Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Psychology- General
25 Remote Warehouse Business- Strategy

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness

by

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness Cover

 

 

Excerpt

Common "Nudges"

  1. The design of menus gets you to eat (and spend) more. For example, lining up all prices on either side of the menu leads many consumers to simply pick the cheapest item. On the other hand, discretely listing prices at the end of food descriptions lets people read about the appetizing options first…; and then see prices.
  2. "Flies" in urinals improve, well, aim. When Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport was faced with the not uncommon issue of dirty urinals, they chose a unique solution: by painting "flies" in the (center of) commodes, men obligingly aimed at the insects, reducing spillage by 80 percent.
  3. Credit card minimum payments affect repayment schedules. Among those who only partially pay off credit card balances each month, the repayment level is correlated with the card's minimum payment — in other words, the lower the minimum payment, the longer it takes a consumer to pay off the card balance.
  4. Automatic savings programs increase savings rate. All over the country, companies are adopting the Save More Tomorrow program: firms offer employees who are not saving very much the option of joining a program in which their saving rates are automatically increased whenever they get a raise. This plan has more than tripled saving rates in some firms, and is now offered by thousands of employers.
  5. "Defaults" can improve rates of organ donation. In the United States, about one-third of citizens have signed organ donor cards. Compare this to Austria, where 99 percent of people are potential organ donors. One obvious difference? Americans must explicitly consent to become organ donors (by signing forms, for example) while Austrians must opt out if they do not want to be organ donors.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Elena Adamo, May 25, 2013 (view all comments by Elena Adamo)
Fascinating from the first few pages! This book sucks you in with offbeat examples that had me striking up conversations with everyone I came into contact with. It was practical too! Many of us have responsibilities in our work and home lives that require us to assist others in making decisions. This book lays out some of the ways that we do that so that we can be more conscientious and effective at it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
curmudgeon, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by curmudgeon)
Good book. Keeps you talking back to it, arguing, agreeing, thinking about how you'd present its ideas to others.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143115267
Subtitle:
Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
Author:
Thaler, Richard H.
Author:
Sunstein, Cass R.
Author:
McArdle, Megan
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Decision Making & Problem Solving
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Consumer behavior
Subject:
Economics -- Psychological aspects.
Subject:
Making & Problem Solving
Subject:
Psychology : General
Subject:
Leadership
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090224
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w illustrations throughout
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
18-17

Other books you might like

  1. Sway: The Irresistible Pull of... Used Hardcover $10.95
  2. Buying In: The Secret Dialogue...
    Used Trade Paper $13.00
  3. Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do... Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Predictably Irrational: The Hidden...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Animal Spirits: How Human Psychology...
    Used Hardcover $4.50
  6. Snoop: What Your Stuff Says about...
    Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects


Business » Strategy
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

Nudge: Improving Decisions about Health, Wealth, and Happiness Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143115267 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Citing decades of cutting-edge behavioral science research, the authors demonstrate that sensible choice architecture can successfully nudge people towards the best decisions without restricting their freedom.
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Malcolm Gladwellandrsquo;s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemanandrsquo;s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

A New York Times bestseller
An Economist Best Book of the Year
A Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choicesandmdash;how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we makeandmdash;ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resourcesandmdash;and show us how sensible andldquo;choice architectureandrdquo; can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertainingandmdash;a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Malcolm Gladwells Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemans Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions

 

More than 750,000 copies sold

 

New York Times bestseller

An Economist Best Book of the Year

Financial Times Best Book of the Year

Nudge is about choices—how we make them and how we can make better ones. Drawing on decades of research in the fields of behavioral science and economics, authors Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein offer a new perspective on preventing the countless mistakes we make—ill-advised personal investments, consumption of unhealthy foods, neglect of our natural resources—and show us how sensible “choice architecture” can successfully nudge people toward the best decisions. In the tradition of The Tipping Point and Freakonomics, Nudge is straightforward, informative, and entertaining—a must-read for anyone interested in our individual and collective well-being.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.