Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Military- World War II Pacific

Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II (P.S.)

by

Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II (P.S.) Cover

ISBN13: 9780061988356
ISBN10: 0061988359
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On May 13, 1945, twenty-four American servicemen and WACs boarded a transport plane for a sightseeing trip over “Shangri-La,” a beautiful and mysterious valley deep within the jungle-covered mountains of Dutch New Guinea.Unlike the peaceful Tibetan monks of James Hiltons bestselling novel Lost Horizon, this Shangri-La was home to spear-carrying tribesmen, warriors rumored to be cannibals.

But the pleasure tour became an unforgettable battle for survival when the plane crashed. Miraculously, three passengers pulled through. Margaret Hastings, barefoot and burned, had no choice but to wear her dead best friends shoes. John McCollom, grieving the death of his twin brother also aboard the plane, masked his grief with stoicism. Kenneth Decker, too, was severely burned and suffered a gaping head wound.

Emotionally devastated, badly injured, and vulnerable to the hidden dangers of the jungle, the trio faced certain death unless they left the crash site. Caught between man-eating headhunters and enemy Japanese, the wounded passengers endured a harrowing hike down the mountainside—a journey into the unknown that would lead them straight into a primitive tribe of superstitious natives who had never before seen a white man—or woman.

Drawn from interviews, declassified U.S. Army documents, personal photos and mementos, a survivors diary, a rescuers journal, and original film footage, Lost in Shangri-La recounts this incredible true-life adventure for the first time. Mitchell Zuckoff reveals how the determined trio—dehydrated, sick, and in pain—traversed the dense jungle to find help; how a brave band of paratroopers risked their own lives to save the survivors; and how a cowboy colonel attempted a previously untested rescue mission to get them out.

By trekking into the New Guinea jungle, visiting remote villages, and rediscovering the crash site, Zuckoff also captures the contemporary natives remembrances of the long-ago day when strange creatures fell from the sky. A riveting work of narrative nonfiction that vividly brings to life an odyssey at times terrifying, enlightening, and comic, Lost in Shangri-La is a thrill ride from beginning to end.

Synopsis:

“A lost world, man-eating tribesmen, lush andimpenetrable jungles, stranded American fliers (one of them a dame withgreat gams, for heaven's sake), a startling rescue mission. . . . This is atrue story made in heaven for a writer as talented as Mitchell Zuckoff. Whew—what an utterly compelling and deeplysatisfying read!" —Simon Winchester, author of Atlantic
 
Award-winning former Boston Globe reporter Mitchell Zuckoffunleashes the exhilarating, untold story of an extraordinary World War IIrescue mission, where a plane crash in the South Pacific plunged a trio of U.S.military personnel into a land that time forgot. Fans of Hampton Sides Ghost Soldiers, Marcus Luttrells Lone Survivor, and David Granns The Lost Cityof Z will be captivated by Zuckoffs masterfullyrecounted, all-true story of danger, daring, determination, and discovery injungle-clad New Guinea during the final days of WWII.

About the Author

Mitchell Zuckoff's honors include the 2000 Distinguished Writing Award from the American Society of Newspaper Editors. His book Choosing Naia: A Family's Journey was a Boston Globe bestseller and won the Christopher Award.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

FlyingWoody, January 31, 2013 (view all comments by FlyingWoody)
I saw the author interviewed on the Colbert Report, and I new I had to get this book! Although it started off slowly, it was a very interesting story, and I looked forward to reading it! It's interesting to note that the events covered in this book made international headlines in 1945, but their story has been all but forgotten today. I only hope that this will be made into a movie soon!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Emily P, January 2, 2012 (view all comments by Emily P)
This book reads like a novel, but it's a true story. I learned a ton of WWII history that I'd never heard before. A fascinating read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061988356
Subtitle:
A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II
Author:
Zuckoff, Mitchell
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Subject:
Military - World War II
Subject:
Military-World War II General
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20120424
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 x 0.900901 in 10.4 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Time, Love, Memory: A Great... Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. The Psychopath Test: A Journey...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Christina, Queen of Sweden: The... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. How To Be Pope Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. In the Garden of Beasts: Love,...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » History and Social Science
Featured Titles » New Arrivals
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » Military » Aviation History
History and Social Science » Military » General
History and Social Science » Military » US Military » General
History and Social Science » Military » World War II » General
History and Social Science » Military » World War II » Pacific
History and Social Science » Sale Books
History and Social Science » World History » General
Travel » Travel Writing » General

Lost in Shangri-La: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II (P.S.) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061988356 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , “A lost world, man-eating tribesmen, lush andimpenetrable jungles, stranded American fliers (one of them a dame withgreat gams, for heaven's sake), a startling rescue mission. . . . This is atrue story made in heaven for a writer as talented as Mitchell Zuckoff. Whew—what an utterly compelling and deeplysatisfying read!" —Simon Winchester, author of Atlantic
 
Award-winning former Boston Globe reporter Mitchell Zuckoffunleashes the exhilarating, untold story of an extraordinary World War IIrescue mission, where a plane crash in the South Pacific plunged a trio of U.S.military personnel into a land that time forgot. Fans of Hampton Sides Ghost Soldiers, Marcus Luttrells Lone Survivor, and David Granns The Lost Cityof Z will be captivated by Zuckoffs masterfullyrecounted, all-true story of danger, daring, determination, and discovery injungle-clad New Guinea during the final days of WWII.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.