Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Ethnic Studies- Latin American

When I Was Puerto Rican

by

When I Was Puerto Rican Cover

ISBN13: 9780679756767
ISBN10: 0679756760
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Selling over 16,000 copies in hardcover, this triumphant coming-of-age memoir is now available in paperback editions in both English and Spanish. In the tradition of Black Ice, Santiago writes lyrically of her childhood on her native island and of her bewildering years of transition in New York City.

Review:

"Santiago's autobiographical account cinematically recaptures her past and her island culture. What is particularly appealing about Santiago's story is the insight it offers to readers unaware of the double bind Puerto Rican Americans find themselves in: the identity in conflict. Is [she] black or white? Is she rural or urban? Even more importantly, is she Puerto Rican or is she American? [One] can only be grateful that Esmeralda Santiago has chosen to explore her culture and share what she has found." The Los Angeles Times Book Review

Review:

"A beguiling record of a tremendous journey, epic in its own way, from childhood in a vibrant Puerto Rican barrio to triumph at Harvard, with a defining pause in a drab Brooklyn along the way....Cleareyed, quietly powerful, and often lyrical: a story of true grit." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"A poignant look at a girl's coming of age and taking control of her own destiny, Santiago's story reflects that of Puerto Rico: to be a part of the United States, yet distinct and somehow detached." Library Journal

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

dhirizarry, April 9, 2009 (view all comments by dhirizarry)
I'm Puerto Rican and I learn so much from reading this book and enjoyed it. Mrs. Santiago thank you this is the first book I ever read and now I'm on my second book (at the age of 41)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 9 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679756767
Author:
Santiago, Esmeralda
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Location:
New York :
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
Women
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Central America
Subject:
Puerto rico
Subject:
Ethnic Cultures
Subject:
New York
Subject:
Puerto Ricans
Subject:
New York (N.Y.) Biography.
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - Hispanic American Studies
Subject:
Ethnic Cultures - General
Subject:
Latin America - Central America
Copyright:
Edition Description:
1st Vintage Books ed.
Series Volume:
no. 118
Publication Date:
October 1994
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.08x5.20x.64 in. .51 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old... Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. A Lesson Before Dying (Vintage...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. The Color of Water: A Black Man's...
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a...
    Used Hardcover $1.50
  5. Black Like Me
    Used Mass Market $1.50
  6. Dreaming in Cuban Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Women
History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » Latin American

When I Was Puerto Rican Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780679756767 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Santiago's autobiographical account cinematically recaptures her past and her island culture. What is particularly appealing about Santiago's story is the insight it offers to readers unaware of the double bind Puerto Rican Americans find themselves in: the identity in conflict. Is [she] black or white? Is she rural or urban? Even more importantly, is she Puerto Rican or is she American? [One] can only be grateful that Esmeralda Santiago has chosen to explore her culture and share what she has found."
"Review" by , "A beguiling record of a tremendous journey, epic in its own way, from childhood in a vibrant Puerto Rican barrio to triumph at Harvard, with a defining pause in a drab Brooklyn along the way....Cleareyed, quietly powerful, and often lyrical: a story of true grit."
"Review" by , "A poignant look at a girl's coming of age and taking control of her own destiny, Santiago's story reflects that of Puerto Rico: to be a part of the United States, yet distinct and somehow detached."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.