It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
8 Beaverton Children's- Featured Titles
20 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
5 Beaverton DISP- CH BESTSELLER
6 Beaverton Featured Titles- Bestsellers
20 Burnside ROSE- 604/ENDCAP
15 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
35 Burnside Featured Titles- General
22 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General
25 Local Warehouse General- General
75 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Maze Runner

by

The Maze Runner Cover

ISBN13: 9780385737951
ISBN10: 0385737955
All Product Details

 

 

Excerpt

Chapter 1

He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air.

Metal ground against metal; a lurching shudder shook the floor beneath him. He fell down at the sudden movement and shuffled backward on his hands and feet, drops of sweat beading on his forehead despite the cool air. His back struck a hard metal wall; he slid along it until he hit the corner of the room. Sinking to the floor, he pulled his legs up tight against his body, hoping his eyes would soon adjust to the darkness.

With another jolt, the room jerked upward like an old lift in a mine shaft.

Harsh sounds of chains and pulleys, like the workings of an ancient steel factory, echoed through the room, bouncing off the walls with a hollow, tinny whine. The lightless elevator swayed back and forth as it ascended, turning the boy's stomach sour with nausea; a smell like burnt oil invaded his senses, making him feel worse. He wanted to cry, but no tears came; he could only sit there, alone, waiting.

My name is Thomas, he thought.

That... that was the only thing he could remember about his life.

He didn't understand how this could be possible. His mind functioned without flaw, trying to calculate his surroundings and predicament. Knowledge flooded his thoughts, facts and images, memories and details of the world and how it works. He pictured snow on trees, running down a leaf-strewn road, eating a hamburger, the moon casting a pale glow on a grassy meadow, swimming in a lake, a busy city square with hundreds of people bustling about their business.

And yet he didn't know where he came from, or how he'd gotten inside the dark lift, or who his parents were. He didn't even know his last name. Images of people flashed across his mind, but there was no recognition, their faces replaced with haunted smears of color. He couldn't think of one person he knew, or recall a single conversation.

The room continued its ascent, swaying; Thomas grew immune to the ceaseless rattling of the chains that pulled him upward. A long time passed. Minutes stretched into hours, although it was impossible to know for sure because every second seemed an eternity. No. He was smarter than that. Trusting his instincts, he knew he'd been moving for roughly half an hour.

Strangely enough, he felt his fear whisked away like a swarm of gnats caught in the wind, replaced by an intense curiosity. He wanted to know where he was and what was happening.

With a groan and then a clonk, the rising room halted; the sudden change jolted Thomas from his huddled position and threw him across the hard floor. As he scrambled to his feet, he felt the room sway less and less until it finally stilled. Everything fell silent.

A minute passed. Two. He looked in every direction but saw only darkness; he felt along the walls again, searching for a way out. But there was nothing, only the cool metal. He groaned in frustration; his echo amplified through the air, like the haunted moan of death. It faded, and silence returned. He screamed, called for help, pounded on the walls with his fists.

Nothing.

Thomas backed into the corner once again, folded his arms and shivered, and the fear returned. He felt a worrying shudder in his chest, as if his heart wanted to escape, to flee his body.

"Someone... help... me!" he screamed; each word ripped his throat raw.

A loud clank rang out above him and he sucked in a startled breath as he looked up. A straight line of light appeared across the ceiling of the room, and Thomas watched as it expanded. A heavy grating sound revealed double sliding doors being forced open. After so long in darkness, the light stabbed his eyes; he looked away, covering his face with both hands.

He heard noises above--voices--and fear squeezed his chest.

"Look at that shank."

"How old is he?"

"Looks like a klunk in a T-shirt."

"You're the klunk, shuck-face."

"Dude, it smells like feet down there!"

"Hope you enjoyed the one-way trip, Greenie."

"Ain't no ticket back, bro."

Thomas was hit with a wave of confusion, blistered with panic. The voices were odd, tinged with echo; some of the words were completely foreign--others felt familiar. He willed his eyes to adjust as he squinted toward the light and those speaking. At first he could see only shifting shadows, but they soon turned into the shapes of bodies--people bending over the hole in the ceiling, looking down at him, pointing.

And then, as if the lens of a camera had sharpened its focus, the faces cleared. They were boys, all of them--some young, some older. Thomas didn't know what he'd expected, but seeing those faces puzzled him. They were just teenagers. Kids. Some of his fear melted away, but not enough to calm his racing heart.

Someone lowered a rope from above, the end of it tied into a big loop. Thomas hesitated, then stepped into it with his right foot and clutched the rope as he was yanked toward the sky. Hands reached down, lots of hands, grabbing him by his clothes, pulling him up. The world seemed to spin, a swirling mist of faces and color and light. A storm of emotions wrenched his gut, twisted and pulled; he wanted to scream, cry, throw up. The chorus of voices had grown silent, but someone spoke as they yanked him over the sharp edge of the dark box. And Thomas knew he'd never forget the words.

"Nice to meet ya, shank," the boy said. "Welcome to the Glade."

From the Hardcover edition.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Caden Francois, November 28, 2012 (view all comments by Caden Francois)
Maze Runner By: James Dashner

I think that the Maze Runner was a great, fast paced book. I liked how there was no rest between action, no “filler” words, as it were. Once each little piece of action came to an end, James Dashner neatly transitioned to another adventure. The book starts with Thomas, a boy with no memory but his name, and a group full of other such boys in the same predicament. They are trapped inside a giant maze with monsters roaming it’s corridors. Each night they are safely closed in, and each day they fervently track the maze, trying to find a way out. On page 186, Thomas thinks “Never before had the sheer size of the Maze truly hit him. Miles and miles and miles. With it’s walls that moves, every night, he finally understood why the Maze was so hard to solve.” It seemed that they were doomed to stay in the Maze until they were all killed by the monsters outside their home. The theme of this book is to never give up, no matter how bleak the situation is. Eventually you will prevail. I like this theme and how we can apply it to our lives, and I think that the Maze Runner is definitely on my list of top books.

Review by: Caden Francois
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
Liz in the City, September 10, 2011 (view all comments by Liz in the City)
This book plays out like a long mystery, leaving you questioning everything you're seeing and hearing through the narrator's eyes. The Maze Runner has definite strains of Lord of the Flies, but I, personally, think it has much greater payoff in the end. I read this before knowing it was part of a trilogy and now I can't wait to see how the entire story ends. I'd recommend this for anyone who misses The Hunger Games or is looking to "hook" boys into reading.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 6 readers found this comment helpful)
Richard Tracey, September 1, 2011 (view all comments by Richard Tracey)
Midway through this YA novel, and the suspense is killing me. Just what is this maze? And who are the Creators?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780385737951
Author:
Dashner, James
Publisher:
Nancy Paulsen Books
Subject:
Visionary & metaphysical
Subject:
Boys / Men
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Amnesia
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Science & Technology
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Maze Runner Trilogy
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20130926
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
    Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects

» BLOCKED
» Children's » Awards » Oregon Reader's Choice Award
» Children's » Featured Titles
» Children's » General
» Children's » Sale Books
» Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
» Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
» Children's » Situations » General
» Featured Titles » Bestsellers
» Featured Titles » Books to Movies
» Featured Titles » General
» Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
» Young Adult » General

The Maze Runner New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.99 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Nancy Paulsen Books - English 9780385737951 Reviews:
"Review" by , "An intensely suspenseful page-turner."
"Review" by , "A riveting suspense novel with an anti-behaviorist message that works...because it emerges only slowly from the chilling events."
"Synopsis" by , When Thomas wakes up, he's surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got there. The next day, a girl arrives with a surprising message.
"Synopsis" by , The first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series — The Maze Runner is a modern classic, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.