pledges eternal love to the impressionable teen as he entangles her in murders that change their lives forever. Four years after the slayings that shook her hometown, Lincoln teenager Susan Hurst continues to pore over newspaper clippings about Charles Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate, secretly envious of their dark, desperate love. Bemused by a distant father and mercurial mother, Susan has trouble relating to peers until she meets Lowell Bowman, son of two of the murder victims. Thirty years later, Lowell Bowman, now a Manhattan art collector, remains haunted by visions of his parents' murder. He has grown apart from his wife, who pesters him about retrieving a mysterious safe deposit box. Traumatized by the past and fearful of the future, Bowman embarks on a solitary quest to examine the contents of the box and the purpose of his life. On the novel's acknowledgments page, Ward thanks her father for allowing her to explore such 'delicate material.' An already chilling novel drops a few more degrees at the unsettling admission that it's based in truth. Agent, Rob McQuilkin. (Sept.) Forecast: Ward's debut — solidly backed by Holt with a $100,000 ad/promo campaign and a 10-city author tour — should appeal to readers of true crime as well as fans of literary fiction." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "A gifted writer, Ward uses simple imagery to chilling effect. A dog with a broken neck hiding under the bed after its owner has been murdered and a dead schoolgirl with her skirt pulled up...are as vivid as anything filmmakers have fashioned from the same raw material."
"Review" by , "[S]uspenseful and chilling....Ward manages to tell the tale from all sides, and astonishingly...reveals a deeply affecting story about everyone involved, including the girl who went along for the murderous ride."
"Review" by , "Liza Ward's provocative debut...delves into the lives not only of her protagonists, but also of the people related to the victims. She dissects not just the horror of these real-life crimes, but the more subtle, rippling effects on those left behind."
"Review" by , "What Ward effectively shows is that tragedy keeps on happening. But she also holds forth the possibility that love can save people. Some people."
"Review" by , "Outside Valentine has a slowly tightening noose of a plot....But while Charlie Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate's relationship is vivid in the reader's mind, the novel's other, quieter emotional struggle sadly pales in its glare."
"Review" by , "An intricate and challenging novel that examines the inner lives of men and women swept up in a devastating American crime. Ward's portraits are harrowing, heartfelt and unforgettable."
"Review" by , "Written with confidence and grace, Outside Valentine tells an astounding story about how violence can propel us apart, yes, but how it can also bring us together in unexpected ways. Liza Ward has written an utterly gripping book."
"Review" by , "Blunt, beautiful, and very scary, Outside Valentine proves that a murder doesn't end with death — it just goes on and on, staining generations, tolling across decades. It's a first novel with the weight of a tenth. Liza Ward has the ears of a wolf, the eyes of an owl, and a tongue as sharp as broken glass."
"Review" by , "A swift and beautifully written first novel about the lingering effects of violence and the power of love, to heal and to destroy. With extraordinary emotional accuracy, Liza Ward tracks the echoes of a murder across three generations and several lives, bringing them together in an ending both mysterious and musical. Outside Valentine seems to know all the secrets, and to be willing to tell them. Simply an amazing debut."
"Review" by , "Liza Ward runs a tight, thrumming line through her narrative, punching up scenes with a sharp practiced touch and bringing wise compassion to bear on the tragic events that unfold with such dark inevitability."
"Review" by , "Well-written in spite of often dubious similes, the novel with its textbook ending, at once inevitable and disturbing, packs a wallop. That it was inspired by the experiences of the author's grandparents makes its premise all the more poignant."
"Review" by , "[A]mbitious and disturbing....Grim but not gratuitous, sad but ultimately hopeful, Ward's novel is ideal for fans of Oprah's Book Club."
"Synopsis" by , Debut novelist Ward interweaves a trio of voices — haunting, dangerous, and full of longing — mysteriously linked by a shocking crime and the search to heal the past.
"Synopsis" by ,
A debut novelist interweaves a trio of voices-haunting, dangerous, full of longing-mysteriously linked by a shocking crime and the search to heal the past

Many long years have passed since the winter of blinding white when Charles Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate drove across the hushed midwestern landscape and left a trail of blood and pain. So why does Lowell, a Manhattan collector of antiquities, still dream of what happened, despite his wife's best attempts to draw him back and offer comfort? And who is Susan, the teenager who appoints herself a detective, piecing together the story of the murders while wondering if she'll ever be loved like Starkweather loved his girl?

And then there's Caril Ann herself, who takes us back to relive the ride she swears she could not control. It began on the day Charlie first saw her, dangling her bare legs off the edge of a tree house. It ended outside Valentine, Nebraska, on that night when she still believed that life could somehow go back to being normal . . . '

Every so often a novel comes along that is capable of redeeming the losses it so devastatingly conveys. Disturbing, bittersweet, and lyrical, Liza Ward's Outside Valentine is a story of people torn apart by tragedy and yet, finally, transformed by love.

"Synopsis" by ,
Liza Ward's spellbinding first novel is told from the very different points of view of three narrators mysteriously linked by a shocking crime and their efforts to heal the past. Based on the Charles Starkweather and Caril Ann Fugate murders in Nebraska in the 1950s, Outside Valentine examines the effects of violence and the power of love as the three voices interweave and show the lingering and devastating aftershocks of murder across three generations. Mysterious and disturbing, Liza Ward's first novel is, in the words of Anita Shreve, "heartbreaking and unforgettable."

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.