Dreadfully Ever After Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Featured Titles- Staff Picks
25 Local Warehouse Biography- General
12 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

This title in other editions

Life After Death

by

Life After Death Cover

 

 

Excerpt

I have the shape of a dead man on the wall of my cell. It was left behind by the last occupant. He stood against the wall and traced around himself with a pencil, then shaded it in. It looks like a very faint shadow, and its barely noticeable until you see it. It took me nearly a week to notice it for the first time, but once you see it you cant un-see it.…Perhaps its just superstition, but I cant help feeling that erasing it would be like erasing the fact that he ever existed. That may not be such a bad thing, all things considered, but I wont be the one to do it.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142180280
Author:
Echols, Damien
Publisher:
Plume Books
Subject:
Biography - General
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20130531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.56 x 0.99 in 0.87 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Eleven Rings: The Soul of Success Used Hardcover $19.50
  2. Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary... Used Hardcover $12.50
  3. The Wisdom of Psychopaths: What... New Trade Paper $16.00
  4. Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life,...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Dancers Among Us: A Celebration of... Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Literary
Featured Titles » Biography
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
History and Social Science » Crime » General
History and Social Science » Crime » Prisons and Prisoners

Life After Death New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.00 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Plume Books - English 9780142180280 Reviews:
"Review" by , “[Echols] has written a haunting book, and the story it tells is hardly over. He is living out a sequel that is no less strange and magickal than what he has already been through.”
"Review" by , "[A] tale of romance, resilience, and the power of the written word."
"Review" by , “Damien Echols spent eighteen years on death row for murders he did not commit. Somehow, in the depths of his unspeakable nightmare, he found the courage and strength not only to survive, but to grow, to create, to forgive, and to understand. Life After Death is a brilliant, haunting, painful, and uplifting narrative of a hopeless childhood, a wrongful conviction, a brutal incarceration, and the beginning of a new life.”
"Review" by , “Wrongfully imprisoned by willfully ignorant cops, prosecutors and judge, Damien Echols draws on all his wits and his unique view of humanity to survive eighteen years on death row. My admiration for him, and the strength of his spirit, increases with every page.”
"Review" by , “I am in awe of Damien's ability to write so beautifully, with such ease, humor and honesty — this is inspired storytelling, a wonderful book!”
"Review" by , “The life of Damien Echols is a journey similar to that of the metal that becomes a samurais sword. Heated and pounded until it becomes hardened, it can hold its edge for centuries. It is incredible that Damien endured and survived one of the most tragic miscarriages of American justice, and emerged such a centered, articulate and extraordinary man and writer. Life After Death proves that he paid dearly for his wisdom.”
"Review" by , “Exceptional memoir by the most famous of the West Memphis Three. [B]are facts alone would make for an interesting story. However, Echols is at heart a poet and mystic, and he has written not just a quickie one-off book to capitalize on a lurid news story, but rather a work of art that occasionally bears a resemblance to the work of Jean Genet. A voracious reader all his life, Echols vividly tells his story, from his impoverished childhood in a series of shacks and mobile homes to his emergence after half a lifetime behind bars as a psychically scarred man rediscovering freedom in New York City. The author also effectively displays his intelligence and sensitivity, qualities the Arkansas criminal justice system had no interest in recognizing during Echols ordeal. Essential reading.”
"Review" by , “[Echols'] case garnered worldwide attention, but [his] memoir is about as far away from a publicity-seeking I-was-wronged story as possible. The author opts for a meatier, and certainly more haunting, account of his life behind bars, coupled with flashbacks to his childhood....Echols is a talented writer, and when the book dips into his own spiritual and philosophical beliefs...it achieves the kind of emotional resonance that many similar books lack....A tragic and often disturbing story."
"Review" by , “[T]his is an eloquent, even bitterly lyrical, portrayal of how an innocent man can slip through the cracks of the legal system and struggle to survive. Compelling and deeply moving, in the tradition of Helen Prejean's Dead Man Walking and Norman Mailer's The Executioners Song, this memoir will appeal to a wide audience.”
"Review" by , “In this searing, finely wrought memoir, Echols recalls his poverty-stricken childhood, the trial of the West Memphis 3, and the harsh realities of life on death row....The most affecting sections are Echols's philosophical musings on all he has lost, his thoughts often influenced by Zen Buddhism...a heart-wrenching and simple commentary on American prison life.”
"Review" by , “[A] tale of romance, resilience, and the power of the written word.”
"Review" by , “Echols is a writer whose talent is commensurate with the task of telling this story....The man who has emerged from death row at last is not quite a hero, but hes something far more interesting: an artist — and, most definitely, well worth meeting.”
"Review" by , “Gripping…Echols has already lived a remarkable life, one forged in tragedy and all manner of iniquity. That he is able to write so movingly about the many trials he endured speaks volumes about his intellect and character.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.