Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
6 Local Warehouse Science Reference- Technology
5 Remote Warehouse Science Reference- Technology

More copies of this ISBN

What Technology Wants

by

What Technology Wants Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The future is here. Kotler’s collection of nonfiction pieces charts the transformation of science fiction into science fact, from bionic men to space exploration and beyond. For fans of Wired, Fast Company, io9, and TED talks, the modern age.

The New York Times, Wired, Atlantic Monthly, Discover Magazine. Best-selling author Steven Kotler has written extensively about those pivotal moments when science fiction became science fact . . . and fundamentally reshaped the world. Now he gathers the best of his best, updated and expanded upon, to guide readers on a mind-bending tour of the far frontier, and how these advances are radically transforming our lives.

From the ways science and technology are fundamentally altering our bodies and our world (the world’s first bionic soldier, the future of evolution), to those explosive collisions between science and culture (life extension and bioweapons), we’re crossing moral and ethical lines we’ve never faced before.

Join Kotler in this fascinating exploration of our incredible next: a deep dive into those future technologies happening now — and what it means to be a part of this brave new world.

Synopsis:

For readers of Wired magazine, a collection of journalism that touches on the past, present, and future of technology, by a New York Times bestselling author.

Synopsis:

andquot;More thriller than primer, this is the best technology book I have ever read.andquot; -Nicholas Negroponte, author of Being Digital

In this provocative book, one of today's most respected thinkers turns the conversation about technology on its head by viewing technology as a natural system, an extension of biological evolution. By mapping the behavior of life, we paradoxically get a glimpse at where technology is headed-or andquot;what it wants.andquot; Kevin Kelly offers a dozen trajectories in the coming decades for this near-living system. And as we align ourselves with technology's agenda, we can capture its colossal potential. This visionary and optimistic book explores how technology gives our lives greater meaning and is a must-read for anyone curious about the future.

Synopsis:

"More thriller than primer, this is the best technology book I have ever read." -Nicholas Negroponte, author of Being Digital

In this provocative book, one of today's most respected thinkers turns the conversation about technology on its head by viewing technology as a natural system, an extension of biological evolution. By mapping the behavior of life, we paradoxically get a glimpse at where technology is headed-or "what it wants." Kevin Kelly offers a dozen trajectories in the coming decades for this near-living system. And as we align ourselves with technology's agenda, we can capture its colossal potential. This visionary and optimistic book explores how technology gives our lives greater meaning and is a must-read for anyone curious about the future.

About the Author

Kevin Kelly is the cofounder of Wired magazine and was its executive editor for its first seven years. He has written for The New York Times, The Economist, Science, Time, and The Wall Street Journal. His previous books include the bestselling New Rules for the New Economy.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143120179
Author:
Kelly, Kevin
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Kotler, Steven
Subject:
Aspects
Subject:
Science Reference-Technology
Subject:
General Technology
Edition Description:
Cloth
Publication Date:
20110931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
b/w photos and illustrations throughout
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Manufacturing Depression: The Secret... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. The Clash of Civilizations and the... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Ancestral Realms of the Naxi:... New Hardcover $46.90
  4. Sweetness and Power: The Place of... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Illness as Metaphor and AIDS and... Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. Taz the Temporary Autonomous Zone...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects


Reference » Sale Books
Reference » Science Reference » General
Reference » Science Reference » Technology
Science and Mathematics » Featured Titles in Tech » General
Science and Mathematics » History of Science » Technology

What Technology Wants New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.00 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143120179 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
For readers of Wired magazine, a collection of journalism that touches on the past, present, and future of technology, by a New York Times bestselling author.
"Synopsis" by ,

andquot;More thriller than primer, this is the best technology book I have ever read.andquot; -Nicholas Negroponte, author of Being Digital

In this provocative book, one of today's most respected thinkers turns the conversation about technology on its head by viewing technology as a natural system, an extension of biological evolution. By mapping the behavior of life, we paradoxically get a glimpse at where technology is headed-or andquot;what it wants.andquot; Kevin Kelly offers a dozen trajectories in the coming decades for this near-living system. And as we align ourselves with technology's agenda, we can capture its colossal potential. This visionary and optimistic book explores how technology gives our lives greater meaning and is a must-read for anyone curious about the future.

"Synopsis" by ,

"More thriller than primer, this is the best technology book I have ever read." -Nicholas Negroponte, author of Being Digital

In this provocative book, one of today's most respected thinkers turns the conversation about technology on its head by viewing technology as a natural system, an extension of biological evolution. By mapping the behavior of life, we paradoxically get a glimpse at where technology is headed-or "what it wants." Kevin Kelly offers a dozen trajectories in the coming decades for this near-living system. And as we align ourselves with technology's agenda, we can capture its colossal potential. This visionary and optimistic book explores how technology gives our lives greater meaning and is a must-read for anyone curious about the future.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.