Brain Candy Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    The Powell's Playlist | September 25, 2015

    Caitlin Doughty: IMG Caitlin Doughty's Playlist for Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

    The soundtrack perfectly suited to facing your own mortality. ("My Way," "Wind beneath My Wings," and other popular funeral songs need not apply.)... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

Qualifying orders ship free.
List price: $6.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Kit's Wilderness


Kit's Wilderness Cover



Reading Group Guide

The questions that follow are intended to guide readers as they begin to analyze the larger emotional, sociological, and literary elements of this extraordinary novel.

1. When Kit and his friends play the game they call “Death,” they claim they can see the ghosts of children killed in the mine. Are the ghosts that Kit and his friends see real?

2. What do you think makes John Askew, Kit, and Kit’s grandfather able to see ghosts?

3. David Almond calls this book Kit's Wilderness. Why? What is Kit’s “wilderness”?

4. While studying the Ice Age in school, Kit and his classmates are asked to write a story about a young caveman called Lak. How is Kit's own life similar to the story he writes about Lak? How is it different?

5. What is “the pit”? What do you think it represents?

6. The author sets the story in winter. How do the physical landscape and season reflect the characters'’ emotional landscapes and states of mind?

7. Despite his fading memory, Kit’s grandfather is always able to recognize Allie. Why? What might she represent for him? What might she represent in the story?

8. When Kit’s grandfather gives him treasures from the mine–fossils from the ancient past–Kit slips the ammonite into his pocket and tells himself, “I’d keep it with me always now. A treasure from my grandfather. A gift from the deep, dark past.” What other “gifts” does his grandfather bestow upon Kit?

9. John Askew is perceived as a no-good troublemaker by the townspeople. Is he really as bad as everyone thinks he is? In what ways is he darker? In what ways is he lighter?

10. What is the role of storytelling in Kit's Wilderness? How is storytelling used throughout the novel? In what ways?

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

sharris60, February 28, 2009 (view all comments by sharris60)
Kits Wilderness was an exceptionally good book but not a book i would recomend to someone. The author used to much detail, wich pretty much ruined the book. At points in the book I was begining to wander why it won an award.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

Almond, David
Laurel Leaf Library
ra Fowley-Doyle
Fowley-Doyle, Mo
New York
Social Situations - Friendship
Ghost stories
Old age
Coal mines and mining
Children's 12-Up - Family
Social Issues - Friendship
Situations / Friendship
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Family - Stepfamilies
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
from 7
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:

Other books you might like

  1. A Year Down Yonder
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.95
  2. Acceleration
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Boxes Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Holes
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  5. Hope Was Here Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  6. American Born Chinese
    Used Trade Paper $6.00

Related Subjects

Children's » Awards » Michael L. Printz Award Winners
Children's » Historical Fiction
Children's » Scary Stories » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Kit's Wilderness Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Laurel-Leaf Books - English 9780440416050 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A thrilling and spine-tingling ride."
"Review" by , "A heartbreakingly real world fused with magical realism....[The book's] ruminations about death and the healing power of love will strike children in unsuspected ways."
"Review" by , "A whirl of ghosts and dreams, stories-within-stories, joy, heartache, and redemption."
"Review" by , "Kit's Wilderness establishes Almond as the most exciting new voice in children's books of this decade"
"Synopsis" by , "It was very deep, Kit. Very dark. And every one of us was scared of it. As a lad I'd wake up trembling, knowing that as a Watson born in Stoneygate I'd soon be following my ancestors into the pit".

The Watson family moves to Stoneygate, an old coal-mining town, to care for Kit's recently widowed grandfather. When Kit meets John Askew, another boy whose family has both worked and died in the mines, Askew invites Kit to join him in a game called Death. As Kit's grandfather tells him stories of the mine's past and the history of the Watson family, Askew takes Kit into the mines, where the boys look for the childhood ghosts of their long-gone ancestors.

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of We Were Liars and How I Live Now comes an addictive, sexy, twisty YA novel you won't want to miss

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it's bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season--when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17--is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think.

Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season--whether shes ready or not.

"Synopsis" by , The Watson family moves to Stoneygate, an old coal-mining town, to care for Kit’s recently widowed grandfather. When Kit meets John Askew, another boy whose family had both worked and died in the mines, Askew invites Kit to join him in playing a game called Death. Kit’s association with Askew takes him into the mines where the boys look to find the childhood ghosts of their long-gone ancestors.
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at