Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 23, 2014

    Kathryn Harrison: IMG On Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured



    I'm always sorry to finish a book, to let go of characters I love, people I've struggled to understand for years, people who evolve before me.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Burnside Literature- Featured Titles
3 Burnside Literature- A to Z
2 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
12 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
5 Remote Warehouse Literature- Family Life

Shout Her Lovely Name

by

Shout Her Lovely Name Cover

 

Awards

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Mothers and daughters ride the familial tide of joy, regret, loathing, and love in these stories of resilient and flawed women. In a battle between a teenage daughter and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband's fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter Nora through their tumultuous life — stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs — in 1970s California.

Gimlet-eyed and emotionally generous, achingly real and beautifully written, these unforgettable stories lay bare the connection and conflict in families. Shout Her Lovely Name heralds the arrival of a powerful new writer.

Review:

"Achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again." O, the Oprah Magazine

Review:

"Serber's writing sparkles." San Francisco Chronicle

Review:

"The characters are irresistible....Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time." Wall Street Journal

Review:

"Elegant....A terrific introduction to Serber's gifts, and hopefully a preview of good things to come." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Serber's stellar first collection packs an emotional wallop right from the start...sharp, somber, and sparkling commentary....As provocative as it is poignant, Serber's searingly honest depiction of the complex, contentious, and confusing bonds at the heart of all families heralds an exceptional new talent." Booklist (starred)

Review:

"An impressive debut, with insightful, sometimes painful truths about the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters." Library Journal

Review:

"As its title implies, Natalie Serber's collection Shout Her Lovely Name is a triumphant battle cry of hard-won victory over the stalemate and injuries between mothers and daughters. She leaves the reader amazed at the tenacity, tenderness, and truth of her characters." Siobhan Fallon, author of You Know When the Men are Gone

Review:

"Shout Her Lovely Name joins the ranks of the finest books ever to address relations between daughters and their mothers...equal parts love and sandpaper. I ached for these characters and cried at their hard-earned moments of joy. A book to make you marvel that someone really does understand, to make you grateful that she wrote it all down so fiercely, so tenderly." Robin Black, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This

Review:

"Coming of age is a painful and beautiful experience in Natalie Serber's hands. These are funny and poignant pieces, building a book that feels novelistic in sweep, yet true to the precision and direct aim of the short story. A real pleasure." Antonya Nelson

Review:

"In the complexities of family triumphs and catastrophes, Natalie Serber is always achingly specific. Between mothers and daughters, women and their lovers, she misses nothing, and in all her scenes, the reader feels the true breath of life." Charles Baxter

Review:

"In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." Dan Chaon, author of Await Your Reply and Stay Awake

Review:

"Nuanced and smart...Serber knows that neglect or disconnect doesn't always turn into trauma or damage. Life isn't algebra. Which events lead to pain, and which to growth and awareness, remains unpredictable. The one reliable truth is that mistakes illuminate the most, albeit with fractured light." The New York Times Book Review

Synopsis:

A collection of stories about the complicated and powerful ties between mothers and daughters.

Synopsis:

In this acclaimed collection written with “exquisite patience and sensitivity” (Wall Street Journal) mothers — from reluctant to exultant — ride a familiar tide of joy, pride, regret, guilt, and love in these stories of flawed, resilient women. Wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons in a battle between a teenage daughter and her mother. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husbands fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of vodka, rogue teenagers, and an unexpected tattoo has a woman questioning her place in her children's lives. And we follow through two decades the family created when capricious, magnetic Ruby, an ambitious college student, becomes a single mother to cautious daughter Nora in 1970s California. Shout Her Lovely Name is a “funny, bittersweet” (Vanity Fair) book, that announces the arrival of a powerful new writer.

About the Author

Natalie Serber received an MFA from Warren Wilson College. Her work has appeared in The Bellingham Review and Gulf Coast, among others, and her awards include the Tobias Wolff Award. She teaches writing at various universities and lives with her family in Portland, Oregon. Shout Her Lovely Name is her debut book.

Table of Contents

Shout Her Lovely Name 1

Ruby Jewel 21

Alone as She Felt All Day 39

Free to a Good Home 57

This Is So Not Me 73

Manx 85

Take Your Daughter to Work 107

A Whole Weekend of My Life 129

Plum Tree 149

Rate My Life 165

Developmental Blah Blah 187

Acknowledgments 225

Product Details

ISBN:
9780544002210
Author:
Serber, Natalie
Publisher:
Mariner Books
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Await Your Reply
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. The World without You (Vintage... Used Trade Paper $10.50
  3. The Forgiven Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. Triburbia Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. The News from Spain: Seven... Used Trade Paper $10.50
  6. We're Flying Sale Trade Paper $7.98

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » Literature Folklore and Memoirs

Shout Her Lovely Name Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Mariner Books - English 9780544002210 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again."
"Review" by , "Serber's writing sparkles."
"Review" by , "The characters are irresistible....Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time."
"Review" by , "Elegant....A terrific introduction to Serber's gifts, and hopefully a preview of good things to come."
"Review" by , "Serber's stellar first collection packs an emotional wallop right from the start...sharp, somber, and sparkling commentary....As provocative as it is poignant, Serber's searingly honest depiction of the complex, contentious, and confusing bonds at the heart of all families heralds an exceptional new talent."
"Review" by , "An impressive debut, with insightful, sometimes painful truths about the complicated relationships between mothers and daughters."
"Review" by , "As its title implies, Natalie Serber's collection Shout Her Lovely Name is a triumphant battle cry of hard-won victory over the stalemate and injuries between mothers and daughters. She leaves the reader amazed at the tenacity, tenderness, and truth of her characters."
"Review" by , "Shout Her Lovely Name joins the ranks of the finest books ever to address relations between daughters and their mothers...equal parts love and sandpaper. I ached for these characters and cried at their hard-earned moments of joy. A book to make you marvel that someone really does understand, to make you grateful that she wrote it all down so fiercely, so tenderly."
"Review" by , "Coming of age is a painful and beautiful experience in Natalie Serber's hands. These are funny and poignant pieces, building a book that feels novelistic in sweep, yet true to the precision and direct aim of the short story. A real pleasure."
"Review" by , "In the complexities of family triumphs and catastrophes, Natalie Serber is always achingly specific. Between mothers and daughters, women and their lovers, she misses nothing, and in all her scenes, the reader feels the true breath of life."
"Review" by , "In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about."
"Review" by , "Nuanced and smart...Serber knows that neglect or disconnect doesn't always turn into trauma or damage. Life isn't algebra. Which events lead to pain, and which to growth and awareness, remains unpredictable. The one reliable truth is that mistakes illuminate the most, albeit with fractured light."
"Synopsis" by , A collection of stories about the complicated and powerful ties between mothers and daughters.
"Synopsis" by , In this acclaimed collection written with “exquisite patience and sensitivity” (Wall Street Journal) mothers — from reluctant to exultant — ride a familiar tide of joy, pride, regret, guilt, and love in these stories of flawed, resilient women. Wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons in a battle between a teenage daughter and her mother. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husbands fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of vodka, rogue teenagers, and an unexpected tattoo has a woman questioning her place in her children's lives. And we follow through two decades the family created when capricious, magnetic Ruby, an ambitious college student, becomes a single mother to cautious daughter Nora in 1970s California. Shout Her Lovely Name is a “funny, bittersweet” (Vanity Fair) book, that announces the arrival of a powerful new writer.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.