No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | January 9, 2015

    Chris Faatz: IMG Jill Maxick of Prometheus Books: The Powells.com Interview



    For decades, Prometheus Books has put out titles we both love and respect. Prometheus is the leading publisher in the United States of books on free... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Travel Writing- General

River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze (P.S.)

by

River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze (P.S.) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Nina Sovich had always yearned for adventures in faraway places; she imagined herself leading the life of a solitary traveler. Yet at the age of thirty-four, she found herself married and contemplating motherhood. Catching her reflection in a window spotted with Paris rain, she no longer saw the fearless woman who spent her youth travelling in Cairo, Lahore, and the West Bank staring back at her. Unwittingly, she had followed lifeand#8217;s script, and now she needed to cast it out. Inspired by female explorers like Mary Kingsley, who explored Gabonand#8217;s jungle in the 1890s, and Karen Blixen, who ran a farm in Kenya during World War I, Sovich packed her bags and hopped on the next plane to Africa in search of adventure. To the Moon and Timbuktu takes readers on a fast-paced trek through Western Sahara, Mali, Mauritania, and Niger, bringing their textures and flavors into vivid relief. On Sovichand#8217;s travels, she encounters rough-and-tumble Chinese sailors, a Venezuelan doctor working himself to death in Chinguetti, indifferent French pensioners RVing along the coast, and a close-knit circle of Nigerien women who adopt her into their fold, showing her the promise of Africaand#8217;s future. This lyrical memoir will transport you to the breathtaking landscapes of West Africa, whose stark beauties will instill wonder in even the most experienced traveler. Sovichand#8217;s journey reveals that sometimes we must pursue that distant glimmer on the horizon in order to find the things we value most.

Synopsis:

Feeling directionless in Paris and inspired by the explorers of another era, Nina Sovich packs her bags and hops on the next plane to West Africa in search of adventure, where a fast-paced trek through Mali, Mauritania, and Niger prove that itand#8217;s the travelerand#8217;s journey, not the destination, that is the reward.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Iron & Silk" comes a powerful memoir about a young American teacher in the Peace Corps living in the small Chinese city of Fuling as it navigates increasing waves of cultural and social upheaval. Maps.

Synopsis:

A New York Times Notable Book

Winner of the Kiriyama Book Prize

In the heart of China's Sichuan province, amid the terraced hills of the Yangtze River valley, lies the remote town of Fuling. Like many other small cities in this ever-evolving country, Fuling is heading down a new path of change and growth, which came into remarkably sharp focus when Peter Hessler arrived as a Peace Corps volunteer, marking the first time in more than half a century that the city had an American resident. Hessler taught English and American literature at the local college, but it was his students who taught him about the complex processes of understanding that take place when one is immersed in a radically different society.

Poignant, thoughtful, funny, and enormously compelling, River Town is an unforgettable portrait of a city that is seeking to understand both what it was and what it someday will be.

About the Author

Peter Hessler is the Beijing correspondent for The New Yorker and a contributor to National Geographic. He is the author of River Town.

Table of Contents

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;I. ?????

1.and#160;Hotel in Dakhlaand#8195;3

2.and#160;Connecticut Childhoodand#8195;8

3.and#160;First Freedomand#8195;15

4.and#160;Oak Treeand#8195;20

5.and#160;Breadcrumbs in Parisand#8195;22

6.and#160;A Victorian Travelerand#8195;27

7.and#160;Nowhereand#8195;33

8.and#160;My Fishesand#8195;39

and#160;and#160;and#160; II. WESTERN SAHARA

9.and#160;Coffee in Casablancaand#8195;45

10.and#160;The Cold Atlanticand#8195;51

11.and#160;The Bleak Desertand#8195;60

12.and#160;The Love of Homeand#8195;65

13.and#160;Trumping Comfortand#8195;70

14.and#160;Slow Fearand#8195;75

15.and#160;Hitchhiking at the Borderand#8195;83

16.and#160;Death and Dyingand#8195;88

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; III. MAURITANIA

17.and#160;A Boy from Bordeauxand#8195;97

18.and#160;Mood on the Streetsand#8195;103

19.and#160;Nouakchottand#8195;107

20.and#160;Slate Mountainsand#8195;112

21.and#160;The Lothario of Chinguettiand#8195;118

22.and#160;Fortune Tellersand#8195;126

23.and#160;The Good Doctorand#8195;134

24.and#160;The Good Doctorand#8201;and#8212;and#8201;Part IIand#8195;147

25.and#160;Gnostic Lifeand#8195;156

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;IV. MALI

26.and#160;Bamakoand#8195;163

27.and#160;Boubousand#8195;177

28.and#160;Campari by the Riverand#8195;184

29.and#160;The Talismanand#8195;192

30.and#160;Patienceand#8195;197

31.and#160;Tyranny and the Mosqueand#8195;201

32.and#160;The Road to Timbuktuand#8195;206

33.and#160;Whatand#8217;s in a Name?and#8195;212

34.and#160;Faking Devotionand#8195;220

35.and#160;Dogon Countryand#8195;227

36.and#160;Madness and Cocoa Butterand#8195;236

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; V. PARIS

37.and#160;The Quietand#8195;243

38.and#160;A French Doctorand#8195;250

39.and#160;Panicand#8195;256

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; VI. NIGER

40.and#160;Niameyand#8195;263

41.and#160;Women of the Bookand#8195;271

42.and#160;Fashion Showand#8195;283

43.and#160;Free from Loveand#8195;294

44.and#160;Homeand#8195;299

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; Acknowledgmentsand#8195;305

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; Bibliographyand#8195;307

and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160; About the Authorand#8195;309

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060855024
Subtitle:
Two Years on the Yangtze
Author:
Hessler, Peter
Author:
by Peter Hessler
Author:
Sovich, Nina
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
Description and travel
Subject:
Asia - China
Subject:
Essays & Travelogues
Subject:
Fuling (Sichuan Sheng, China)
Subject:
International Relations - General
Subject:
General Travel
Subject:
Travel
Subject:
China
Subject:
Hessler, Peter - Travel - China -
Subject:
Travel Writing-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20060425
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w map; author photo
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 0.96 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Painted Veil Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. Midnight's Children
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Smile When You're Lying: Confessions...
    Used Trade Paper $8.50
  4. The House at Riverton
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Kitten's First Full Moon
    Used Hardcover $10.00
  6. The Three Pigs
    New Trade Paper $9.49

Related Subjects


History and Social Science » Asia » China » Peoples Republic 1949 to Present
History and Social Science » Politics » United States » Foreign Policy
History and Social Science » World History » China
Travel » Asia » China
Travel » Travel Writing » Asia
Travel » Travel Writing » General

River Town: Two Years on the Yangtze (P.S.) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780060855024 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Feeling directionless in Paris and inspired by the explorers of another era, Nina Sovich packs her bags and hops on the next plane to West Africa in search of adventure, where a fast-paced trek through Mali, Mauritania, and Niger prove that itand#8217;s the travelerand#8217;s journey, not the destination, that is the reward.

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Iron & Silk" comes a powerful memoir about a young American teacher in the Peace Corps living in the small Chinese city of Fuling as it navigates increasing waves of cultural and social upheaval. Maps.

"Synopsis" by ,

A New York Times Notable Book

Winner of the Kiriyama Book Prize

In the heart of China's Sichuan province, amid the terraced hills of the Yangtze River valley, lies the remote town of Fuling. Like many other small cities in this ever-evolving country, Fuling is heading down a new path of change and growth, which came into remarkably sharp focus when Peter Hessler arrived as a Peace Corps volunteer, marking the first time in more than half a century that the city had an American resident. Hessler taught English and American literature at the local college, but it was his students who taught him about the complex processes of understanding that take place when one is immersed in a radically different society.

Poignant, thoughtful, funny, and enormously compelling, River Town is an unforgettable portrait of a city that is seeking to understand both what it was and what it someday will be.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.