Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 2, 2014

    Cary Elwes: IMG Cary Elwes: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $9.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Impossible

by

Impossible Cover

ISBN13: 9780142414910
ISBN10: 0142414913
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Beautiful Creatures and Wicked Lovely comes this New York Times Bestselling modern fairy tale from National Book Award Finalist Nancy Werlin.

Inspired by the classic folk ballad “Scarborough Fair,” this wonderfully riveting novel is rife with suspense, romance, and fantasy. Seventeen-year-old Lucy discovers that she is the latest recipient of a generations-old Elvin curse that requires women in her family to complete three impossible tasks or risk falling into madness and passing the curse on to the next generation. Unlike her ancestors, Lucy has the support of her fiercely protective adoptive parents, and her best friend Zach, whose friendship may be turning into something more. But do they have enough love and resolve to conquer this age-old evil?

 

The Scarborough Girls story continues in Unthinkable and the companion novel Extraordinary.

 

 

“Teens, especially young women, will enjoy this romantic fairy tale with modern trappings.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

 

“Showcases the authors finesse at melding genres [with its] graceful interplay between wild magic and contemporary reality [and its] catapulting suspense.”—Booklist (starred review)

 

“The melding of magic and practicality produces a lovely whole.”—Kirkus (starred review)

 

 

Synopsis:

Inspired by the ballad Scarborough Fair, popularized by Simon & Garfunkel, this riveting novel combines suspense, fantasy, and romance. It tells the story of a teenage girl who has nine months to break an ancient curse in order to save both herself and her unborn daughter.

Synopsis:

As the orphaned daughter of a wildly successful inspirational singer/author, Marnie Skyedottir stands to inherit great wealth. But until then, Marnie has to survive a dreary life in private school. She endures by escaping into an online role-playing game as much as possible and steering clear of the other students. So when Marnie is kidnapped by someone who also claims to be Skye?s daughter, she is worried. With her reclusive tendencies, will anyone even know she?s gone? And will her online gaming skills be of any help to her in this real-life drama?

Synopsis:

As her sixteenth birthday approaches, Lena has just one wish: To learn to surf. She's been drawn so strongly to the waves off the coast of California her entire life, but her father, a former surfer himself, will not allow her to take lessons. When Lena begins sleepwalking to the beach--seemingly drawn by an unrecognizable force--she is compelled to learn to surf even if it means putting herself in grave danger and going against her father's wishes. 

    That force is the presence of a woman. A woman who finally reveals herself--and her silvery tail--to Lena. She has a message. She has a key. The key opens a brown leather sea chest Lena's father has kept hidden for many years, and when Lena discovers what's inside her life, and what she thought she knew about it, will never be the same.

About the Author

"With highly imagistic descriptions and savvy dialogue, Madigan offers a rewarding and credible story that uses fantasy elements to bare truths about family ties."--Booklist, starred review

"Mixing supernatural elements with the types of family problems and growing pains she explored in Flash Burnout, Madigan introduces Lena, a girl obsessed with the sea and learning to surf . . . emotions at play feel very real, and Madigan does a good job of evoking the fog of uncertainty that envelops Lena as she uncovers long-buried secrets--she truly is like a fish out of water."--Publishers Weekly

"Be rewarded with a heartthrob of a merman, enthusiastic surfing scenes, and a well-integrated blend of magic and realism both on land and underwater."--Bulletin

Praise for FLASH BURNOUT

Fall 2010: New England Childrens Booksellers Advisory Councils Fall Top Ten List
Winner of the 2010 William C. Morris Award
 
"With just enough humor to diffuse the tension and the art and science of photography as a backdrop, this rich romance explores the complexities of friendship and love, and the all-too-human limitations of both. Its a sobering, compelling, and satisfying read for teens and a promising debut for a new young-adult author."Booklist, starred review
 
"Flash Burnout gets high marks from me in all categories. Voice? Check. Plot that matters? Check. Writing style? Flawless. I would say that this book could be described as Laurie Halse Anderson meets John Green, with a whole new set of humor and imagery that is all its own."Holly, Annie Bloom's Bookstore, Portland OR
 
#4 on Indiebound's Top Ten List

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

bopherina, September 17, 2009 (view all comments by bopherina)
Three impossible tasks.
Nine months.
A genius story with true love, fantastic characters, suspenseful plot, and a family curse that will send shivers down your spine.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142414910
Author:
Werlin, Nancy
Publisher:
Dial
Author:
Madigan, L. K.
Author:
Various
Author:
Cusick, Richie Tankersley
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Social Issues - Pregnancy
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Horror & Ghost Stories
Subject:
Law & Crime
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080918
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
7 x 5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Radiant Darkness Used Hardcover $8.50
  2. The Adoration of Jenna Fox
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  3. Caretaker Trilogy #02: Whirlwind
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Chalice Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Sunrise Over Fallujah Used Book Club Hardcover $2.95
  6. The Sweet Far Thing Used Hardcover $4.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Pregnancy
Young Adult » General

Impossible Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Speak - English 9780142414910 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Inspired by the ballad Scarborough Fair, popularized by Simon & Garfunkel, this riveting novel combines suspense, fantasy, and romance. It tells the story of a teenage girl who has nine months to break an ancient curse in order to save both herself and her unborn daughter.
"Synopsis" by ,
As the orphaned daughter of a wildly successful inspirational singer/author, Marnie Skyedottir stands to inherit great wealth. But until then, Marnie has to survive a dreary life in private school. She endures by escaping into an online role-playing game as much as possible and steering clear of the other students. So when Marnie is kidnapped by someone who also claims to be Skye?s daughter, she is worried. With her reclusive tendencies, will anyone even know she?s gone? And will her online gaming skills be of any help to her in this real-life drama?

"Synopsis" by ,
As her sixteenth birthday approaches, Lena has just one wish: To learn to surf. She's been drawn so strongly to the waves off the coast of California her entire life, but her father, a former surfer himself, will not allow her to take lessons. When Lena begins sleepwalking to the beach--seemingly drawn by an unrecognizable force--she is compelled to learn to surf even if it means putting herself in grave danger and going against her father's wishes. 

    That force is the presence of a woman. A woman who finally reveals herself--and her silvery tail--to Lena. She has a message. She has a key. The key opens a brown leather sea chest Lena's father has kept hidden for many years, and when Lena discovers what's inside her life, and what she thought she knew about it, will never be the same.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.