Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 21, 2014

    Katha Pollitt: IMG My Bookstore Fantasy — No Customers Necessary



    "Let's open a bookstore," I say to my husband every now and then. "A used bookstore. With a few new books we really like." I'm picturing an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.50
List price: $18.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Military- Naval History

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo

by

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A brutal, action-packed account of the sea battles of the Napoleonic War by the author of the bestselling Nelsons Trafalgar

Roy Adkins (with his wife Lesley) returns to the Napoleonic War in The War for All the Oceans, a gripping account of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleons seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. In this vivid and visceral account, Adkins draws on eyewitness records to portray not only the battles but also the details of a sailors lifeshipwrecks, press-gangs, prostitutes, spies, and prisoners of war.

The War for All the Oceans is epic narrative history sure to appeal to fans of Patrick OBrian and C. S. Forester, as well as all readers of military and social history.

Synopsis:

The bestselling authors of "Nelsons Trafalgar" return to the Napoleonic War in this epic narrative of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleons seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. 16-page b&w photo insert.

Synopsis:

As he did with his much lauded Nelson?s Trafalgar, Roy Adkins (now writing with wife Lesley) again thrusts readers into the perils and thrills of early-nineteenth-century warfare. From its very first page, this is an adventure story?a superb account of the naval war that lasted from Napoleon?s seizure of power in 1798 to the War of 1812 with the United States. Providing a ringside seat to the decisive battles, as well as detailed and vivid portraits of sailors and commanders, press-gangs, prostitutes, and spies, The War for All the Oceans is ?a rollicking, patriotic account of the Napoleonic wars that will go down well with Master and Commander fans? (The Telegraph).

About the Author

Roy Adkins and L esl ey Adkins are both historians and archaeologists and fellows of the Society of Antiquaries of London. They are the authors of several works of history.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143113928
Author:
Adkins, Roy
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Adkins, Lesley
Subject:
Military - Napoleonic Wars
Subject:
Military - Naval
Subject:
Napoleonic Wars, 1800-1815 -- Naval operations.
Subject:
Second Coalition, War of the, 1798-1801.
Subject:
World History-Napoleon
Subject:
Military-Naval History
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Two 8-page b/w photo inserts; b/w maps t
Pages:
560
Dimensions:
8.46 x 5.6 x 1.2 in 1.15 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Vegan Soul Kitchen: Fresh, Healthy,...
    Sale Trade Paper $9.98

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Military » General
History and Social Science » Military » Napoleonic Wars
History and Social Science » Military » Nautical
History and Social Science » Military » Naval History

The War for All the Oceans: From Nelson at the Nile to Napoleon at Waterloo Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.50 In Stock
Product details 560 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143113928 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The bestselling authors of "Nelsons Trafalgar" return to the Napoleonic War in this epic narrative of the naval struggle that lasted from 1798 to 1815, a period marked at the beginning by Napoleons seizing power and at the end by the War of 1812. 16-page b&w photo insert.
"Synopsis" by ,
As he did with his much lauded Nelson?s Trafalgar, Roy Adkins (now writing with wife Lesley) again thrusts readers into the perils and thrills of early-nineteenth-century warfare. From its very first page, this is an adventure story?a superb account of the naval war that lasted from Napoleon?s seizure of power in 1798 to the War of 1812 with the United States. Providing a ringside seat to the decisive battles, as well as detailed and vivid portraits of sailors and commanders, press-gangs, prostitutes, and spies, The War for All the Oceans is ?a rollicking, patriotic account of the Napoleonic wars that will go down well with Master and Commander fans? (The Telegraph).

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.