25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 24, 2015

    Ellen Urbani: IMG Like Every Other Survivor



    I have an uncommon penchant for aligning myself with disaster and death. Tornadoes and wildfires and armed guerrillas have chased me. Riptides... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Landfall

      Ellen Urbani 9780988265776

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Based on the Movie: A Novel

by

Based on the Movie: A Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It's been nine months since Bobby Conlon's wife dumped him for a hot young film director and he's doing great.

Okay, so he occasionally breaks into Natalie's apartment and sobs along to her old Carole King records, but that's only when he's out of meds. He's better now. One hundred percent. And to prove it, he's throwing out that year-old Christmas tree decorated with five hundred empty Vicodin bottles and flying to Texas to work on a movie starring Ralph the Swimming Pig.

But once in Texas, Bobby realizes he's signed on to the most dysfunctional movie ever. The director can't direct, the pig catches pneumonia, and just when things can't get any worse, Natalie and her boyfriend are hired to take over the movie. Suddenly, Bobby's personal and professional lives collide, and no matter which way he turns, fresh disasters await. Still, in spite of everything, Bobby clings to the hope that a happy ending might still be possible. This is the movie business, right?

Based on the Movie is a laugh-out-loud look at what actually happens on a film location, told from the perspective of the hardworking — and long-suffering — men and women behind the scenes. Fast-paced, funny, and edgy, Based on the Movie will appeal to readers of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta. As real life meets reel life, prepare to be captivated by one of the most entertaining reads of the season.

Review:

"Reel life meets real life in Taylor's fast and funny debut, the tale of Bobby Conlon, a dolly grip working on a disaster of a movie. Bobby, a lifelong movie lover, is growing disillusioned with Hollywood — a feeling that's been growing since he found his wife, producer Natalie Miguel, having an affair with a colleague, Elias Simm. Bobby decides that perhaps directing is for him and sells Gerti, a grip truck worth $150,000,to a colleague, who manages to wreck it and screw Bobby on the deal. So with no funds to produce and direct his opus, Bobby goes back to being a grip. This leads to an affair with Katherine, one of Natalie's archrivals, and a fight to keep his Xanax habit kicked. Things turn particularly bad after a series of incompetent directors come and go, forcing Natalie into the picture. Laugh-out-loud moments are in plentiful supply, and the twist at the end is nicely handled. Taylor, a former grip, creates a convincing backdrop for this biting take on the bleakness beneath the glamour." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Movie madness meets mid-life crisis in Taylor's hilarious debut novel as a recovering dolly grip battles egos, absurdity, and a career-obsessed wife all to keep a really lousy movie from falling to pieces.

About the Author

Billy Taylor worked as a dolly grip on dozens of movies and TV shows, including My Cousin Vinny and Pee-Wee's Playhouse, before turning his hand to writing. Based On the Movie is his first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416548775
Publisher:
Atria Books
Subject:
Literary
Author:
Taylor, Billy
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Motion picture industry
Subject:
Cinematography
Subject:
Separated people.
Copyright:
Publication Date:
August 2008
Binding:
Hardcover
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
310
Dimensions:
8.80x5.46x1.06 in. .94 lbs.

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Based on the Movie: A Novel
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 310 pages Atria Books - English 9781416548775 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Reel life meets real life in Taylor's fast and funny debut, the tale of Bobby Conlon, a dolly grip working on a disaster of a movie. Bobby, a lifelong movie lover, is growing disillusioned with Hollywood — a feeling that's been growing since he found his wife, producer Natalie Miguel, having an affair with a colleague, Elias Simm. Bobby decides that perhaps directing is for him and sells Gerti, a grip truck worth $150,000,to a colleague, who manages to wreck it and screw Bobby on the deal. So with no funds to produce and direct his opus, Bobby goes back to being a grip. This leads to an affair with Katherine, one of Natalie's archrivals, and a fight to keep his Xanax habit kicked. Things turn particularly bad after a series of incompetent directors come and go, forcing Natalie into the picture. Laugh-out-loud moments are in plentiful supply, and the twist at the end is nicely handled. Taylor, a former grip, creates a convincing backdrop for this biting take on the bleakness beneath the glamour." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Movie madness meets mid-life crisis in Taylor's hilarious debut novel as a recovering dolly grip battles egos, absurdity, and a career-obsessed wife all to keep a really lousy movie from falling to pieces.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.