Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    New Favorites | November 25, 2014

    Powell's Staff: IMG Our Favorite New Favorites of 2014



    Every week, we gather together a small pile of newly released titles that we agree should be on everyone's radar. We deem these titles our New... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

Rose Daughter

by

Rose Daughter Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The New York Times bestselling author of Sunshine presents a ?beautiful retelling of Beauty and the Beast?

Once upon a time an enchanting young woman named Beauty nurtured a rose garden in barren soil. Her gift for cultivating such rare flowers was truly magical and her roses adorned homes throughout the village, bringing joy and love to all who chanced upon their exotic scent.

But one summer, Beauty?s roses did not blossom. Without their presence her family and neighbors became ill-tempered and nature itself lost the light and warmth of the season. Even more heartbreaking, the roses no longer protect Beauty from her nightmares of a monstrous Beast?a Beast it is her destiny to meet and whose heart and soul she must nurture with love?

Synopsis:

After enchanting readers with the power of her novel Beauty, Robin McKinley returns to the story of Beauty and the Beast with Rose Daughter-a compelling, richly imagined, and haunting exploration of the transformative power of love.

Beauty is one of three sisters. Their father was once the wealthiest merchant in the richest city in the country. But his ruin has brought them to a village far, far away-and to a tiny house called Rose Cottage. It is here that Beauty takes simple pleasure in the tending of her garden and the company of her family, until her father is saved during a treacherous journey by a Beast-a Beast who asks for only one thing in compensation: Beauty.

Synopsis:

McKinley ("Beauty") returns to the story of "Beauty and the Beast" with a fresh, perspective, ingenuity, and mature insight, and presents her finest and most deeply felt work--a compelling, richly imagined, and haunting exploration of the transformative power of love.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Beauty and Rose Daughter, Newbery Award-winning author Robin McKinley lends a fresh perspective to a classic fairy tale, developing the story of Sleeping Beauty into a richly imagined, vividly depicted novel (School Library Journal).

About the Author

Robin McKinley has won various awards and citations for her writing, including a Newbery Honor for The Blue Sword. She lives with her husband, the English writer Peter Dickinson.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780441013999
Author:
Mckinley, Robin
Publisher:
Ace Books
Author:
McKinley, Robin
Subject:
Folklore
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Subject:
Fairy tales
Subject:
Folklore -- France.
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20080731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.21x5.57x.85 in. .70 lbs.
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. The Outlaws of Sherwood Used Mass Market $3.95
  2. Hero & the Crown Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. Spindle's End
    Used Book Club Hardcover $2.50
  4. Feed
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. Enchanted Forest Chronicles #01:...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Counting Our Way to the 100th Day! New Hardcover $17.99

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » General

Rose Daughter Sale Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.00 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Ace Books - English 9780441013999 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , After enchanting readers with the power of her novel Beauty, Robin McKinley returns to the story of Beauty and the Beast with Rose Daughter-a compelling, richly imagined, and haunting exploration of the transformative power of love.

Beauty is one of three sisters. Their father was once the wealthiest merchant in the richest city in the country. But his ruin has brought them to a village far, far away-and to a tiny house called Rose Cottage. It is here that Beauty takes simple pleasure in the tending of her garden and the company of her family, until her father is saved during a treacherous journey by a Beast-a Beast who asks for only one thing in compensation: Beauty.

"Synopsis" by , McKinley ("Beauty") returns to the story of "Beauty and the Beast" with a fresh, perspective, ingenuity, and mature insight, and presents her finest and most deeply felt work--a compelling, richly imagined, and haunting exploration of the transformative power of love.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Beauty and Rose Daughter, Newbery Award-winning author Robin McKinley lends a fresh perspective to a classic fairy tale, developing the story of Sleeping Beauty into a richly imagined, vividly depicted novel (School Library Journal).
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.