Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

The Surrogate (Pegasus Crime)

The Surrogate (Pegasus Crime) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A shocking double-murder scene greets Detective Inspector Philip Brennan when he is called to a flat in Colchester. Two women are viciously cut open and lying spread-eagled, one tied to the bed, one on the floor. The woman on the bed has had her stomach cut into and her unborn child is missing. But this is the third time Phil and his team have seen such an atrocity. Two other pregnant women have been killed in this way and their babies taken from them. No one can imagine what sort of person would want to commit such horrible crimes.

When psychologist Marina Esposito is brought in, Phil has to put aside his feelings about their shared past and get on with the job. But can they find the killer before another woman is targeted?

Review:

"In Carver's impressive debut, an intense British police procedural, Colchester Det. Insp. Philip Brennan and his team investigate the gruesome murders of pregnant women whose unborn children are cut from their bodies. In one instance, the baby may still be alive. When psychologist Marina Esposito, who once had an affair with Phil, contributes her profiling expertise, Marina and Phil have to be careful not to compromise the investigation as they did the last time they worked together. Though they try to maintain a professional distance, Marina and Phil, who was abused as a child but later found a loving foster family, are still drawn to each other. Meanwhile, Marina has found out she's pregnant; indeed, one of the victims was in her pregnancy yoga class. Tension increases as the killer's sordid secrets unfold. Carver never crosses the line into gratuitous violence, while myriad clues and surprising twists keep the reader off-kilter. Fans of Mo Hayder, Chelsea Cain, and Karin Slaughter will find much to like. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

A cracking read that promises to keep you up all night.With a plot that snares from the start, Carver’s debut novel sets the crime thriller bar high.A detective is shocked by the murder of a pregnant woman whose unborn child was cut out of the womb before she died. A fantastic debut.

Synopsis:

The arresting debut thriller, featuring a very different kind of serial killer, by international bestselling author Tania Carver.

About the Author

Tania Carver lives in the south of England with her husband and two children. She is the author of The Surrogate, The Creeper, and Cage of Bones, all available from Pegasus Books.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781605982564
Publisher:
Pegasus Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Author:
Carver, Tania
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Series:
Pegasus Crime
Publication Date:
20110931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

The Surrogate (Pegasus Crime)
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 448 pages Pegasus Books - English 9781605982564 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In Carver's impressive debut, an intense British police procedural, Colchester Det. Insp. Philip Brennan and his team investigate the gruesome murders of pregnant women whose unborn children are cut from their bodies. In one instance, the baby may still be alive. When psychologist Marina Esposito, who once had an affair with Phil, contributes her profiling expertise, Marina and Phil have to be careful not to compromise the investigation as they did the last time they worked together. Though they try to maintain a professional distance, Marina and Phil, who was abused as a child but later found a loving foster family, are still drawn to each other. Meanwhile, Marina has found out she's pregnant; indeed, one of the victims was in her pregnancy yoga class. Tension increases as the killer's sordid secrets unfold. Carver never crosses the line into gratuitous violence, while myriad clues and surprising twists keep the reader off-kilter. Fans of Mo Hayder, Chelsea Cain, and Karin Slaughter will find much to like. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , A cracking read that promises to keep you up all night.With a plot that snares from the start, Carver’s debut novel sets the crime thriller bar high.A detective is shocked by the murder of a pregnant woman whose unborn child was cut out of the womb before she died. A fantastic debut.
"Synopsis" by , The arresting debut thriller, featuring a very different kind of serial killer, by international bestselling author Tania Carver.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.