25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Songs for the Butcher's Daughter

by

Songs for the Butcher's Daughter Cover

ISBN13: 9781416538707
ISBN10: 1416538704
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Summer, sweltering, 1996. A book warehouse in western Massachusetts. A man at the beginning of his adult life — and the end of his career rope — becomes involved with a woman, a language, and a great lie that will define his future. Most auspiciously of all, he runs across Itsik Malpesh, a ninetysomething Russian immigrant who claims to be the last Yiddish poet in America. When a set of accounting ledgers in which Malpesh has written his memoirs surfaces — twenty-two volumes brimming with adventure, drama, deception, passion, and wit — the young man is compelled to translate them, telling Malpesh's story as his own life unfolds, and bringing together two paths that coincide in shocking and unexpected ways.

Moving from revolutionary Russia to New York's Depression-era Lower East Side to millennium's-end Baltimore with drama, adventure, and boisterous, feisty charm to spare, the unpeeling of this friendship is a story of the entire twentieth century. For fans of Nicole Krauss, Nathan Englander, Richard Powers, Amy Bloom, and Lore Segal, this book will amaze at every turn: narrated by two poets (one who doesn't know he is and one who doesn't know he isn't), it is a wise and warm look at the constant surprises and ineluctable ravages of time. It's a book about religion, love, and typesetting — how one passion can be used to goad and thwart the other — and most of all, about how faith in the power of words can survive even the death of a language.

A novel of faith lost and hope found in translation, Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is at once an immigrant's epic saga, a love story for the ages, a Yiddish-inflected laughing-through-tears tour of world history for Jews and Gentiles alike, and a testament to Manseau's ambitious genius.

Synopsis:

Reminiscent of Nicole Krauss's "The History of Love," Manseau's debut novel introduces readers to two people whose lives merge unexpectedly in the last years of the 20th century: Itsik Malpesh, a 90-something Russian poet and his 21-year-old American translator.

Video

About the Author

Peter Manseau is the author of Vows and coauthor of Killing the Buddha. His writing has also appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Washington Post, and on National Public Radio's All Things Considered. A founding editor of the award-winning webzine KillingTheBuddha.com, he is now the editor of Search, The Magazine of Science, Religion, and Culture. He lives with his wife and two daughters in Washington, D.C., where he studies religion and teaches writing at Georgetown University.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

2roses, February 16, 2009 (view all comments by 2roses)
This is a very readable book but I have 2 reservations. One is regards the poetry.

The main character, Itsik, defines himself as a poet. But the examples given are terrible, pure doggerel. I can't tell from the book whether we are meant to think this is good poetry or whether this is meant to show the lack of insight of Itsik. I think the author should give us a clue. Other reviews seem to accept the examples as poems.

My second problem is with the character of Itsik. He commits one small act of violence and one very big one. He is described as gentle so these 2 acts are not in keeping with his character. If we posit a repressed rage to account for them, then we need to see some suggestion of it. I don't think we do.

So we have the poetry and the violence that move the novel along but are not quite explained.

I really liked Chaim who became Charlie Smoth. I'd love a novel about him.


P.S. I am a Robot
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416538707
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Manseau, Peter
Publisher:
Free Press
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Jews
Subject:
Translators
Subject:
Jews -- United States.
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20080909
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Warden (Dover Thrift Editions)
    New Trade Paper $3.95
  2. A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small...
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  3. The Last of the Angels: A Modern... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. Sky Time in Gray's River: Living for...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Crossing BOK Chitto: A Choctaw Tale... New Trade Paper $8.95
  6. Beowulf on the Beach: What to Love...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Songs for the Butcher's Daughter Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Free Press - English 9781416538707 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Reminiscent of Nicole Krauss's "The History of Love," Manseau's debut novel introduces readers to two people whose lives merge unexpectedly in the last years of the 20th century: Itsik Malpesh, a 90-something Russian poet and his 21-year-old American translator.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.