Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Mystery- A to Z

Die with Me: A Novel

by

Die with Me: A Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Somewhere in London, a lonely young woman is reaching out to the wrong man. It's up to Detective Inspector Mark Tartaglia and the rest of the Murder Squad to find her before a killer does.

When fourteen-year-old Gemma Kramer's broken body is found on the floor of St. Sebastian's Church, the official ruling is that she jumped to her death from the organ gallery above the altar. But then a witness comes forward claiming to have seen Gemma kissing a much older man before the two disappeared into the church together. And when the toxicology report reveals traces of GHB and alcohol in her system, a full-scale murder investigation is launched.

At the helm is Detective Inspector Mark Tartaglia, a stubborn cop known for following his hunches. It's Tartaglia's first time in charge, and he walks right into a political minefield as the investigation turns up three more suspicious deaths — all involving vulnerable young women falling to their deaths, all initially ruled suicides.

In the whirlwind of conflicting theories from the media, criminal profilers, and cautious administrators, Tartaglia and his detectives must connect the dots between victims to find a serial killer with a chilling predilection for lonely girls and deadly heights.

Review:

"At the start of British author Forbes's entertaining debut, a young woman falls to her death from the balcony of a dusty London church. Det. Insp. Mark Tartaglia and his team quickly discover that Gemma Kramer was lured there to meet a man calling himself Tom, who then delivered murder rather than the romantic suicide pact he promised. Searching the records, Tartaglia and his team uncover two of 'Tom's' other victims, formerly classed as suicides, as well as a suspicious death his instinct tells him is linked. Following the clues from two additional murders, Tartaglia and partner Sam Donovan nearly become Tom's victims themselves just before discovering Tom's true identity. The explanation of the killer's motivation and MO isn't entirely satisfying, but this minor lapse aside, this is an intelligently plotted, convincing and nicely textured read. One hopes to see more of the appealing cast of well-characterized police personnel in a sequel." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"British debut author Forbes, a former investment banker, renders crisp prose, a clever plot, and an unsettling portrait of a charismatic psychopath. She is definitely one to watch." Booklist (Starred Review)

Review:

"Despite some familiar plot elements...debut novelist Forbes has written an engrossing police procedural that fans of Jill McGown and Ian Rankin will place on their reserve list. Highly recommended." Library Journal

Review:

"[A] beautifully-layered book....Fans of Inspector Banks or Adam Dalgliesh will embrace this accomplished debut." Mystery Scene Magazine

Review:

"Die with Me may be the first book by Elena Forbes, but she already writes like a seasoned pro. Deftly plotted, carefully nuanced and compulsively readable, Forbes combines the best elements of a police procedural and a psychological thriller into a chilling portrait of a monstrous killer. Elena Forbes is a fresh new voice in a crowded field and Die with Me is a stellar debut. We will hear much more from this talented writer. Highly-recommended." Sheldon Siegel, New York Times bestselling author of The Confession

Review:

"Dark, chilling and clever, Die with Me is a classic whodunit. With her gripping, textured plot, complex characters and fascinating procedural details — all playing out on the moody streets of London — Elena Forbes bursts on the crime fiction scene with a fantastic debut. This is a sophisticated, intelligent novel bound to keep you up past your bedtime." Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Lies and Sliver of Truth

Synopsis:

A new detective series in the style of Prime Suspect from a great new talent from the UK.

A series of deaths — apparent suicides — of vulnerable young girls is baffling police in London: the bodies are found in the naves of churches after having fallen from a great height. Thanks to a badly-handled leak, the press are all clamoring for a serial killer called The Bridegroom, and amidst the maelstrom of conflicting theories from the media, criminal profilers, politically competitive colleagues and the general circus surrounding a major murder enquiry, the chilling deaths mount up...

About the Author

Elena Forbes grew up in London. After earning a degree in French and Italian from Bristol University, she worked in portfolio management for a number of international investment groups before becoming a full-time writer. She lives in central London with her husband and two children. Die with Me is her first novel, and she is currently at work on the sequel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781596922778
Author:
Forbes, Elena
Publisher:
MacAdam/Cage Publishing
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Traditional British
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Police Procedural
Subject:
Young women
Subject:
Police
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
London (england)
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
October 2007
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
341
Dimensions:
9.02x6.44x1.15 in. 1.33 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. The Cold Dish
    New Mass Market $7.99
  3. The Janissary Tree
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Pipsqueak
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. Silent in the Sanctuary: A Lady... Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. Half of a Yellow Sun
    New Mass Market $15.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Sale Books

Die with Me: A Novel Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 341 pages MacAdam/Cage Publishing - English 9781596922778 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "At the start of British author Forbes's entertaining debut, a young woman falls to her death from the balcony of a dusty London church. Det. Insp. Mark Tartaglia and his team quickly discover that Gemma Kramer was lured there to meet a man calling himself Tom, who then delivered murder rather than the romantic suicide pact he promised. Searching the records, Tartaglia and his team uncover two of 'Tom's' other victims, formerly classed as suicides, as well as a suspicious death his instinct tells him is linked. Following the clues from two additional murders, Tartaglia and partner Sam Donovan nearly become Tom's victims themselves just before discovering Tom's true identity. The explanation of the killer's motivation and MO isn't entirely satisfying, but this minor lapse aside, this is an intelligently plotted, convincing and nicely textured read. One hopes to see more of the appealing cast of well-characterized police personnel in a sequel." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "British debut author Forbes, a former investment banker, renders crisp prose, a clever plot, and an unsettling portrait of a charismatic psychopath. She is definitely one to watch."
"Review" by , "Despite some familiar plot elements...debut novelist Forbes has written an engrossing police procedural that fans of Jill McGown and Ian Rankin will place on their reserve list. Highly recommended."
"Review" by , "[A] beautifully-layered book....Fans of Inspector Banks or Adam Dalgliesh will embrace this accomplished debut."
"Review" by , "Die with Me may be the first book by Elena Forbes, but she already writes like a seasoned pro. Deftly plotted, carefully nuanced and compulsively readable, Forbes combines the best elements of a police procedural and a psychological thriller into a chilling portrait of a monstrous killer. Elena Forbes is a fresh new voice in a crowded field and Die with Me is a stellar debut. We will hear much more from this talented writer. Highly-recommended."
"Review" by , "Dark, chilling and clever, Die with Me is a classic whodunit. With her gripping, textured plot, complex characters and fascinating procedural details — all playing out on the moody streets of London — Elena Forbes bursts on the crime fiction scene with a fantastic debut. This is a sophisticated, intelligent novel bound to keep you up past your bedtime."
"Synopsis" by , A new detective series in the style of Prime Suspect from a great new talent from the UK.

A series of deaths — apparent suicides — of vulnerable young girls is baffling police in London: the bodies are found in the naves of churches after having fallen from a great height. Thanks to a badly-handled leak, the press are all clamoring for a serial killer called The Bridegroom, and amidst the maelstrom of conflicting theories from the media, criminal profilers, politically competitive colleagues and the general circus surrounding a major murder enquiry, the chilling deaths mount up...

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.