Mega Dose
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 15, 2014

    Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



    There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
List price: $14.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Angry Black White Boy or, the Miscegenation of Macon Detornay a Novel

by

Angry Black White Boy or, the Miscegenation of Macon Detornay a Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From the acclaimed author of Shackling Water comes the first great race novel of the twenty-first century, an incendiary and ruthlessly funny satire about violence, pop culture, and American identity.

Macon Detornay is a suburban white boy possessed and politicized by black culture, and filled with rage toward white America. After moving to New York City for college, Macon begins robbing white passengers in his taxicab, setting off a manhunt for the black man presumed to be committing the crimes. When his true identity is revealed, Macon finds himself to be a celebrity and makes use of the spotlight to hold forth on the evils and invisibility of whiteness. Soon he launches the Race Traitor Project, a stress-addled collective that attracts guilty liberals, wannabe gangstas, and bandwagon riders from all over the country to participate in a Day of Apology — a day set aside for white people to make amends for four hundred years of oppression. The Day of Apology pushes New York City over the edge into an epic riot, forcing Macon to confront the depth of his own commitment to the struggle.

Peopled with all manner of race pimps and players, Angry Black White Boy is a stunning breakout book from a critically acclaimed young writer and should be required reading for anyone who wants to get under the skin of the complexities of identity in America.

Review:

"Angry Black White Boy is an insanely smart novel that pulls no punches. Adam Mansbach understands that race is a cultural construct and that authenticity is, sadly, a commodity. His vision is wild, comic, and dark. This is a really funny book." Percival Everett, author of Erasure

Review:

"There are no safe places left: with dark humor and vivid insight, Adam Mansbach has challenged everything we thought we knew about race in this country. Startling, subversive, and raucous, Angry Black White Boy is a novel about how we became who we are, and why that's not good enough." Daniel Alarcón, author of War by Candlelight

Review:

"Angry Black White Boy is bananas! Actually, it's a banana split with razor blades in it. Adam Mansbach is the white Richard Wright, and Angry Black White Boy is our generation's Native Son." William "Upski" Wimsatt, author of Bomb the Suburbs and No More Prisons

Review:

"Angry White Black Boy is all about collisions — between hip-hop and its past, blackness and whiteness, 'keeping it real' and the absurdity of reality. With this brutal, hilarious, and tragic novel, Adam Mansbach proves once again he is one of the most ambitious, insightful, and daring writers of our generation." Jeff Chang, author of Can't Stop Won't Stop: A History of the Hip-Hop Generation

Review:

"Angry Black White Boy is full of hilariously twisted racial politics. Adam Mansbach is like a wigger Ishmael Reed running wild through the world of hip hop." Touré, author of Soul City

Synopsis:

Macon Detornay is a suburban white boy who is possessed by the subcultures of black art and life. After moving to New York for his freshman year at Columbia, Macon's love of black culture curdles into a rage that he at first directs at the white passengers in the back of the cab he drives. (Naturally, all of his victims assume their assailant is a black man and Macon goes undetected.) But Macon soon channels his anger in other directions and finds himself leading a movement of self-loathing white people organizing the Race Traitor Project, and hatching a plan for a National Day of Apology. None of this goes well for black folks, white folks, and least of all for Macon. A wildly creative and darkly comic meditation on the meaning of identity — racial and otherwise — Angry Black White Boy is a stunning breakout book from a writer whose edgy sense of humor, keen ear for contemporary language, and skewed take on American pop culture will appeal to readers of Colson Whitehead, Chuck Palahniuk, and Jonathan Lethem.

Synopsis:

From the critically acclaimed author of Shackling Water comes an incendiary and ruthlessly funny novel about violence, pop culture, and identity in 21st-century America.

About the Author

Adam Mansbach is the author of the novel Shackling Water and the poetry collection genius b-boy cynics getting weeded in the garden of delights.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400054879
Author:
Mansbach, Adam
Publisher:
Broadway Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
College students
Subject:
Racism
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
New york (n.y.)
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
March 8, 2005
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8 x 5.1 x 0.95 in 0.75 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Mezzanine
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Naive Super Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. 2182 Kilohertz Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. Tokyo Doesn't Love Us Anymore New Trade Paper $12.00
  5. The boy without a flag :tales of the... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. An American requiem :God, my father,... Used Hardcover $1.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture

Angry Black White Boy or, the Miscegenation of Macon Detornay a Novel Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages RANDOM HOUSE TRADE - English 9781400054879 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Angry Black White Boy is an insanely smart novel that pulls no punches. Adam Mansbach understands that race is a cultural construct and that authenticity is, sadly, a commodity. His vision is wild, comic, and dark. This is a really funny book."
"Review" by , "There are no safe places left: with dark humor and vivid insight, Adam Mansbach has challenged everything we thought we knew about race in this country. Startling, subversive, and raucous, Angry Black White Boy is a novel about how we became who we are, and why that's not good enough."
"Review" by , "Angry Black White Boy is bananas! Actually, it's a banana split with razor blades in it. Adam Mansbach is the white Richard Wright, and Angry Black White Boy is our generation's Native Son."
"Review" by , "Angry White Black Boy is all about collisions — between hip-hop and its past, blackness and whiteness, 'keeping it real' and the absurdity of reality. With this brutal, hilarious, and tragic novel, Adam Mansbach proves once again he is one of the most ambitious, insightful, and daring writers of our generation."
"Review" by , "Angry Black White Boy is full of hilariously twisted racial politics. Adam Mansbach is like a wigger Ishmael Reed running wild through the world of hip hop."
"Synopsis" by , Macon Detornay is a suburban white boy who is possessed by the subcultures of black art and life. After moving to New York for his freshman year at Columbia, Macon's love of black culture curdles into a rage that he at first directs at the white passengers in the back of the cab he drives. (Naturally, all of his victims assume their assailant is a black man and Macon goes undetected.) But Macon soon channels his anger in other directions and finds himself leading a movement of self-loathing white people organizing the Race Traitor Project, and hatching a plan for a National Day of Apology. None of this goes well for black folks, white folks, and least of all for Macon. A wildly creative and darkly comic meditation on the meaning of identity — racial and otherwise — Angry Black White Boy is a stunning breakout book from a writer whose edgy sense of humor, keen ear for contemporary language, and skewed take on American pop culture will appeal to readers of Colson Whitehead, Chuck Palahniuk, and Jonathan Lethem.
"Synopsis" by , From the critically acclaimed author of Shackling Water comes an incendiary and ruthlessly funny novel about violence, pop culture, and identity in 21st-century America.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.