Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Australia- General

This title in other editions

Daisy Bates in the Desert: A Woman's Life Among Aborigines

by

Daisy Bates in the Desert: A Woman's Life Among Aborigines Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In 1913, at the age of 54, Daisy Bates went to live in the deserts of South Australia. Brilliantly reviewed, astonishingly original, this "eloquent and illuminating portrait of an extraordinary woman" (New York Times Book Review) tells a fascinating, true story in the tradition of Isak Dinesen and Barry Lopez.

Description:

Includes bibliographical references (p. 231-232).

About the Author

Julia Blackburn is the author of three books of nonfiction, Charles Waterton, The Emperors Last Island, and Daisy Bates in the Desert, and of two novels, The Book of Color and The Lepers Companions, both of which were shortlisted for the Orange Prize. She lives in England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679744467
Author:
Blackburn, Julia
Publisher:
Vintage Books
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Social life and customs
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Women's Studies
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Customs & Traditions
Subject:
Social conditions
Subject:
Australian aborigines
Subject:
Australian aborigines -- Social conditions.
Subject:
Women's Studies - General
Subject:
Aboriginal Australians
Subject:
Biography-Women
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Departures
Series Volume:
#11-79
Publication Date:
19950831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.04x5.17x.70 in. .62 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Seven Years in Tibet
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Abroad: British Literary Traveling... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. A Thousand Days in Venice Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Songlines Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Unsuitable for Ladies: An Anthology... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  6. Botswana Time New Mass Market $18.00

Related Subjects

Biography » Science and Technology
Biography » Women
History and Social Science » Australia » General
History and Social Science » Gender Studies » Womens Studies
Travel » Travel Writing » Oceania

Daisy Bates in the Desert: A Woman's Life Among Aborigines Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780679744467 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.