25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

On Order

$27.95
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Americana- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Bay Country (87 Edition)

by

Bay Country (87 Edition) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Must reading in a city that reinvented itself by seeking itsharbor roots."--Baltimore Magazine. "Mr. Horton--a Baltimore journalist who has developed a devoted but hitherto local following--ventures into a small, distinguished circle of nature writers. Fans of Aldo Leopold, John McPhee and Sigurd Olson won't be disappointed. This is not merely a book for those who already know the Chesapeake, although they will be enchanted by Tom Horton's vast knowledge, narrative skills and eye for detail. Like the true bay native he is, Mr. Horton uses the Chesapeake as a limitless resource from which to harvest a great bounty of observations about politics, nature, and human beings."--New York Times Book Review. "Sailing down the Chesapeake in this book is bracing, for Horton is knowledgeable, thoughtful, full of wonder about the natural world and outspoken... As Smith Islanders might say, it's a right smart' book."--Washington Post. Maryland Paperback Bookshelf.

Synopsis:

This is a collection of personal essays, the distillation of what has seemed truest and best through a decade of reporting on the Maryland environment. The choice of subjects inclines toward the Chesapeake Bay, as does most of the state's land and water.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780801848759
Author:
Horton, Tom
Publisher:
Johns Hopkins University Press
Subject:
General
Subject:
Description and travel
Subject:
Geography
Subject:
United States - State & Local
Subject:
United States - South Atlantic - Maryland
Subject:
United States - State & Local - General
Subject:
Environmental Conservation & Protection - General
Subject:
Americana-General
Publication Date:
19940231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
248
Dimensions:
8.97x5.97x.70 in. .74 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. An Island Out of Time: A Memoir of... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. Beautiful Swimmers: Watermen, Crabs... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. An island out of time :a memoir of...
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  4. The song of the dodo :island... Sale Trade Paper $10.98
  5. Mountains of the Heart: A Natural... New Trade Paper $17.95
  6. Integral Life Practice: A... Used Trade Paper $12.00

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Americana » General
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Environment
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General
Travel » North America » United States » Southern States

Bay Country (87 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$27.95 Backorder
Product details 248 pages Johns Hopkins University Press - English 9780801848759 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , This is a collection of personal essays, the distillation of what has seemed truest and best through a decade of reporting on the Maryland environment. The choice of subjects inclines toward the Chesapeake Bay, as does most of the state's land and water.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.