The Fictioning
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 18, 2014

    Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



    On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
9 Remote Warehouse Romance- Suspense

Cry Mercy: A Mercy Street Novel

by

Cry Mercy: A Mercy Street Novel Cover

 

 

Excerpt

Chapter One

Robert Magellan stood on the front steps of his Tudor-style mansion and looked over the crowd gathered on the paved circular drive that was wide enough to accommodate three vehicles.

“I want to be able to park three cars across,” hed told the contractor, and thats exactly what he got.

Today there were people, not cars, lining the driveway.

“Are you sure this is a good idea?” Roberts personal assistant and right hand, Susanna Jones, asked from just inside the front door.

“Its a great idea,” he assured her.

“Youve always avoided the press,” she reminded him.

“Yes, but this time I have something important to say.”

“There were those who thought you might have had something important to say when you sold your stock in Magellan Express a few years back,” she said dryly.

“My ex-partner talked enough for both of us,” he recalled. “There wasnt much for me to add.”

And of course, hed had little enough to say to the media when his wife and son went missing two years earlier. At the request of the police, hed made the televised pleas for anyone with any knowledge of their whereabouts to call the numbers that flashed on the screen, but beyond that, hed been silent. His reluctance to speak on camera about his family had led some to speculate that perhaps hed had a hand in their disappearance, but no one who knew him took that seriously. Robert had always worn his heart on his sleeve, and even now, speaking publicly about Beth and Ian was acutely painful, something hed rather not do.

“Mr. Magellan, if youre ready . . .” The young assistant to the head of the public relations firm Robert had hired to organize his press conference placed the microphone on the podium that had been brought in that morning.

“Lets do it.” Robert smiled and stepped up to the mike.

“Ladies and gentlemen, thanks for coming today on such short notice.”

As if anyone from the local newspapers or television stations would have missed the first press conference Robert Magellan had ever called. His gated property had hummed with a buzzing undercurrent for the past hour.

“What do you suppose hes up to? Think hes going to announce that hes starting up another business?” The whispers floated on a light late spring breeze.

“What do you think it is this time? Energy? Or do you think hes sticking with technology?”

“Whatever it is, Im calling my broker and telling him to buy me some of whatever it is hes selling. Everything hes ever touched turned to gold.”

“Well, except for that business with his wife and kid . . .”

“Yeah, that was tough. Still havent found either of them.”

“You think maybe thats what hes—”

“Shhhh. I want to hear what hes saying.”

“Recently, my cousin, Father Kevin Burch of Our Lady of Angels parish here in Conroy, reminded me of an oath we made to each other when we were kids.” Robert made eye contact with Trula Comfort, who, as his late grandmothers best friend, had been invited to come along for the ride when he made his fortune. Trula winked, knowing, he suspected, how he planned to introduce his latest venture.

“?‘When I grow up, Im going to make a lot of money, we promised ourselves and each other, ‘and Im going to use it to help people who cant help themselves. Well, I grew up and did, in fact, make a lot of money, and Kevin has devoted his life to helping others. But until now, I havent done a whole lot of good for too many people outside of my immediate circle.”

Robert paused momentarily. “Father Kevin recently reminded me of that, too.”

When the light laughter died down, Robert said, “As Im sure you all know, two years ago, my wife, Beth, and our son, Ian, disappeared without a trace. Because I have unlimited resources, I was able to hire private investigators to search for them when the police came up dry. The fact that our local, state, and federal law enforcement agencies were unsuccessful doesnt negate the diligence of their work, but the reality is that, eventually, as every lead turned into a dead end, they had to turn their attention to other cases.

“Not too long ago, Father Kevin enlisted my assistance in finding two Conroy teenagers whod also gone missing. I know that some of you covered the story of the successful return of these kids to their families. And once again, Father Kevin took the opportunity to remind me of that oath wed made long ago.”

Robert cleared his throat before continuing. “There are countless people whose loved ones have disappeared. There are thousands of parents who go to bed each night wondering where their missing children are, whether theyre dead or alive. Over time, their cases go cold, the police are pulled in other directions, and the investigations often cease, leaving the families praying for a miracle. Well, Im here today to announce the formation of what I like to think of as a catalyst for miracles, the Mercy Street Foundation. Funded by me, the foundation will employ the best talent available from all avenues of law enforcement, and put them to work to try to solve those unsolvable cases. Missing persons and homicides will be our focus.”

A reporter in the back row raised his hand, and without waiting for acknowledgment from Robert asked, “Are you talking about a private police force?”

“More like a private investigative firm,” Robert told him.

“When you say this is funded by you, what exactly does that mean?”

“It means that I will be paying the investigators, whatever staff I have to hire, whatever expenses we incur to get the job done.”

“How is this going to work?” someone asked.

“Suppose you have a sister whos been missing for a couple of months—maybe even a couple of years—and the police are no longer actively looking for her. The trail is cold. Youd go to our website and youd fill out a form. Weve streamlined the process as much as possible. Answer all the questions about the case, tell us why we should choose your case to work on. Youd apply pretty much the way you would for a scholarship. You fill out the paperwork, then you wait for a response,” Robert said. “To start, well choose one case each month to work on. Itll be up to the applicant to convince us to choose his or her request. Each one will be evaluated. The one we feel were most able to help is the one well choose that month.”

“Whos ‘we?” someone asked.

“Right now, the evaluation committee consists of my assistant, Susanna Jones; Mallory Russo, a former Conroy detective who was the first person I hired; and myself.” He nodded in the direction of an attractive blond woman who stood close to the podium. “Mallory will be pretty much calling the shots on how the investigations will proceed, and since she has nine years of experience in law enforcement, her opinion will carry the most weight. Shell also be the bottom line on new hires. Thats our committee.”

“A-hem.” Someone coughed nearby.

“Oh. Right. And Father Kevin Burch,” Robert grinned. “He doesnt have any law enforcement experience, but hell be trying to channel some divine guidance.”

On the sidelines, Kevin laughed.

“Youre saying youll work on one case each month. Is that how long youre giving yourselves to solve a case? One month?” one of the local TV anchors asked.

“We will work each case until its solved or until we or the applicant feels the investigation has run its course and is no longer productive.” Robert stacked the index cards containing his few notes on the podium. “Look, I of all people know that there are some cases that will never be solved. Some missing persons will never be found, some killers will never be brought to justice. But well do our best on every case. For some victims, there will be justice. For some families, there will be closure.”

“How much staff do you anticipate?”

“Well grow as we need to. Right now, we have only one investigator, but shes going to have her hands full evaluating the submissions. Were going to have to hire at least one more immediately just to take on the first case.” He looked directly into the camera and added, “Were looking for law enforcement personnel with experience in all avenues. Crime-scene investigators, crime-scene analysts and reconstruction experts, criminologists, profilers—well need them all, sooner or later. Im also hoping to set up our own lab within the next year so that we can analyze evidence on our own without being a burden to the state and county labs. So if youre tops in your field and youre looking for a real challenge, go to our website and fill out an application.”

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345506139
Author:
Stewart, Mariah
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Romance - Suspense
Subject:
Suspense fiction
Subject:
Women private investigators
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
Mercy Street Novels
Publication Date:
20090431
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
6.91x4.19x1.15 in. .46 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. At Last Comes Love Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Suspense

Cry Mercy: A Mercy Street Novel Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345506139 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In this follow-up to "Mercy Street," brilliant crime-scene investigator Emme Caldwell takes the lead in Mercy Street Foundation's first case: the disappearance of a 19-year-old co-ed, which is somehow connected with a fertility clinic and a mysterious donor. Original.
"Synopsis" by , From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a novel of sexy romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.

After Ann Nolan, a California beat cop, adopts the daughter of a notorious drug dealer, the ruthless father vows to take back his only child. In response, Ann flees across the country, changes her name, and starts a new life as an investigator for the Mercy Street Foundation, the billionaire-endowed organization dedicated to finding missing persons. As Emme Caldwell, she takes the lead on the Foundation's first case: Nineteen-year-old Belinda Hudson disappeared from her sorority house leaving behind only one cryptic clue. Retracing the vanished student's steps leads Emme to Heaven's Gate, a fertility clinic, and the mysterious Donor 1735.

Belinda's legal guardian, Nick Perone, is determined to shadow Emme's every move as she searches for his niece. But the closer Emme gets to Donor 1735 and the chilling truth, the more apparent it becomes that she's escaped one dangerous man only to run head-on into another-one who's far more determined and every bit as deadly.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.