Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 17, 2014

    Merritt Tierce: IMG Has My Husband Read It?



    My first novel, Love Me Back, was published on September 16. Writing the book took seven years, and along the way three chapters were published in... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $20.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Hawthorne Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse

by

Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse Cover

ISBN13: 9781416552253
ISBN10: 1416552251
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $7.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Mortimer Tate was a recently divorced insurance salesman when he holed up in a cave on top of a mountain in Tennessee and rode out the end of the world. Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse begins nine years later, when he emerges into a bizarre landscape filled with hollow reminders of an America that no longer exists. The highways are lined with abandoned automobiles; electricity is generated by indentured servants pedaling stationary bicycles. What little civilization remains revolves around Joey Armageddon's Sassy A-Go-Go strip clubs, where the beer is cold, the lap dancers are hot, and the bouncers are armed with M16s.

Accompanied by his cowboy sidekick Buffalo Bill, the gorgeous stripper Sheila, and the mountain man Ted, Mortimer journeys to the lost city of Atlanta — and a showdown that might determine the fate of humanity.

Review:

"Guns, girls and alcohol occupy almost every inch of this raucous thrill ride, providing nonstop opportunities for both action and comedy. After coming down from his mountain bunker, insurance salesman Mortimer Tate finds a world that is postapocalyptic by way of early '90s action films. Mortimer's quests to find his ex-wife and discover his own purpose serve as a strong center line through a haze of madcap events. He and 'Buffalo' Bill, a man obsessed with the idea of cowboys as a postcivilized focal point, encounter a wide cast of characters along their journeys, including foul-mouthed, gun-toting Sheila, who at times seems the best adapted to the harsh new world. The trio hop from one explosive encounter to another, often with the thinnest of reasons. Despite the frontier violence and sketchy plot, the humor of this armageddon western is woven deeply enough to keep Mortimer's adventures feeling like a party. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Part Christopher Moore, part Quentin Tarantino, Victor Gischler is a raving, badass genius." James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of Map of Bones and Black Order

Review:

"Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse is funny, mordant, crazed, riveting, sardonic — and despite all that, it's got a plot. Bravo for Victor Gischler." Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Mike Resnick

Review:

"Its violent and sleazy, laced with moments of quiet gravity, an intelligent satire of how American society works even after it has broken down....Compulsively readable." Booklist

Review:

"Eccentric seriocomic sf in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams." Library Journal

Synopsis:

Mad Max meets The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy in this off-the-wall journey through a post-apocalyptic America.

About the Author

Victor Gischler is a former English professor and the author of Gun Monkeys, The Pistol Poets, Suicide Squeeze, and Shotgun Opera. He lives in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Visit him at victorgischler.blogspot.com.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Donna Trujillo, January 25, 2011 (view all comments by Donna Trujillo)
This book is to literature what roller derby is to sport. It's got everything: a believable post-apocalyptic America, guns, gin, gangs and go-go girls. Not only that, it's held together by a sympathetic everyman whose hero's journey begins where known civilization has collapsed. Thanks to Victor Gischler, the end of the world is a gas!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Todd Claus, March 30, 2009 (view all comments by Todd Claus)
The Christopher Moore association I get: Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse is absurd, fast-paced, entertaining, and funny in the same way the Angry Beavers cartoon is absurd, entertaining, and funny. It's just not as clever. I'm less sure of the Quentin Tarantino comparison. The only film of his that I can think of that resembles Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse, in any way, is Sukiyaki Western Django; and that isn't even a Tarantino film.

Despite the fact that Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse is filled with one-dimensional characters and half-baked ideas that aren't quite clever, it still manages to be a fun read. In many ways it's the perfect book to take to the beach: time flies by and you won't mind leaving it behind when you go home.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
jenfitzpatrick26, March 22, 2009 (view all comments by jenfitzpatrick26)
I bought this book for the mere fact the review on the front related it to a Quentin Tarantino film and a Christopher Moore book. Boy were they right!

In a post-apocalyptic world Mortimer wonders down from his 9 year refuge and finds all that he had known in ruins and the new America founded around Joey Armageddons. Who knew that the few things that would remain a mainstay after the apocalypse were alcohol and naked women! Mortimer's time is spent finding his way out of unimaginable situations (Mort ends up naked and tied up more times then I can count!). With the help of a post-apocalyptic cowboy named Bill, they are off to rid America of Joey Armageddon's rival, but things don't turn out as expected.

Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse is a fast paced fun filled book. I had a hard time pacing myself and not reading it all in one sitting. Your time and money will be well spent on this one!

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416552253
Author:
Gischler, Victor
Publisher:
Touchstone Books
Subject:
End of the world
Subject:
Science Fiction - General
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Satire
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20080731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.25 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs... Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Clementine (Clementine)
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. Alexander and the Terrible Horrible... Used Pamphlet $3.50
  4. Fablehaven
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  5. Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  6. The Highest Tide
    Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Touchstone - English 9781416552253 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Guns, girls and alcohol occupy almost every inch of this raucous thrill ride, providing nonstop opportunities for both action and comedy. After coming down from his mountain bunker, insurance salesman Mortimer Tate finds a world that is postapocalyptic by way of early '90s action films. Mortimer's quests to find his ex-wife and discover his own purpose serve as a strong center line through a haze of madcap events. He and 'Buffalo' Bill, a man obsessed with the idea of cowboys as a postcivilized focal point, encounter a wide cast of characters along their journeys, including foul-mouthed, gun-toting Sheila, who at times seems the best adapted to the harsh new world. The trio hop from one explosive encounter to another, often with the thinnest of reasons. Despite the frontier violence and sketchy plot, the humor of this armageddon western is woven deeply enough to keep Mortimer's adventures feeling like a party. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Part Christopher Moore, part Quentin Tarantino, Victor Gischler is a raving, badass genius."
"Review" by , "Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse is funny, mordant, crazed, riveting, sardonic — and despite all that, it's got a plot. Bravo for Victor Gischler."
"Review" by , "Its violent and sleazy, laced with moments of quiet gravity, an intelligent satire of how American society works even after it has broken down....Compulsively readable."
"Review" by , "Eccentric seriocomic sf in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams."
"Synopsis" by , Mad Max meets The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy in this off-the-wall journey through a post-apocalyptic America.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.