Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »
  1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Flying Shoes

    Lisa Howorth 9781620403013

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $13.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Patty Jane's House of Curl

by

Patty Jane's House of Curl Cover

ISBN13: 9780449911006
ISBN10: 0449911004
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $3.95!

 

 

Excerpt

Prologue

PATTY JANE KEPT a drawer full of cotton bandanas spritzed with dimestore perfume - Tabu and Evening in Paris and, occasionally, My Sin, which I thought was a chic as chic could get. I helped out at the House of Curl after school and on Saturdays. Whenever anyone stank up the place with a permanent wave, I would be called upon to distribute the bandanas and tie them carefully, the way a nurse ties a doctor's surgical mask, over the nose and mouth of our customers. Everyone in the shop wore them (except for Clyde Chuka, the manicurist, who said Tabu gave him a worse headache than permanent-wave solution) so that the room looked overtaken by a bunch of Old West bandits assembled for a Dippety-Doo heist.

"Scented kerchiefs are one of the nice touches that separates our establishment from the others," Patty Jane often said. Other nice touches included homemade banana bread served with coffee to women basting under hair dryers; pale green smocks monogrammed with the initials of our regulars (we kept a supply of less personalized smocks--"V.I.P" and "First Lady"--on hand for walk-ins); and harp concerts courtesy of my Aunt Harriet, whose accompaniment to my bandana distribution was always the William Tell Overture.

Patty Jane, my mother, was big on nice touches.

"For cripes' sake," she said, "if you can't be a class act, why bother?"

She studied what society news was to be found in the Minneapolis Star as if she were a candidate for a PhD in High Living; she drove her rattly old DeSota around Lake of the Isles, picking out mansions she would live in were her inheritance more sizable than a pair of turquoise cuff links and an incomplete set of 1947 World Books; she tried on designer dresses at Dayton's Oval Room and Powers and then had my grandmother sew up copies on her heavy black Pfaff sewing machine.

"Just because my life began in the bargain basement," she said, "doesn't mean I can't take the escalator to Fine Crystals."

Truth be told, if my mother were to spend any time in Fine Crystals, it was guaranteed something would break.

Copyright 1996 by Lorna Landvik

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

emmejo, April 25, 2013 (view all comments by emmejo)
Patty Jane and Harriet are sisters, sharing in running their beauty salon and raising Patty Jane's little girl after her husband Thor disappears. Neither of their paths are running smooth, but with each looking out for other, Thor's mother Ione, their motley group of employees, and a boisterous crew of regulars and friends coming to the shop, they manage to keep their spirits up and have a fair bit fun even during the hard times.

I picked this up because I had liked Landvik's Oh My Stars. I didn't like this one as much. It is a much tighter, smaller story, almost like a blend of interwoven character studies, but I didn't find any characters I could really sympathize with or root for. They weren't bad characters, just bland.

Landvik's to-the-point, no-frill writing is balanced with a sly dose of wry humor and zany characters, making it compulsively readable. The writing is really what saved the book for me.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Jonna, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Jonna)
I tend to choose books based on titles, so how could I resist "Patty Jane's House of Curl?" This snappy title didn't let me down; every moment of this novel is charming, and delightful. I laughed, I cried, and I got my hair done! Found a new favorite author, too!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780449911006
Author:
Landvik, Lorna
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Minnesota
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Community life
Subject:
Beauty shops
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Minnesota Fiction.
Subject:
Beauty shops - Minnesota
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Reprint ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Mysteries & Horror
Publication Date:
September 1996
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.02x5.20x.72 in. .57 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Three Miss Margarets
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Red Tent
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. Midwives: A Novel Used Trade Paper $1.50
  4. Confucius Lives Next Door: What... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Circle of Magic #02: Tris's Book
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. Breaking Dawn (Twilight Saga #4)
    Used Hardcover $1.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Patty Jane's House of Curl Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780449911006 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A funny, poignant first novel about the bonds between women."
"Review" by , "Patty Jane's House of Curl has the emotional warmth of Lake Wobegon and the tender/tough female characters who populated Fried Green Tomatoes....A unique story."
"Review" by , "Lorna Landvik stands by her characters...embracing their eccentricities, delighting in their accomplishments, forgiving them their failings. She knows these people and loves them — and gives us their story with uncommon wit and charm and, best of all, a wonderful sense of mischief."
"Review" by , "Reminiscent of Steel Magnolias, Patty Jane's House of Curl will make you laugh, cry and open your heart to love."
"Review" by , "Amazingly vivid....This novel breezes merrily along, but don't read it without a hankie. This is a winner for fans of Garrison Keillor and Danielle Steel."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.