The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer

On Order

$29.99
New MP3 CD
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Biography- General

Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard

by

Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.

When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.

Synopsis:

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who, despite living on the streets at age fifteen, made it into Harvard.

About the Author

Liz Murray completed high school and won a New York Times scholarship while homeless, and graduated from Harvard University in 2009. She has been awarded the White House Project Role Model Award and a Christopher Award. Lifetime Television produced a film about Liz's life, Homeless to Harvard: The Liz Murray Story. Today, she travels the world to deliver motivational speeches and workshops. She is the founder and director of Manifest Trainings, a New York-based company that empowers adults to create the results they want in their own lives, and works with the nonprofit organization Blessings in a Backpack, which supplies food for over 38,000 undernourished children each year. Liz lives in New York City. Liz Murray completed high school and won a New York Times scholarship while homeless, and graduated from Harvard University in 2009. She has been awarded the White House Project Role Model Award and a Christopher Award. Lifetime Television produced a film about Liz's life, Homeless to Harvard: The Liz Murray Story. Today, she travels the world to deliver motivational speeches and workshops. She is the founder and director of Manifest Trainings, a New York-based company that empowers adults to create the results they want in their own lives, and works with the nonprofit organization Blessings in a Backpack, which supplies food for over 38,000 undernourished children each year. Liz lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781452652894
Subtitle:
A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard
Author:
Murray, Liz
Publisher:
Tantor
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
General Biography
Subject:
Biography - General
Edition Description:
Unabridged,MP3 - Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20110615
Binding:
MP3 CD
Language:
English
Dimensions:
7.4 x 5.3 x 0.6 in 0.2 lb

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Women

Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard New Mp3 Cd
0 stars - 0 reviews
$29.99 Backorder
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781452652894 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who, despite living on the streets at age fifteen, made it into Harvard.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.