The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
4 Remote Warehouse Religion Eastern- Yoga
12 Remote Warehouse Metaphysics- General

Fierce Medicine: Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit

by

Fierce Medicine: Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit Cover

ISBN13: 9780061864254
ISBN10: 0061864250
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

As the creator of Forrest Yoga ,Ana T. Forrest has been transforming peopleslives throughout the world for more thanthirty-five years. Her unique blend of physicalpractice, Eastern wisdom, and profoundNative American ceremony takes her teachingsliterally off the mat and into daily life—toheal everything from addictive behaviors andeating disorders to chronic pain and injury. InFierce Medicine, Forrest tells her own story ofhealing from the scars of abuse and physicalhandicaps, and reveals the proven practices thatenabled her to move beyond her past into a lifecommitted to helping others reconnect withtheir bodies, cultivate balance, and start living inharmony with their Spirits.

In her unique, powerful, and inviting voice,Ana Forrest reveals how to:

  • Learn to stalk fear and break free from it instead of running from it.

  • Be attentive to your body, discovering its own inherent healing properties.

  • Speak and act from a place of honesty and compassion.

  • Cultivate an open heart that is feeling, responsive, and reflexive and able to embrace change.

  • Harness your intuition and the courage to live in alignment with your Spirit.

Whether youve never done yoga or are a seasonedpractitioner, Ana Forrests practices, stories,and exercises will help you uncover yourown warriors heart. With this wise woman as yourtrusted guide, you, too, can become centered,strong, and more alive than ever before.

Synopsis:

In Fierce Medicine, Ana Forrest, charismatic teacher and founder of Forrest Yoga, combines physical practice, eastern wisdom, and profound Native American ceremony to help heal everything from addictive behaviors and eating disorders to chronic pain and injury.

Fierce Medicine is also part memoir, detailing Ana Forrest's journey to move beyond her past as she helps others to do the same. Filled with helpful yoga exercises, Fierce Medicine teaches us to reconnect with our bodies, cultivate balance, and start living in harmony with our Spirits.

Synopsis:

“One of the most compelling, inspiring, and eloquent stories you will ever read. I absolutely could not put it down and Im thrilled for all the other readers who will be captivated by Anas storytelling and wisdom.”
—Martha Beck, bestselling author of Finding Your Own North Star
 
Charismatic yoga master, respected teacher, and acclaimed healer Ana Forrest shares her inspiring life story for the first time in Fierce Medicine. Along the way, she reveals methods that anyone can use to overcome the emotional stresses and spiritual burdens that stand in the way of health and happiness. For readers of Yoga Journal and fans of Cameron Alborzians The Guru in You or Judith Orlaffs Emotional Freedom, Forrests moving, personal story and her profound lessons in physical, emotional, and mental healing will be a fierce—and very welcome—medicine.

About the Author

Ana T. Forrest is an internationally recognized pioneer in yoga and emotional healing. The creator of Forrest Yoga—a unique fusion of traditional yoga, new poses and sequences created by the author, Eastern wisdom, and Native American medicine—she is a contributing expert to Yoga Journal and other leading Asian and European wellness publications. Forrest teaches worldwide at yoga conferences, workshops, retreats, and teacher trainings. She lives on Orcas Island, Washington.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Janine Melzer, September 17, 2012 (view all comments by Janine Melzer)
Drawing from a life of living on the edge with alcohol, drugs, abuse, and a long list of physical ailments and injuries, Ana Forrest relates how she discovered yoga as a teenager and used this ancient art to change her path from one of destruction to one where she walks in beauty and harmony. Ana's writing is simultaneously from the heart and practical, offering guidance to the reader even without being in a yoga class. You will not want to put this book down, and you will find yourself feeling more alive and connected to your own spirit.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061864254
Subtitle:
Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit
Author:
Forrest, Ana T.
Publisher:
HarperOne
Subject:
Spirituality - General
Subject:
Religion Western-Mysticism
Subject:
Religion Eastern-Yoga
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20120710
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.68 in 8.03 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Colette Sewing Handbook:...
    Used Hardcover $21.00
  2. Sew U: Home Stretch: The Built by... Used Spiral/comb $17.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Natural Medicine
Metaphysics » Healing
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Eastern Religions » Yoga
Religion » Western Religions » Mysticism

Fierce Medicine: Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.99 In Stock
Product details 272 pages HarperOne - English 9780061864254 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In Fierce Medicine, Ana Forrest, charismatic teacher and founder of Forrest Yoga, combines physical practice, eastern wisdom, and profound Native American ceremony to help heal everything from addictive behaviors and eating disorders to chronic pain and injury.

Fierce Medicine is also part memoir, detailing Ana Forrest's journey to move beyond her past as she helps others to do the same. Filled with helpful yoga exercises, Fierce Medicine teaches us to reconnect with our bodies, cultivate balance, and start living in harmony with our Spirits.

"Synopsis" by , “One of the most compelling, inspiring, and eloquent stories you will ever read. I absolutely could not put it down and Im thrilled for all the other readers who will be captivated by Anas storytelling and wisdom.”
—Martha Beck, bestselling author of Finding Your Own North Star
 
Charismatic yoga master, respected teacher, and acclaimed healer Ana Forrest shares her inspiring life story for the first time in Fierce Medicine. Along the way, she reveals methods that anyone can use to overcome the emotional stresses and spiritual burdens that stand in the way of health and happiness. For readers of Yoga Journal and fans of Cameron Alborzians The Guru in You or Judith Orlaffs Emotional Freedom, Forrests moving, personal story and her profound lessons in physical, emotional, and mental healing will be a fierce—and very welcome—medicine.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.