Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $6.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Kit's Wilderness

by

Kit's Wilderness Cover

ISBN13: 9780440416050
ISBN10: 0440416051
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $3.95!

 

 

Author's Note

"I grew up in a big extended Catholic family [in the north of England]. I listened to the stories and songs at family parties. I listened to the gossip that filled Dragone?s coffee shop. I ran with my friends through the open spaces and the narrow lanes. We scared each other with ghost stories told in fragile tents on dark nights. We promised never-ending friendship and whispered of the amazing journeys we?d take together.

"I sat with my grandfather in his allotment, held tiny Easter chicks in my hands while he smoked his pipe and the factory sirens wailed and larks yelled high above. I trembled at the images presented to us in church, at the awful threats and glorious promises made by black-clad priests with Irish voices. I scribbled stories and stitched them into little books. I disliked school and loved the library, a little square building in which I dreamed that books with my name on them would stand one day on the shelves.

"Skellig, my first children?s novel, came out of the blue, as if it had been waiting a long time to be told. It seemed to write itself. It took six months, was rapidly taken by Hodder Children?s Books and has changed my life. By the time Skellig came out, I?d written my next children?s novel, Kit?s Wilderness. These books are suffused with the landscape and spirit of my own childhood. By looking back into the past, by re-imagining it and blending it with what I see around me now, I found a way to move forward and to become something that I am intensely happy to be: a writer for children."

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

sharris60, February 28, 2009 (view all comments by sharris60)
Kits Wilderness was an exceptionally good book but not a book i would recomend to someone. The author used to much detail, wich pretty much ruined the book. At points in the book I was begining to wander why it won an award.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780440416050
Author:
Almond, David
Publisher:
Laurel Leaf Library
Author:
iuml
Author:
Mo
Author:
Ra
Author:
ra Fowley-Doyle
Author:
Fowley-Doyle, Mo
Author:
&
Location:
New York
Subject:
Social Situations - Friendship
Subject:
England
Subject:
Ghost stories
Subject:
Grandfathers
Subject:
Old age
Subject:
Coal mines and mining
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Family
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Ghosts
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Family - Stepfamilies
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
01-03-009
Publication Date:
20010931
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
13-17

Other books you might like

  1. A Year Down Yonder
    Used Book Club Hardcover $2.50
  2. Acceleration
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  3. Boxes Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Holes Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  5. Hope Was Here Used Hardcover $3.95
  6. American Born Chinese
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Awards » Michael L. Printz Award Winners
Children's » Historical Fiction
Children's » Scary Stories » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Kit's Wilderness Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Laurel-Leaf Books - English 9780440416050 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A thrilling and spine-tingling ride."
"Review" by , "A heartbreakingly real world fused with magical realism....[The book's] ruminations about death and the healing power of love will strike children in unsuspected ways."
"Review" by , "A whirl of ghosts and dreams, stories-within-stories, joy, heartache, and redemption."
"Review" by , "Kit's Wilderness establishes Almond as the most exciting new voice in children's books of this decade"
"Synopsis" by , "It was very deep, Kit. Very dark. And every one of us was scared of it. As a lad I'd wake up trembling, knowing that as a Watson born in Stoneygate I'd soon be following my ancestors into the pit".

The Watson family moves to Stoneygate, an old coal-mining town, to care for Kit's recently widowed grandfather. When Kit meets John Askew, another boy whose family has both worked and died in the mines, Askew invites Kit to join him in a game called Death. As Kit's grandfather tells him stories of the mine's past and the history of the Watson family, Askew takes Kit into the mines, where the boys look for the childhood ghosts of their long-gone ancestors.

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of We Were Liars and How I Live Now comes an addictive, sexy, twisty YA novel you won't want to miss

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it's bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season--when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17--is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think.

Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season--whether shes ready or not.

"Synopsis" by , The Watson family moves to Stoneygate, an old coal-mining town, to care for Kit’s recently widowed grandfather. When Kit meets John Askew, another boy whose family had both worked and died in the mines, Askew invites Kit to join him in playing a game called Death. Kit’s association with Askew takes him into the mines where the boys look to find the childhood ghosts of their long-gone ancestors.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.