The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's- Newbery Award Winners
1 Burnside Children's- Newbery Award Winners
2 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- Newbery Award Winners

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

by

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler Cover

ISBN13: 9780689711817
ISBN10: 0689711816
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

 

Reading Group Guide

  1. There are many ways to show humor in a novel. Sometimes the humor is in what the characters do, other times it is in what the characters say. Name some situations in the book that you think are funny. E. L. Konigsburg uses sarcasm to add humor to the story. Find examples of sarcasm in the book. Which character is the most sarcastic?

  2. Mrs. Frankweiler tells her lawyer, Mr. Saxonberg, that "Manhattan called for the courage of at least two Kincaids" (page 27). What is courageous about Claudia and Jamie's adventure? How does running away to a city take a different kind of courage than running away to a rural area?

  3. Planning is one of Claudia's talents. She also is extremely resourceful. How does being resourceful help the planning process? How is Jamie resourceful? Discuss whether Claudia and Jamie could have survived their week in the museum had they not been resourceful.

  4. Mrs. Frankweiler says that before Claudia and Jamie ran away, they only "acted like a team." Their adventure made them "feel like a team" (page 39). At what point in the story do the children become a team? Why is teamwork important to the success of their caper? Discuss Claudia and Jamie's chances of continuing to "feel like a team" once they get home.

  5. Describe Claudia and Jamie's relationship. Why does Claudia need Jamie? Claudia is described as being "cautious" and Jamie is said to be "adventurous" (page 17). Find evidence in the novel that supports these descriptions of the children. Ask students to make a list of words that best describe themselves and another list that describes one of their siblings or a close friend. Then, ask them to write a paragraph contrasting their personality with that of their brother or sister or friend.

  6. Claudia says that she didn't "run away to come home the same" (page 98). How does the week in the museum change Claudia? What does Mrs. Frankweiler have to do with helping Claudia go home "different on the inside"?

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

relda666, October 5, 2008 (view all comments by relda666)
This is one of my favorite books from my childhood and one I still enjoy today. The adventures of two children who run away from home, live in a museum, and solve an ages old mystery. Children's literature does not get any better!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(9 of 19 readers found this comment helpful)
Virginia, November 2, 2006 (view all comments by Virginia)
This was my favorite book when I was in fourth grade. Now I have had the pleasure of reading it again with my daughter. It still rings true. Who wouldn't want to live undiscovered in a museum and roam the exhibits? The book explains questions you might wonder about; how do they get money for food and do they bathe? Yes, they help solve a mystery but what I really love about this book is the sense that the children really hid out in the museum & I wish I could join them.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(26 of 42 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780689711817
Author:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Author:
Broekel
Illustrator:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Author:
Fitzgerald, Laura Marx
Author:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Author:
Davies, Jacqueline
Author:
Dionne, Erin
Author:
Konigsburg, E. L.
Publisher:
Aladdin Paperbacks
Location:
New York, NY
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
People & Places - United States
Subject:
Family - Siblings
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Art (painting sculpture artists architecture etc.)
Subject:
New york (n.y.)
Subject:
Runaways
Subject:
New York (City)
Subject:
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Museums
Subject:
Self-reliance
Subject:
Childrens classics
Subject:
Law & Crime
Subject:
Claudia Kincaid; Claudia; Met; Metropolitan Museum of Art; Metropolitan Museum; New York City; classic; Newbery Medal Winner; Newbery; run away from home; runaway; children s classic; sleepover; overnight; must-read; mystery
Copyright:
Edition Number:
Rev. cover ed.
Edition Description:
B102
Series:
The Lemonade War Series
Series Volume:
1995
Publication Date:
April 1998
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c cvr
Pages:
168
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Island of the Blue Dolphins
    Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. Number the Stars (Yearling Newbery)
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. Maniac Magee Used Book Club Paperback $1.95
  4. The Westing Game
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  5. The Giver
    Used Mass Market $4.50
  6. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs.... Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Art » General
Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Classics » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Runaways

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 168 pages Aladdin Publishing Company - English 9780689711817 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Having runaway with her younger brother to live in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, twelve-year-old Claudia strives to keep things in order in their new home and to become a changed person and a heroine to herself.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the third book in the Lemonade War series, siblings Evan and Jessieand#160;must solve the mystery of a missing cherished family treasure while coming to terms with their beloved grandmother's unsettling behavior.
"Synopsis" by ,
Theand#160;third installment ofand#160;the popular Lemonade War series findsand#160;siblings Evan and Jessie Treski at their grandmother's Vermont houseand#160;for the holidays,and#160;solving another mystery. This one involves figuring outand#160;who stole a cherished bell the whole neighborhoodand#160;gathers around to ring in the new year. Evan and Jessieand#160;also come to grips with unsettling changes in theirand#160;grandmother'sand#160;behavior.and#160;Once again, Ms. Davies reveals how good she is at understanding the complex emotions of children age nine to twelve years old.and#160;
and#160;and#160;and#160;and#160;
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of The Westing Game and From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler comes a clever, treasure-hunt mystery based on a real-life art heist.

Moxie Fleece knows the rules and follows them--that is, until the day she opens her front door to a mysterious stranger. Suddenly Moxie is involved in Boston's biggest unsolved mystery: The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum art heist. Moxie has two weeks to find the art, otherwise she and the people she loves will be in big-time danger.

Her tools? Her best friend, Ollie, a geocaching addict who loves to find stuff; her Alzheimer's suffering grandfather, Grumps, who knows lots more than he lets on; and a geometry proof that she sets up to sort out the clues.

It's a race against the clock through downtown Boston as Moxie and Ollie break every rule she's ever lived by to find the art and save her family.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.