Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $6.99
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Stargirl

by

Stargirl Cover

ISBN13: 9780440416777
ISBN10: 0440416779
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

 

Reading Group Guide

1. As the saying goes, “love is blind.” How is this truly the case with Leo and Stargirl? Looking back, how can you tell that Leo was falling for her? And does he stay in love with her, even after she moves away?

2. Professor Archie Brubaker is the voice of reason throughout the novel. Archie has many thoughtful insights into the personality of Stargirl, and at one point says about her: “Youll know her more by your questions than by her answers. Keep looking at her long enough. One day you might see someone you know.” Now that youve finished the novel, what do you think Archie means by this statement?

3. While Stargirl is a guest on “Hot Seat,” Kevin asks her why she changed her name. Do you accept her reason why she did this? How is “Stargirl” an ideal name for her? Think about the possibility of changing your name several times. Do you think your name is an integral part of who you are, or can you imagine yourself with another one?

4. In the beginning, Hillari Kimble seems to be the only person who openly dislikes Stargirl. But then others begin to feel the same way as Hillari. Do you think that groups of people need a leader, like Hillari Kimble, to turn opinions against another person?

5. Do you, as a reader, like Stargirl? If you were a student at Mica High, would you reach out to her like Dori Dilson, or reject her like Hillari Kimble? Do you think the students of Mica High are ultimately too harsh on Stargirl?

6. Popularity, fitting in, and “sameness” are all key themes in Stargirl. Find places in the novel that reinforce these themes and discuss. Do you think Stargirl ever wanted to be popular? How might she define popularity?

7. 1.After Stargirl changes back to “Susan,” Leo says “she look magnificently, wonderfully, gloriously ordinary. She looked just like a hundred other girls at Mica High…. I had never been so happy and proud in my whole life.” How did you feel when you read this part of the novel?

8. Author Jerry Spinelli plays two major events in this novel off of each other: the basketball championships and the oratorical contest. After Stargirl wins the oratorical contest, Leo says that “the cheering is as wild as that of the crowd at a championship basketball game.” Stargirl is the focus at both events but in very different ways. How is she rejected at one and accepted at the other? And how does this acceptance ultimately lead to rejection?

9. The Ocotillo Ball at the end of the novel represents a turning point. Do you think Stargirl made a deliberate attempt to say good-bye at the ball? What do you make of the students behavior at the ball, and what does this tell you about the student body of Mica High as a whole?

10. Archie says about Stargirl, “Star people are rare. Youll be lucky to meet another.” Do you think Leo was grown-up enough for his relationship with Stargirl? How about the students of Mica High? Will Leo ever figure Stargirl out?

11. What is the irony at the end of Stargirl? Is Stargirl popular after all? What happens to the “popular” kids in the story-do they stay popular?

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

felizgirl, January 25, 2008 (view all comments by felizgirl)
i love this book,i cant wait to read the second one...(cant find it in the libaray) i coulding stop reading the moment i read the first chapter!!!!!!!i read the whole book in one day....(my mom got mad cuz i forgot to do my chores)anyways,i need to find the second book,i look in the libaray,i cant buy it cuz i got no money:-(
well i loveeeeeee stargirl it kinda open a new door to not caring what people think.im a person who cares what people think,my parent dont have alot money to buy brand clothes,so i use to get mad cuz i didnt dress the way i wanted.but now i say who cares what people think....this book really woke me up!!!!!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(23 of 27 readers found this comment helpful)
jazzy32, March 1, 2007 (view all comments by jazzy32)
that this book is god so far im reading it in my class and sometimes i read it 2 myself but i only have three chapters left but this book is really good i like it i hope they have tha movie out
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(19 of 33 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780440416777
Author:
Spinelli, Jerry
Publisher:
Laurel Leaf Library
Author:
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Children's Baby - Fiction - General
Subject:
Children s All Ages - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Family - Parents
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20040531
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
13-17

Other books you might like

  1. Tangerine
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Before I Go Used Hardcover $7.50
  3. The Chicken Dance New Trade Paper $13.55
  4. Do the Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  5. Monster
    Used Book Club Hardcover $3.95
  6. Speak
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » General

Stargirl Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Laurel-Leaf Books - English 9780440416777 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A magical and heartbreaking tale." (Starred)
"Review" by , "There are both light moments and poetic, emotionally mature observations in Stargirl. With the book's high school setting and situations, this entertaining and thought-provoking story will appeal to and be enjoyed by junior high and high school readers."
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

 

Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Whered You Go, Bernadette

 

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.