Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
5 Remote Warehouse Children's- Humor
2 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

The Chicken Dance

by

The Chicken Dance Cover

 

Staff Pick

Poor Stanley. He lives on a chicken farm where his mother keeps chickens for "ambience," his father is acting secretive, and neither parent pays any attention to him. I laughed myself silly throughout this book, especially at Stanley's parents — who rival Matilda's parents (or any of Roald Dahl's adult figures) for laughable ignorance. I carried Chicken Dance with me everywhere I went so I could join Stanley as he uncovered the mystery of his family. A great story for those "tween" boys (ages eleven to thirteen), whether they're chicken lovers, like Stanley, or not.
Recommended by Jill S., Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On his birthday, Don Schmidt spends the day waiting patiently for his big surprise — a cake, presents, maybe a Chinese clown...But instead, his batty parents get into their monthly argument. This time it's because his mother has to feed the chickens. It ends with her shouting the same thing as always about their Louisiana chicken farm: "I hate it here!"

What follows is Don's journey from obscurity to fame and back again, when he becomes the youngest kid to ever win the Horse Island Dairy Festival chicken-judging contest. Gradually, his mom notices that something strange is going on — everyone knows her son! — but once she realizes that Don has become the town celebrity, she sees that there may be benefits to living on a chicken farm. What she doesn't seem to see are the benefits of having a son like Don.

For Don, the contest is the beginning of a big, big adventure. It involves trips to New Orleans and Baton Rouge, fair weather friends, a missing sister, and one big secret. Readers will cheer for Don, who goes out of his way to see the good in everything.

Review:

"With strong characters, interesting concepts, and a deft comedic touch, this novel should appeal to fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos." School Library Journal

Synopsis:

On his birthday, Don Schmidt spends the day waiting patiently for his big surprise--a cake, presents, maybe a Chinese clown . . . . But instead, his batty parents get into their monthly argument. This time it's because his mother has to feed the chickens. It ends with her shouting the same thing as always about their Louisiana chicken farm: "I hate it here!"

            What follows is Don's journey from obscurity to fame and back again, when he becomes the youngest kid to ever win the Horse Island Dairy Festival chicken-judging contest. Gradually, his mom notices that something strange is going on--everyone knows her son!--but once she realizes that Don has become the town celebrity, she sees that there may be benefits to living on a chicken farm. What she doesn't seem to see are the benefits of having a son like Don.

            For Don, the contest is the beginning of a big, big adventure. It involves trips to New Orleans and Baton Rouge, fair weather friends, a missing sister, and one big secret. Readers will cheer for Don, who goes out of his way to see the good in everything.

Synopsis:

This achingly funny debut novel takes readers on a laugh-out-loud journey to the place where comedy and tragedy meet, as a young boy who raises chickens discovers his familys secrets.

About the Author

Jacques Couvillon was born and raised on a farm in Cow Island, Louisiana. Although he has lived in different cities, he will always consider Cow Island as his home. He will not say which, but some of the events in The Chicken Dance may actually have happened to Jacques.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781599900438
Author:
Couvillon, Jacques
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Subject:
Animals - Farm Animals
Subject:
Family - Parents
Subject:
Family problems
Subject:
Country life
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Problem families
Subject:
General
Subject:
Children s humor
Edition Description:
Special
Publication Date:
20070831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
7.75 x 5.06 in
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. Hannah Montana #08: Seeing Green Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. First Shot
    New Trade Paper $8.99
  3. Petsitters Club #01: Jilly the Kid New Trade Paper $4.75
  4. Dinotopia #05: Sabertooth Mountain Used Trade Paper $2.50
  5. Tiara Club #12: Princess Emily and... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Sammy: The Classroom Guinea Pig New Trade Paper $7.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Historical Fiction » United States » 20th Century
Children's » Humor
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » General

The Chicken Dance New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Bloomsbury USA Children's Books - English 9781599900438 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Poor Stanley. He lives on a chicken farm where his mother keeps chickens for "ambience," his father is acting secretive, and neither parent pays any attention to him. I laughed myself silly throughout this book, especially at Stanley's parents — who rival Matilda's parents (or any of Roald Dahl's adult figures) for laughable ignorance. I carried Chicken Dance with me everywhere I went so I could join Stanley as he uncovered the mystery of his family. A great story for those "tween" boys (ages eleven to thirteen), whether they're chicken lovers, like Stanley, or not.

"Review" by , "With strong characters, interesting concepts, and a deft comedic touch, this novel should appeal to fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos."
"Synopsis" by ,
On his birthday, Don Schmidt spends the day waiting patiently for his big surprise--a cake, presents, maybe a Chinese clown . . . . But instead, his batty parents get into their monthly argument. This time it's because his mother has to feed the chickens. It ends with her shouting the same thing as always about their Louisiana chicken farm: "I hate it here!"

            What follows is Don's journey from obscurity to fame and back again, when he becomes the youngest kid to ever win the Horse Island Dairy Festival chicken-judging contest. Gradually, his mom notices that something strange is going on--everyone knows her son!--but once she realizes that Don has become the town celebrity, she sees that there may be benefits to living on a chicken farm. What she doesn't seem to see are the benefits of having a son like Don.

            For Don, the contest is the beginning of a big, big adventure. It involves trips to New Orleans and Baton Rouge, fair weather friends, a missing sister, and one big secret. Readers will cheer for Don, who goes out of his way to see the good in everything.

"Synopsis" by , This achingly funny debut novel takes readers on a laugh-out-loud journey to the place where comedy and tragedy meet, as a young boy who raises chickens discovers his familys secrets.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.