Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | April 8, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Gabrielle Zevin: The Powells.com Interview



Gabrielle ZevinThe American Booksellers Association collects nominations from bookstores all over the country for favorite forthcoming titles. The Storied Life of... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

    Gabrielle Zevin 9781616203214

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

Augustus

by

Augustus Cover

ISBN13: 9781400076734
ISBN10: 1400076730
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere eighteen years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power-Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony-young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one mans dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

About the Author

John Williams was born on August 29, 1922 in Clarksville, Texas. He served in the United States Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945 in China, Burma, and India. The Swallow Press published his first novel, Nothing But the Night, in 1948, as well as his first book of poems, The Broken Landscape, in 1949. Macmillan published Williams second novel, Butchers Crossing, in 1960.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

ja43, July 20, 2012 (view all comments by ja43)
Wow, I am glad I found this book. Maybe I wasn't ready for such a powerful work when it first was printed, but now, in these times, AUGUSTUS seems more relevant than ever. The entire ancient history of Rome is taking on more significance, it seems, as our country struggles through it's current challenges, and this beautifully written, unique book gives us just a glimpse into the mind of an amazing political leader in times of great import. Without revealing anything, let it suffice that, like I CLAUDIUS, this book is a must read for anyone interested in how fortune , friendship, and cirucmstance can change more than one individual's life and affect societies entire. the final "letter" of the book is heartrending, powerful, and important. If you are like me, finding it harder nad harder to come upon well written literature, annoyed by the hyping of poorly written books, and wanting more from a good read than mere repetitive fluff....then this book should be on your list...now. Enjoy it!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400076734
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Williams, John
Author:
Williams, John Edward
Publisher:
Vintage
Subject:
History
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Emperors
Subject:
Biographical fiction
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage
Publication Date:
20041109
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.06x5.22x.73 in. .56 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. In Between World of Vikram Lall Used Trade Paper $4.50
  2. The Corrections
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  3. The Florabama Ladies' Auxiliary and... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. Sophie's Choice
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. The Complete Stories
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  6. Cold Mountain Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » National Book Award Winners
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Augustus Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9781400076734 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.